How To Create An Epic Profile Page And Drive Growth

in #blog6 years ago

How-To-Create-An-Epic-Profile-Page-And-Drive-Growth.png

Your profile page is the most significant asset you have outside of creating fantastic content. It is here that the potential follower can see your consistency, your personality, and your niche.

No matter what social network you are using be it Steem, Twitter, or Instagram you need to put in the effort to create the best overall profile page that reflects you and the tribe you want to attract.

These profiles often consist of a short biography, some background image, and a list of all the posts made on that network. It is by these points that you can leverage your content and your personality to attract new followers and readers.

Bio

Use this section wisely as it may be the only information someone has about your and your blogging style. Here is what mine says:

Witness, Blogger of 15 Years, Old School Hacker, and Poet | Tech on Monday & Wednesday - Blog Help on Tuesday & Thursday - Curation on Friday | Col. 3:17

In this short bio, I pack as much into it as possible, so people reading will get the best idea of what I am all about. First and foremost is that I am a Steem Witness and I added this first because I weigh it with the most importance. (Every vote counts)

Then I talk about my past and things I have always found fascinating. I stuck "blogger of 15 years" after stating that I am a witness because this is the only reason I am comfortable giving blogging advice to everyone here on Steem. After that I let everyone know that I'm into technology and poetry as a way to get a bit more personal.

The third chuck is my blogging schedule and is essential. This lets new readers see when you post what so they can look forward to your content if they like a specific niche you write within. This also allows them to see what they can expect from you and how often which may lead to an auto-vote.

Background Image

Don't leave this blank, jazz it up and add some personal flair to your profile. If you look at mine, you see that it is very techy and hacker like and I love it! This expresses who I am at one level and gives my profile page the feel I want it to have.

You can even use this image for extra information about you or your blog. You can move your blogging schedule to an image you created to free up some of the space in your bio. The only downside is that since it is an image, it will be more work to change it every time you move your schedule.

Consistent Images

I recommend everyone to use this first image in their post to have the title of their blog post overlaid and have a relevant background. You can see that is how I do mine day in and day out. This consistency allows the people scrolling through the feeds to look at your post. Every chance we have to catch an eye the better off our growth will become.

Also, photos are a great place to put your keywords and are almost always overlooked. Before uploading an image to Steemit, it is good practice to change the name of that image. When doing so, use the keyword or phrase in the name. This allows us to pump up the number of times our keyword is on the page without coming off as "spammy" and awkward.

make-the-best-social-profile.jpeg

We can use our exact title as the image name once or twice depending on how long our post becomes. I typically replace any spaces with a - (dash) when naming the images. Adding a dash helps the search engine know where a word starts and stops.

This "stuffing" does not only help to raise the keyword percentage in our post but also may place us into the image searches. Most search engines today have an image search option. When we search for a topic, we get the images that contain that word or words in the title.

When we correctly add our keywords to the images we use, our chance of exposure does not only go up about the post itself but also adds another search vector. There have been many times when I visited a site to see the content just from looking for an image, and something caught my eye.

Good Titles

Get your title nailed down first in blogging is the best tip I learned over the past fifteen years. When you write the title before any other content, you end up writing to that title. This tool allows you to make a good, catchy headline to grab people's attention and deliver on the promise the title gives. People never mind 'click bait' when the content fulfills the promise they clicked on.

There are a few tools out there to help you check your headlines. One of them is the Coschedule Headline Analyzer. This tool does an excellent job, showing you all kinds of statistics and information about your title.

Thanks For Reading!

If you have any topics that you would like me to cover please feel free to comment them below and I'll add them all to my list!

All images came from royalty and attribution free sources unless specified.

Looking to take your Steem based creations to the next level?
Join us over at the Creators' Guild Discord group! We are here to encourage, support and increase the creation of quality content.

If you have any questions about the future of Steem
or my witness please feel free to message jrswab#3134 on Discord.

vote-jrswab-for-steem-Witnesses—Steemit.gif

Click here to vote with SteemConnect!
Or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
You can see all active witnesses on @drakos' steemian.info


Click here to join the mailing list and never miss a blog update!
Subscribers get emails about new blog post and exclusive SDB/STEEM giveaways!

Looking to support my content creation efforts outside of the Steem Blockchain?
Check out jrswab.com/support


Keybase | Twitter | Twitch | Instagram | Gab | Minds | Anchor

Sort:  

Very useful Post man I really had to make some corrections to my profile .thanks .

This comment has received a 0.14 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @cbeep.

Do you have a recommended size for the background image? Does the importer crop the image?

The importer cropped it for myself but I do not know what the exact resolution.

Good question, I have been wondering the same. Can anyone enlighten us on this? Thanks! xx

I found in some post that mentioned the perfect size of background image is 1200x220 .

Excellent tips. I need to do all of them. Will do this week now that I have read this. I didn't really count it as priority until I read this! Cheers, have a great day! <3

Great! All effort to improve our blog is worth it!

Good post... Your the best @jrswab

haha, thanks mate.

My chrome stopped working for steemit only. Hmmm. Also my profile pics are invalid on steemit and discord. Trying to do all I can. Can you help me please?
Joy

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @jrswab from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

P.A.L Discord link is out to date.
Can I get one active?
Thanks in advance.
Regards.

Neither... but thanks.
Regards.

what? I just made that link lol. Do you have discord?

Yes. I'm there as @freyman

Nice!
I am guessing I might have to put some energy into my "branding" and maybe get a background image and some kind of matching banner...
Basic stuff I have been neglecting to do... UGH...
I need more coffee...

You can do it!

Yeah @jrswab, my approach to this platform has been on a fun "hobby level" so far. Just to test the waters, so to speak... I am afraid it might become too much like a "job" with "personal branding" and a schedule for blogging and such, I don't want steeming to become a boring "have to" thing... But maybe this will not be the case, lets see...

@jrswab I never really thought of the importance of my profile page until now.
Thanks for this awesome exposé, it's highly appreciated

Thanks! Going to rework my profile!

Excelente guia amigo... De mucha ayuda...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84