A pleasant surprise

in #blog6 years ago

I was surprised when I got an email about a new pledge on patreon because I haven't posted anything for a long time.
the reason was: when I started my patreon, I realized that it's not a platform that directs more attention to my games, I had to do all of the advertising myself.
I somewhat gave up on posting more about my process even though I had lots to share, my process have slowed down and I focused on working on others games instead.
But looks like something have changed. I got a follower, somebody I didn't had to ask to visit my page, this means something I have done was right.
now I have a reason to start posting, and generate something valuable again, something that shows my appreciation for the pledge and the attention.
so what I have in mind, you might wonder.

  • the first thing is more code snippets for ren'py. I do spend lots of time coming up with codes to add functionality to my games, my plan is to share them exclusively to my patreon followers.
  • next is interface designs, I have few extra interfaces designed that the project didn't take off, I usually get some good money for them but since each client have a different taste, they usually remain in my archive and not many of them get sold to a new client, I can share them with my patreons exclusively.
  • I do render characters and backgrounds every now and then, they will be shared to public for any use.
  • sounds, music, tools, guides, etc... though I have less time to spend on other things I usually make a thing or two that may come handy to the gamer/game developers.

What does it mean for my steemit? you might wonder.

It doesn't mean that I would abandon my steemit, I still see steemit as the best solution to my situation, but I feel I've strayed away from my path, the shiny up-votes of utopian.io have caught my eyes, I started putting my effort on meeting the conditions required for posting, it's a good idea with a good intention and I like to remain a part of it, but at some point I felt like I'm not doing it for the open source community, I'm doing it for utopian moderators.
it's a personal view point and not everybody agrees with me, but I think utopian should reward the result instead of effort. unfortunately the rules in utopian is leaning towards maximizing the efforts and ignores the fact that the best solution is always the most efficient one, not seeing eye to eye with utopian caused a long pause in my steemit process but it was my own fault ^_^

from now on I'll focus on my own work and my game developing, I'll share more and use steemit as my voice instead of a chore to get money. as a consequence you'll find some NSFW posts because most of my work has an adult theme, but on other hand you'll see lots of design, code and resources that I'll be sharing with anyone whom wants to enter the game industry.

I mentioned my patreon and sharing things "exclusively to my patreon",
the reason is: some resources are used up and once somebody use them in their game they are useless to others, things like interface design, I have to share them with a limited number of people for them to be valuable to the ones whom want to use them. but don't worry, if you want any of them you can get them from my patreon for a 1$ pledge, or even contact me and ask for it.


image source: flicer (cc)

Sort:  

Hey man congrats on the patreon follower. I have a total of 2 patreon's now and it makes me want to focus more effort to share my art on that platform. Do what you love and share your passion for it and those of like mind will find you. I took much time off from my page as well. Best of luck to you.

Thanks, I visited your patreon, I love to learn drawing and I think you's idea for a mobile stdio is cool, however it might be a bit hard to pull it off on a bicycle, you need a van

wait till you see my mobile studio it is bicycle scale.... not just bicycle it is a side by side electric drive with a solar pull trailer that is more than enough power and enough space... for a solo adventure the trailer is more like a upside down teardop setup like a fifth wheel where it will attach directly to the top of the pull vehicle... it is a micro mobile land yacht. I need to build the 3d model of it so people can see what I am thinking and how the space is arranged.
Thanks for stopping by my page :)

I also ride bicycle everywhere, my concern is the elements, the sun, wind and rain can be very annoying specially if you're on the road, consider a roof in your design if you haven't yet ^_^

it is an inclosed side by side seated 3 wheel design with a boob drop trailer with 1k solar atop or close to it may not need that much. the top of the trailer pops up at one side and is a sleeping spot like a vw van. I will have to model some of my drawings in 3d so i can share my vision.

nice, I have some skill with 3D and blender, don't hesitate to ask for any tips or help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85