You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Millennial Jobs

in #blog5 years ago

This is so relatable. I usually say I'm a writer or a blogger when people ask what I do. But for a long time, I'd just say blogger and you always get this "huh, cute" response. Just the other day, someone asked how I'd spent my day and I was like, you know, wrote for a bit, went out for a walk and to look at people, shit like that and I could tell from their tone (even though it was a text) they were not impressed. Dude, that's my job, what the fuck do you want from me?

I know, I hate the word blogger too, because it's not like the stereotype at all. No one I've met on Steem is like that and it pisses me off that when I say it, people are immediately going to think of that.

The amount of money these days that revolves around the blogging and gaming sphere is insane,

Riight? My brother's into gaming and he's always telling me about this or that game dev who's doing a game and all the support they get from the community. And I don't mean big game devs either, just average joes. It's incredible and I think that since it's so new, people don't really know how to handle it.

I wonder if in 50 years' time (if we're not all robots), 'blogger' will get the same respect as 'lawyer' or 'doctor'...

Great post, really enjoyed this.

Sort:  

Right, right!!? It's so hard to describe what I do in a simple way without sounding like a stuck up blogger girl, and without getting a million follow up questions that you might not wanna answer to just for any old random person. Oh and god forbid if you say that you spend all day at home on your computer, people think that you do nothing. Because you have to have a regular job or go to school to make a living, those are the rules!

Tell me about it. And it's all good and fine if you're like 'fuck the rules', but what sucks is that many people aren't like that and they kinda hate you for being like that, you know? Because in a way, you're saying the system doesn't work or at least, that there are alternatives to it. But they're part of that system, so they don't like you saying it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81