Which blockchain network is best to develop apps?

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)
Question originally asked on Musing.io - Click here to see other answers

There is no such thing as the best network. There will always be a newcomer which is better, at least in theory, than the most common network used for something now.

Right now, in theory it would be the Ethereum network. Mostly by virtue of being the frontrunner in the dApps space. Yet ETH has issues and also as long as GAS is needed that may be counter-productive for going mainstream.

Next could/would be Bitshares because of the possibility to integrate its whole decentralized marketplace.

Then, most likely, EOS when they launch. Mostly because of Dan Larimer’s tech nous and also the speed (EOS will have subsecond transactions) as well as feeless transactions. Additionally it can be expected that it will be a further evolution, an optimized evolution of the two previous blockchains Dan has created (Bitshares and Steem). But we will not know until it launches.

Another great candidate to build dApps on is BlockStack, the blockchain which is purposely build as Internet of Infrastructure and to host decentralized apps on. Blockstack had a very successful and also has a highly motivated and active team. The Blockstack blockchain already hosts several apps, the most known probably being OpenBazaar.

One could also mention HPB (High Performance Blockchain) as a candidate because of the excellent team they have but at this point details are still limited, yet the token already has a solid value.

Many words, all to say that this space is still very young and we will continue to discover new best blockchain networks to develop apps on because so far the space is still open. There are some candidates already but with the exception of Ethereum none have been tested in a challenging real life environment yet nor reached scale. Sadly enough, Ethereum can only claim CryptoKiddies as its real life test so far and we all know how that went.

Hey there, this is @FknMayhem's alt account.

Here I mostly tumbl (resteem with added commentary and attitude or snark, a form of advanced curation Steem doesn't offer), zapp, post to forums, and submit other miscellaneous mischief. The latter which may or may not include more personal content.

There may be days it can be noisy around here, follow at your own risk. Alternatively, follow my attempts at more in-depth own content on my main account, @FknMayhem.

I am also on zeh Titter. Feel free to pitch me your worthy suggestions there. But make them worth my time, please. A SteemAuto curation trail can be joined here (must be logged in) to support and upvote all great content found and curated.

Sort:  

Calling @musing and @sakujo to report an issue.

I wanted to edit my answer since musing.io so far doesn’t seem to have MarkDown parsing integrated, but there’s no edit option on musing.io yet. That’s not that big an issue, first release aso. I totally understand that. :)

Being the wannabe smartass I am, of course, I immediately jumped to Steemit to fix that stuff and add links to my answer. Sadly enough, upon trying to do so I was encountered with the issue of using double dash in tags. :)

Seeing that my answer is also cut off (I know, that footer is humongous and full of HTML but it helps when maintaining two accounts!), may I suggest that you add a character counter to the post/reply field. Or maybe that was caused by the use of an image, submitted in MD format?

Lastly, I would have considered deleting my answer on musing.io and post it again, due to the unavailability of an edit option, but there’s no delete option either available. :|

Because my answer still shows on the post, I decided to let not further bother but add a comment here as reply. Here in order to avoid one more new post in my feed. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71