You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's keeping you from trying Linux?

in #blog5 years ago

Very cool article, one of my Dtube videos is specifically about Content Creation on Linux, I tried to offer alternatives Adobe's Photoshop(Krita & GIMP), Illustrator: Inkscape, Lightroom: Darktable, Audition: Kdenlive.
And then Fruity Loops:LMMS for music production.

Trying to convert Content Creators from proprietary is a difficult task, not just because "free=bad" to so many people, but switching up a workflow that you're creating with is a serious challenge. Adobe users constantly talk about how GIMP is great but it's inferior because it doesn't have this or that. In reality, GIMP can do almost everything, but it may require different steps.

Glad to see your work!

Sort:  

Thanks. Now that I love open source software and see how powerful it is, I want to open source everything.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know exactly how you feel. Linux itself is possibly the most used software in the world, as well as being worked on by the most people. I tried Ubuntu in 2014 after I had just built a brand new custom gaming machine, I installed it on an old 2005 AMD Athlon64x2 and I was instantly hooked. Even though I had just built a brand new gaming computer, I was spending most of my time on that old dual core machine trying all sorts of things, setting up servers etc. Eventually I just started trying to find a replacement for everything I had used on Windows and was constantly surprised there was almost always a way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57628.63
ETH 2920.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68