You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impatience - choosing between the Infinity Gauntlet or the Pursuit of Happiness?

in #blog6 years ago

Great tips. Thank god the Gauntlet doesn't really exist or we might just find half the population gone!

It irked me to no end watching guilt-tripped parenting, "wanting-to-be-the-good-parent" parenting, absent parenting and "my-child-rules-the-world" parenting cripple children mentally and emotionally.

Sadly, some people are just not meant to be parents and should never attempt to be. At least that's what my wife and I think.

Although mental health issues and the methods of how to deal with it have gotten a lot of attention and awareness in the last decade, I think people still look at it as having a weakness and are ashamed of it.

I really appreciate the tips you have laid out in your post. I'm sure they are effective as long as people do their part and put in the effort to actually apply them in life. I, myself, am quite guilty of consuming information for the sake of "learning" and not really putting it in practice when shit hits the fan.

Sort:  

You nailed the key point....practicing. I know what you mean....there are days when I procrastinate too. I think my saving grace is my impatience and having a mind that will not leave me alone otherwise.

And yes, not everyone is equipped to be parents, some learn along the way, but I think most struggle all the way trough. I don't understand why parenting, mental & emotional health are not part of our curriculum. Sure there is no one way....but at least being aware of the road bumps, challenges and the solutions would help.

The world needs to relook the life skills syllabus.

Hahaha, yes very glad the gauntlet isn't real indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83