2017 Cryptocurrency Year In Review.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

How hectic has this year been for Bitcoin, right? Why do I feel like this train is just only starting out and the steam pressure still building?

If someone had told me 11 months ago that Bitcoin would have reached a value worth over $19,000 USD at some point before the end of 2017, knowing what I know about Bitcoin as well as the blockchain and being as much of a crypto enthusiast as I am, I totally could not have imagined Bitcoin reaching the Heights it has in what can be described as nothing short of a whirlwind ride for people who have been brave enough to take the trip down crypto street.

0_JQyzRVjxc8a6q45T_.jpg

Bitcoins dominance in 2017 as cryptocurrencies have clawed their way up to the worlds top 15 most valuable Industries out of relative obscurity over the last 8 years or so, has taken a lot of very smart people by surprise on Wall Street and across the globe but don't be fooled corporate naive protocols, many companies from New York to L.A. and abroad are adopting Blockchain and crypto technologies mobilizing with research and development, it is only a matter of time before companies who have spent time and energy to develop products with solutions for their customers who get to market first, will emerge as industry leaders over the next 10 year stretch.

GN36024-Artboard_1.png

For years people have been holding Bitcoin at a relatively low value in respect to the current value. Looking at the history of the charts using coinmarketcap for BTC I notice on November 30th 2013 at 01:46 UTC, the market cap for Bitcoin was just shy of 14 billion dollars, at that point Bitcoin had a price tag of $1149 USD for what felt like the blink of an eye to traders who had seen Bitcoin rise from pennies to literally becoming one of the most valuable stocks before the Mt.Gox fiasco ending that run and seemingly crippling crypto growth not to mention tarnishing the reputation of the budding crypto industry leaving a dark cloud hanging over the consciousness of traders and potential investors alike. To this day Bitcoin remains one of the most important and under valued industries in the world and it is only growing more by the second.

Sometime at the end of February mid March I saw a serious trend unfolding when pretty much every cryptocurrency I can think of and their mother took a trip to the moon with a rocket ship made out of Blockchain, by default anyone holding almost any cryptocurrency over the spring and the summer of 2017 became very, very wealthy investors. It almost seemed like the euphoria for never ending rise of the ultimate cryptocurrency pump would never come to an end, however all good things do! When markets like XRP that achieved Heights of 25000 Satoshi started to crash and giants like ETH took a serious nosedive after being worth 15% of the price of Bitcoin from my perspective it was pretty obvious that the cryptocurrency cash register had been emptied out and a run for Bitcoin was imminent. This may not have seemed the obvious to the average Donald who was buying crypto around that time but for those of us who had our eye on the BTC ball for the last 4 or 5 years I feel it was obvious that something had changed and there was big movement on the horizon that would inevitably take the World by storm.

1055328731.jpg

We all know what the media has been saying about the Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, as well as Bitcoin, the headlines seem to always repeat themselves and are quit often not very kind or neutral when reporting, information about Bitcoin is usually recycled across many news outlets with stories feeling like they were copy and pasted rather then written. When it comes to Bitcoin and the blockchain the narrative established by the so called mainstream media circus we call news today, tends to be standardized, since very few people are able to grasp the potential of Bitcoin and even fewer people are able to explain what logic they use to come to the conclusion that this kind off potential is even possible. In other words there just are not enough good analogies to describe Cryptocurrency to people who actually desire to learn in a way that can help those who want to understand the philosophy as well as technical aspects driving the blockchain. The media has not exactly been a fan or a cheerleader for cryptocurrency if you know what I mean, however when the media puts on a tin foil hat to talk about how Bitcoin saved a senior citizens cat that accidentally climbed up a tree, anything is possible! When mass media wants, mass media can be a nice guy if it chooses. I have also noticed when celebrities pop out of the woodwork to talk about Cryptocurrency like John Mc Fee did with RDD and DGB entire communities of people who have never been exposed to this kind of alien technology we call blockchain get to have their minds opened up for the first time, little by little the word is getting out, the Blockchain has arrived!

I find my Outlook and viewpoints on Cryptocurrency to be very optimistic. Although I do sense turbulence ahead in the near future for Bitcoin with regards to the stability and price for cryptocurrencies in general that potentially have become inflated too fast. I am really not worried, over the long term I truly sense that cryptocurrencies are going to usher in a new era of more honest corporate and Government business practices and transparency which is good for everybody at the table. Cryptocurrency and Bitcoins have earned a very special place in my investment portfolio, I don't waste one single opportunity chatting with people who have not yet learned about Bitcoin or cryptocurrency. I look forward to being able to help people understand how the underlying value of how these technologies are not only going to change how people see the world, this tech is actually life changing, everyone will be eating their own dog food soon enough via the Blockchain and decentralized social media platforms such as STEEM.

