My experiences in adopting good lifestyle with minimum things.

in #blog7 years ago

I used to feel miserable when I see my home with full of mess. I couldn’t make some time to clean as I am a working woman. Then I realized I have a plenty of unwanted stuff, which I could donate or reuse. Eventually, I managed to donate them. So, my house is so clean now. Now, I don’t want to mess it up again. Thus, I researched how to use things efficiently and effectively. Hence I got the brilliant concept on the internet, which is called Minimalism.
To begin with, minimalism is not meant to get rid of everything you have. It has its own purpose. In addition, few principles really helped me so much, which I would like to share some of them with you.

Presents, Gifts

I got married two years ago, and on my wedding day, we were blessed with loads of love through gifts. So my husband and I carried the stuff all the way to the place where we were moving. And this happened in every single house shifting. I must say we moved three times since we were married. Every time the same thing stroke on my head, why I am carrying this unwanted stuff. I really didn’t use that I would not use it forever, but they stay with us at home. Gifts are a form of love that people give us in order to make us happy. However, what if you can’t remember them until you see it. The things can be rather used by some other people in a way that is more effective. Thus, my husband and I thought to give them to a charity. Thus, a true meaning of love has been shared to a needed person.


Image Credits

Loved things

We all have things as we give forever to acquire them. Is it correct? But for some people, it might be hard to use every single thing they have purchased. It might be a rare case but I know few people of the same kind along with me. Whenever I thought to get rid of them, I could not do because those are my things that I am emotionally bonded with. To avoid this problem I asked my husband to pack some of my clothes and accessories, which he thinks it’s worthy to get rid off, and keep them in another place where I cannot able to see. I thought after a couple of months if I am able to guess the things that were stored somewhere, then they are mine, otherwise, I would be going to sell them off. And it worked and I managed to sell many.

Papers, Documents.

And the next most major thing to get rid off is unwanted papers which create our home less tidy. We get newspapers every morning. And they become tonnes after few days. It's easy to throw them off. But what about bills and other documents. I used to store every single paper in order to reduce my fear of being lost of the important papers. Then I collected all the papers from three months and I noticed that there was nothing I can find useful in it. Thus I threw them and made my home tidy. I do this four to five time a year. And I can say my home is more beautiful than ever before.

Sort:  

Hi @jlife and welcome to Steem! I enjoyed your post; less IS more!

Last year, after going through a break-up with my fiancé of several years, I went through a period of cleaning and cleansing. I emptied every closet, each drawer and storage area. I looked upon the things I had there and gave away everything I hadn't used in the past six months. I got rid of a LOT of stuff!

Since then, I feel lighter and more streamlined. Now I pay close attention to anything that I'm considering buying. I ask myself, 'Is this something I'll continue to use for a long time, or is it just something I want today?' Depending on the answer, I buy or pass by. And I'm doing a lot of passing by...

Thank you for your post! It reminded me of how I arrived here in this minimalist period. I have upvoted your post and followed you. Feel free to follow me back.

Good luck here on Steem and enjoy your journey!

I really liked the resilient nature of yours. Keep it up :)

very kind of you to share this great post with us

Thank you.

Thank you for sharing
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Thank you :)

Welcome my friend

I can relate to what you're saying, especially about saving papers. Too much stuff and clutter becomes a major headache and distraction in your life. If possible, why don't you try to sell the unwanted stuff at a garage sale or ebay? The other things can be given to people who want/need them or donate to a thrift shop.

That would be a great idea. I'll surely try it.

Having many stuff doen't make you happy. It just exhausts you. Yes there are some pluses but not enough to be worth it.

You are correct :)

I learned to live light but my reason my be is different all my live I been from one place to other is the way how I work, I now is difficult for my family, my family have everything and I do everything for my family but if is for me I'm on a beach sleeping behind the car ,, and my wife always say ,,, WE ALWAYS BEEN HAPPIER WENT WE DONT HAVE NOTHING

its nice to hear. Be happy :)

Post on steemit! I support you! I just sent you some SBD to you in your wallet.

Very thought provoking post. We have lived in a consumer economy for a while now and most of us have way too much "stuff" and it does tend to make one feel weighted down. I have an on going process of trying to get rid of unused things.

Thats great. And thanks :)

I feel you, less is absolutely more when it comes to physical things. Something I like to do is to find one item per day in my home that I don't want anymore and I set it aside to be donated. Little by little I'm trying to get rid of as much as I can, and each time I take a load off to give to charity I feel so much better.

Yes I can understand it :)

If in doubt, chuck it out! A house with less clutter is conducive to greater peace of mind.

Yes, totally correct:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62