You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ever Seen How Kiwis Are Picked?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

They look delicious.

I remember picking strawberries, just once, when I was a very, very little girl. My grandfather owned a decent-sized farm and harvest time was always a crunch--picking the fruit and getting it to market. There were peaches, apples, strawberries, pears, cherries--just about anything that could grow in Hudson Valley soil.

You seem to be having fun picking kiwis. It was serious business for us, as I recall. The refreshment was warm water in a jug on the back of a flatbed truck. And yet... this is not a bad memory.

You do bring it back. Lovely photos. Wish I had some to share...

Edit: Actually found a link to a hybrid pear my grandfather developed. Nice picture :) http://justpicked.com/itemview/name/devoe-pear.html

Sort:  

Aaah, you just reminded me of the "Little house on the Prairie", I had read the books and watched the series when I was a kid and I imagined living and working on a farm...

These images are so familiar as I come from a family of farmers. We've had kiwis ever since I can remember and some decades ago we used to have hazelnuts trees too. Kiwi picking day always reminds me of my grandfather, we miss him on such days...


Your grandfather "made" a new pear? How cool is that?! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91