Ever Seen How Kiwis Are Picked?

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181103_091431408.jpg

My family have been growing kiwis for years. Yesterday was picking day, so I went to give a hand at my dad's field. Every year's produce is sold to fruit traders, but we always keep some for ourselves and our friends.

Wanna see what a typical picking day looks like?
Check further down!


Fruit get into the buckets and then the buckets fill bigger, plastic craters.

IMG_20181103_091437365.jpg

Like these here:

IMG_20181103_124222430.jpg

Look at the workers, picking and making jokes, 'cause work seems easier with a good laugh...

IMG_20181103_091444698.jpg

And look at what I found on one of the trees!

IMG_20181103_094130324.jpg

An empty nest! The little ones had probably flown away!

IMG_20181103_094107771.jpg

What do the hard-working staff need? Some coffee and snacks break of course!

IMG_20181103_095613482.jpg

Break is over! Get back to work!

IMG_20181103_092417521.jpg

The tractor is waiting to pick up those fully loaded craters!

IMG_20181103_124216852_HDR.jpg

The day finishes with the trees empty...

IMG_20181103_124225685.jpg

And our craters full!

IMG_20181103_160211662.jpg

Hey! Hey! Did you think I'd leave you without the bug of the day?

IMG_20181103_155856345.jpg



All images (free for re-use if crediting the author) and story by @ruth-girl -Steemit, 2018

Can you spare another minute?

  1. @steemstem has now got a witness running, the @stem.witness! We would really appreciate your vote. And you can always check out our cool app, steemstem.io!

  2. @aristotle.team is the child of the Greek translation team (working for @davinci.witness and @utopian-io). We are launching a new app (@dimitrisp is on it!) to help us manage our workload and we have already set a curation trail to support Utopian contributions with the strength we currently have. Your follow, support and feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif

Sort:  

That was some bountiful harvest. When I saw the headline, I thought you were referring to the flightless birds :D
Then on second thought, the name reminded me of a favourite shoe polish in my country.

Well to answer your question, no I have not seen a kiwi fruit not to talk of seeing anyone harvest it :)

It was a good year! Ha! I knew some would think of the bird, but then it's the picture that "speaks" for the tilte :P

That shoe polish, seriously? Couldn't they come up with a better name?

They look delicious.

I remember picking strawberries, just once, when I was a very, very little girl. My grandfather owned a decent-sized farm and harvest time was always a crunch--picking the fruit and getting it to market. There were peaches, apples, strawberries, pears, cherries--just about anything that could grow in Hudson Valley soil.

You seem to be having fun picking kiwis. It was serious business for us, as I recall. The refreshment was warm water in a jug on the back of a flatbed truck. And yet... this is not a bad memory.

You do bring it back. Lovely photos. Wish I had some to share...

Edit: Actually found a link to a hybrid pear my grandfather developed. Nice picture :) http://justpicked.com/itemview/name/devoe-pear.html

Aaah, you just reminded me of the "Little house on the Prairie", I had read the books and watched the series when I was a kid and I imagined living and working on a farm...

These images are so familiar as I come from a family of farmers. We've had kiwis ever since I can remember and some decades ago we used to have hazelnuts trees too. Kiwi picking day always reminds me of my grandfather, we miss him on such days...


Your grandfather "made" a new pear? How cool is that?! 😍

What do you do with all those kiwis? I assume you sell them?

Can you make something out of kiwis, like homemade juice or jam? :)

Exactly! We sell them to fruit traders, who then sell them to bigger markets. Just don't be fooled by the high prices you see at the super markets. The fruit leave the fields at prices as low as 0.4-0.5€ and then sold to the wider "audience" at 2 or maybe 3€...

You can make jam, juice or what we call "spoon sweet"

but I am not very fond of it. I prefer the fruit as it is.

Oh, it's the same situation as with the fruit manufacturers in Serbia, country gives them prices that are barely high enough to cover the expenses, and then that fruit (for example cherries) is sold for 5 times or more higher price in supermarkets.
We also have all those homemade fruit stuff, especially what you call "spoon sweet", every household in Serbia makes it, but I'm not found of it either :)

Farmers are the worst paid link in the food trading chain everywhere. In the end, if you put their earnings together, they sometimes barely cover the yearly costs.

αυτο θα πει νυφη με προικα...
...οσο για την αδεια φωλια...δε μου λες...εισαι σιγουρη οτι δεν ηταν ο @trumpman εκει τριγυρω????
...καλη σοδεια...καλες πωλησεις!!!!

Ευχαριστώ, ευχαριστώ! Μεγαλοτσιφλικού είμαι, καλέ! Τι με πέρασες; 😂

Ο άλλος δεν τα πλησιάζει καν! Τα αποφεύγει γιατί παραείναι υγιεινά 😂😂😂

I want some of those πιτα snacks :)

Made by my mum! Spinach and cheese filling! Tasty φύλλο dough on the outside... I had at least 6-7 pieces of those... Come to Greece and I'll have her make a whole ταψί for you! 🤗

cuddle_teddy3.png

Oooh! You're such a cute bot kitty!

Ειλικρινά, παρόλο την ηλικία μου, πρώτη φορά βλέπω τα δέντρα που κάνουν τα ακτινίδια...! Αλήθεια, πως λέγονται στα ελληνικά ?
Εύχομαι καλές πωλήσεις και συγχαρητήρια στην οικογένεια σου, για τα ωραία κτήματα και για το άρθρο σου !!!

Η αλήθεια είναι ότι πολλοί δεν ξέρουν πώς μοιάζει το δέντρο, το οποίο λέγεται ακτινιδιά. Είναι και διάφορες ποικιλίες βέβαια, αλλά δεν ξέρω και πολλά πολλά γι' αυτά. Μόνο για το μάζεμα πηγαίνω στο χωράφι, άντε και καμιά φορά αν χρειάζεται βοήθεια στο αραίωμα (όταν είναι ακόμα μικρός ο καρπός και ελαφραίνουμε το δέντρο για να μπορέσει να θρέψει σωστά τους καρπούς).

Ευχαριστούμε @mr-phoenix, να 'σαι καλά!! 😊

Νάτα νατα είσαι και μεγάλο παραγωγός ακτινιδίων??? :P
Μικρός εγώ αυτά τα έλεγα αυγά με μαλλιά..... :))
Καλημέρα καλή εβδομάδα....

Ου! Τι να σου πω! Μεγαλοτσιφλικού, αχαχαχαχαχαχα!
Καλημέρα, Νίκο!

tora anakalipsa oti to kiwi einai to aktinidio :P

Πάλι καλά δεν περίμενες κι εσύ να δεις το πουλί

μου φαινεται ακομα πιο χαζο π ηξερα το πουλι κ οχι το ακτινιδιο :P

This is a first for me! What a beautiful plant. Makes me appreciate them more when I eat them. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! Glad you learnt something from my post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94