You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suddenly -- Decemeber

in #blog5 years ago

Duuuuuuude! You're so good at the blogs! The little dog snuggled in the doona is the best thing ever!

I'm so bad at goals... or to clarify, I'm so bad at meeting my goals. If it's something external and immovable, like a ninja comp, then I'm actually pretty disciplined and excellent.... but anything else, and I'm just rubbish.

Personally, I've found that I have to make it part of my regular routine to get any traction... so running every lunchtime on Mon, Wed, Fri works better than, say, aiming to run 30km in Dec or something... or doing an hour of coding practise every day between work and exercise works better than having X project completed by Q1 2019.

Totally agree with the NYRs, I'm sure they lead mainly to disappointment.
Don't stress too much on the sluggishness though, I'm sure we've got a lot of DNA/history in us that suggests winter is for resting/hibernating/expending low amounts of energy... I'm sure you're pretty balanced over a whole year though.

Sort:  

Hahaha. "Good at the blogs" is a huge stretch.. I just sat down, shared a couple photos from the weekend, and did some quick word vomit. I'm hoping to get a bit better and find some interesting things to write about one of these days -- but thanks for the kind words.

If it's something external and immovable, like a ninja comp, then I'm actually pretty disciplined and excellent...

I'm pretty similar. I've always found that hard deadlines for work or race-dates are a great motivator to sticking to a goal.

Personally, I've found that I have to make it part of my regular routine to get any traction..

Agree again! And I think this is why I'm struggling lately. My routine is all over the place, and it's hard to get into a rhythm. I guess it's kinda how life goes, and I"m being a bit of a baby -- but it's tough.

Winter times are tough (though, it's a beautiful day outside today... going for a walk in a moment, actually).

Here's hoping that a little bit of sunshine can clear up my mood and rejuvinate my spirit a bit. It doesn't help much that I've started a mental countdown in my head until my winter vacation starts and I can take a break from work. I need to stop looking at calendars for the next 3 or 4 weeks, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89