You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's keeping you from trying Linux?

in #blog5 years ago

Well I have been using UNIX based operating systems from before Linux was created and have been using Linux in one form or another for over 30 years. I do admit to making a living supporting Microsoft but still often ran Linux in the server room whenever possible. Now that I am semi-retired I use Linux as my primary workstation. Always happy to see people using it themselves.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

My favorite thing about running Linux is how easy it is to run a server from home. That's actually what got me into Linux. Now I'm always borking my stuff playing around with that, lol.

That is why I am also such a fan of the Raspberry Pi, small cheap Linux servers for small tasks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man, Rasperry Pi are so cool for making projects and stuff with. They have taught a lot of people about using Linux that wouldn't otherwise.

So true. Now that I have the Man Cave mostly setup I will start setting up my various Raspberry Pi's and do my best to post the experience on Steem. I just have never been good with documenting things, but now have some incentive with Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67