To Niche Or Not To Niche?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

rawpixel-594849-unsplash.jpg

Now that I've started to share my thoughts more regularly online, I find myself asking the same question repeatedly:

Do I pick a niche or not when it comes to the topics I write about?

You see, like most people, I'm multi-dimensional and I enjoy a variety of things. However, as I'm starting to grow a following here (and on Medium), I'm wondering whether or not I should stick to a certain topic.

I'm worried I might confuse people if one day I'm talking about cryptocurrency and then the next my experience with depression.

Or am I just overthinking it and most people won't even really care?

Perhaps the answer lies in just going with the flow for now and seeing what works best for me. Or, I could always create different types of content for each platform I use, instead of reposting the same stuff across all of them. As I mentioned in my last post, Steemit and Medium are quite different animals. At the moment, I see Steemit as the ideal place for sharing these kinds of personal, short and more "blog" style posts, whereas Medium tends to be for more long form, structured and well researched articles that aim to educate or inspire.

But that's just my opinion and things may change.

I guess ultimately, the most important question I need to ask myself is why am I writing? If it's just for fun and a way of expressing myself, then I guess it doesn't really matter what and where I post. But if the goal is to actually make a bit of money, then maybe I'll need to be more specific and realise that I'll never be able to please everyone with what I choose to write about.

Anyway, I feel like I should stop there before I go off on a wild tangent! If you guys have any suggestions or advice, I'd love for you to let me know in the comments!


Image Source: rawpixel on Unsplash


If you liked this, you might also be interested in my other articles:

Is It True We Have You Spend Money To Earn Money On Steemit?

On Feeling Like An Outsider

Overcoming the Fear to Post about my Depression Online


Steemit
Twitter
Facebook
Medium
Instagram

Sort:  

Hey @gouldingv

I'm with you on the post variety issue. I like to write about the things that have captured me at that moment so I would hate to pigeon hole myself with one topic.

Part of the fun on steemit for me is the diversity of stuff that I read and comment on and the broad range of things that I feel I can write about. That may slow my progress but I think I will be happier.

Thanks for sharing.

Gaz

Hey!

Thank you for reading my post and talking the time to comment!

I feel the same way about not wanting to limit myself, and I think people who decide to us would be interested in our opinions on a variety of topics! Our feeds certainly won't become boring that way! :)

Definitely and you're welcome. 😃

If your main goal is to earn money, it's better to stick to one primary field which you'll be known for. But if you want to explore and discover new interests, keeping your options open is clearly a better choice.

Argh! Such a tough decision. I really don't want to limit myself to just one area since I enjoy writing about so many things! I'll guess we'll just have to wait and see! :)

I agree with @ayushjalan. I would add that I think ultimately your success will come down to factors such as your persistence and engagement regardless of whether or not you niche or not niche.

Perhaps you might do well by trying a variety of subjects which interest you, then see what content is best received. You can always choose a niche after some experimenting.

Oh...I almost forgot; you're one of the winners for this weeks contest.

I just saw now that I won! Yay!! Thank you so much!! :)

And I agree, I'll think I'll just keep what I'm doing and see what happens! Thanks for commenting!

You're very welcome, and I look forward to reading more of your creations.

Is a niche really required in steemit, That's my question, why cant be we think about doing some thing out of our comfort zone when there is a great platform to develop our creativity, which at one time may definitely going to get noticed and recognized.

I am telling this on from my own experience. I was never thought of writing few lines, but now a days it seems like those initial struggle was slowly changing.

Any how happy to meet you and this is a good write up for sure

stay blesse

Hi! Thanks for your comment! I agree this platform can be great for developing our creativity!

Take care!

You are welcome.. good to see ur reply..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74