Picking weeds and making some organic fertiliser!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Today I started making a batch of liquid fertiliser for my gals, and I needed two well-known dynamic accumulators for that, which together make for quite a cocktail 🍸

Fortunately for me, everything's to be picked just right outside my gate or within a short walk distance, and if I wanted manure I wouldn't have to walk very far... I could just go for this pile here! 😎

4.JPG
3.JPG

But today I was after these guys, horsetail plants, which accumulate a lot of silica in their shoots, and other minerals such as potassium, manganese, magnesium, sulphur and calcium in smaller concentrations.

5.JPG
6.JPG
7.JPG
8.JPG

Horsetail can grow anywhere, but this plant often pops up on the edges of wheat fields, where I also found mine.

10.JPG
11.JPG

I also needed some stinging nettles, which haven't started flowering yet, but they will very soon, and it's better to pick them before they start doing that, cause that's when a lot of minerals will be used off.

Stinging nettle is edible. In fact, in Italy it's used to cook a famous risotto all'ortica. But it's also a top fertiliser, which is ready as soon as it dissolves in water. It's a general purpose brew, which contains a lot of nitrogen, calcium, magnesium, potassium, phosphorus, iron, zinc and manganese!

Great for cannabis at all stages, whenever a slight push or a healing fix is needed!

1.JPG
2.JPG
12.JPG

And when I was coming back I caught this spider chilling out on my gate. Quite flashy if you ask me 👉

15.JPG
16.JPG

The fertiliser or a tea if you will is prepared by soaking everything in a bucket of water, and letting it decompose over 5-7 days.

I was lucky that I I've already had some brewing, so it was used a starter. The moon phase right now is great for composting, and turning over compost piles BTW.

13.JPG
14.JPG

💨 💨 💨

✯ Follow ✯ Upvote ✯ Resteem ✯
@conradino23


Sort:  

Love the brew brother. I have been making some of these myself and the results are great!! I want to full integrate into my practice and really get rid of any monetized resources!

Oh yes it's a winning combination. Once you start getting this tea into your growing schedule, the plants will become healthier and stronger. It also helps to push the production of terpenes. Obviously everything in moderation :)

I really need to go find me some stinging nettle! If I where to maybe get a plant at a garden store, will it have the same effect as the wild version? Or where about should i look to find some in the wild?

Absolutely or you can just get the seeds and plant them in your garden!

Are they kid friendly?

They sting them, which is a valuable lesson :)

Very good point! I am getting tired of my little one flipping over pots to look for worms. 😁

The stings hurt and can get bad if you get stung all over but people use it as therapy for nerve damage and arthritis. Not to mention it is one of the most nutritious plants in the world!

It's very good for cooking actually and the stings are healthy for you :)

Awesome and informative post really enjoyed it! Am very interested in one day making my own fertilizers or teas!

I checked you out, man. I've noticed you've been growing cannabis too. Well if you'd like to switch to real organics, then just follow my posts. I think I need to compile what I've already written.

This post has received a 4.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @conradino23.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99