The Musings Of A Mom

in #blog5 years ago

My Photos - Golden Girls
I have been thinking about my kids a lot lately. Maybe it's because I'm currently far from home at the moment and can't decipher all they have been involved in via the numerous phone calls we have had these past few days. I wonder, have I been a good mother to my kids? Have I instilled the right kind of discipline in them? Have I taught them all they should know at this age? Have I been supportive enough? Have I been a good role model? I'm not altogether sure the answer to all these questions are yes and that bothers me a little. Both my kids are in high school/secondary school and are already growing relatively independent of me and it gives me a bittersweet feeling; it is scary watching them grow so fast and yet it is also a source of joy watching them become little ladies.

Thin blue line.png


My Photos - Barbie
I remember the first time I laid my eyes on them at birth. They were both such cute babies, so perfect and so innocent. Now, they are the first to question me about everything including stuff as inconsequential as who I'm speaking with on the phone...lol. They are not afraid to express themselves and I have watched them both flourish and grow into 2 entirely different personalities. Barbie, my second daughter and last born, is strong and a little domineering. She keeps challenging her big sister, trying to get her way in almost everything including house chores, home work and even at play times. I'm glad her sister is no push over though. Juwura, my first daughter, is obviously phlegmatic. She is the quintessential team player and peace maker. She has a tendency to allow her little sister get away with a lot for the sake of peace and quiet. She however knows how to put her foot down and say no when she needs to, thank goodness!

Thin blue line.png


My Photos - Juwura
Juwura is 11 but she already acts almost like a 13 year old, pretty mature for her age. She already knows so much stuff that I had no idea about at her age! This makes me pretty proud. However, I also have a bit of a problem about her. She already has a great deal of admirers at her age! The other day, 2 young boys aged 11 and 14 got into a fight because of her! It astounds me and I worry that it's way to early for a little girl to have to deal with so much masculine attention. I know she is a millennial and so her experiences would definitely be different from mine but goodness gracious, she is only 11 years old! How do I curb all these? I have nothing against her friends but how do I protect her from the "bad" ones? Share your thoughts and ideas with me please.

Cheers and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Awwn, I really wish I have kids right now.
You can install CCTV camera in your house, buy dogs as big as humans and get a bodyguard for her.

But seriously mama, give her the right words and directions and never be too over protective on her. That alone can get into her mind and want to explore. But letting her have her freedom brings back memories of your instructions and advice.

Loooool! Alright baby. Your advice is noted. My house is not where the problem is though...it's in school and in church and at other social outings...I so try not to be over protective though, but i guess i have got to try harder now.. Thanks Sam

The Lord will help you mama. Amen!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

You have wonderful kids. Nice post

Thank you dearie

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mosunomotunde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You just need to be her friend, I crushed on a girl in primary school too (silly me), but let the sex education ring bell in her ears, then get her successful female idols who have changed the world. With this, I believe she will be guided and have end in mind.

Cheers!

Thanks so much @autofreak. I will keep talking to her and try my best to be her confidante. As for role models, I try to be one for her and I encourage friendships with her mentors in church; There is this great teens program where they assign them mentors and guiders. One of her mentors is a very sweet medical student named Jomiloju. She has been amazing with Juwura.

Tell me about your primary school crush...did anything happen between you guys?

Wow.. Your kids are as beautiful as you are.. Cute smile they've got

Awwwwnnnn. Thanks a gazillion love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98