Cryptocurrency it's still a very small community of users (believe it or not) I feel it's really important for those of us who are a part of this industry to stick together and support one another. I want to remind everybody that regardless of whatever cryptocurrency you are trading or are invested with this industry is woven together like a cloth and the fabric is the backdrop for what is going to happen in the world of tomorrow. Every single thread of this fabric counts and as the blockchain grows as well as its processing power, eventually a dominant path way will reveal itself leading to the ultimate and most secure cryptocurrency ever, in the meantime part of me feels like cryptocurrency is still in the beta version and there is a lot of growing left to happen, with love in time.

Where do you see the price of Bitcoin in 6 months time around June 1st, 2018?
How did you first learn about cryptocurrency?
What was the price of Bitcoin when you bought cryptocurrency for the first time?
I look forward to reading your comments and learning more about where you see this industry in the future. Thank you for taking a second to check out this post or leave a comment!

4893399476_153d0b3c80_o.jpg

I want to take a moment to also wish everybody a fantastic year and all the best for 2018 looking forward. Life is too short, make sure to party hard and well when you are out there in the game and kindly drink responsibly, we have to get up in the morning and trade more crypto ;p LETS GO!

Written by STEEM user: Jazmin Million

Sort:  

I got in to crypto and Bitcoin when one BTC was worth $12 (around 2012/2013). I do regret not holding it until now, but there are a lot of new possibilities to earn some cash with all the new cryptocurrencies popping up (tho not as much profit as BTC has given)

I heard about a certain market before I heard about cryptocurrencies, that's how I got in. But now I'm all in for the crypto and won't be dealing with shady markets again.

Right now I have a bit BTC, ETH and XRP (And of course STEEM).
I'm hoping to expand my portfolio in 2018 and I'm really curious to how the market will change/adapt.

As for your question about what price BTC might be at next summer, my guess is that it will have reached $28k, but then retract to around $25k. But don't quote me on this (Unless we find out I was totally correct, haha)

Upvoted the post and followed you, looking forward to more great content like this! Happy new year to you, and have a great crypto 2018 :)

Totally fair assessment, I like your style! I am checking out you're blog and following as well, cheers man!

To everyone here ! Happy new year in advance and HODL !!! :) 2018 is gonna be a blast !

Fair enough, I dont hate the player or the game.

... over the long term I truly sense that cryptocurrencies are going to usher in a new era of more honest corporate and Government business practices and transparency which is good for everybody at the table.

Yes, honest and transparent political body. I am optimistic about this - this is the reason why I bought bitcoin even though it doesn't have a physical value. I'm buying crypto. to be a part of a 'revolution'. hahaha

Maybe, someday, when I'm old enough, I will tell a story of this mania: "yes, grandson, I was one of those fools who bought a bitcoin in 2016-2017 even though I did not get any physical value at all - just some mathematical, gibberish key."

I got here 6 months ago and was a bit slow to catch on to the rest that crypto had to offer. I finally decided to buy some when BTC started to jump last month. Good timing too as SBD shot up like crazy!

I'm no expert but I can imagine BTC reaching 25K by the summer. I don't think it will go any higher than that unless they fix the high fees. If they do fix the fees, who knows!

STEEM will probably reach around $10 and have double or triple the amount of active users. This not really considering for SMT which I have no idea how deeply will impact the price of STEEM.

A lot also depends on regulations and the ability to enforce regulations.

Its only begun seriously though we have just scratched the surface and 2018 is going to be massive. We only had about 5-6 months of growth in crypto land from $800 to $12,000 we sit at right now is just massive!

Wow very insightful post. Just Resteemed it. I have great love for cryptocurrency. Hoping you would fill me up@jazminmillion. Once again nice work man

Wow... very good review, I predict next year bitcoin prices will remain high but the growth is not as high as the year. I think that in the month of June 2018, bitcoin is in the range of 22 -24K USD.

I personally years about cryptocurrency at the beginning of last year from a book that access got it very difficult.

And the first time I bought bitcoin for 1500 USD

Wow very insightful post. Just Resteemed it. I have great love for cryptocurrency. Hoping you would fill me up @jazminmillion. Once again nice work man

It really has been an insane year. I remember early days I would let 1mil satoshi pass through my hands like nothing. I would get it for free and gamble it away in an afternoon. Little did I know I was blowing away 200 bucks like it was nothing. This year certainly is going out with a bang too, this has been a pretty concerning past few days. Unless you hold Ripple I guess, then it's been great :P

I think 2018 will be even better than that :)

Let's hope 2019 is even better ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81