You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1st World Problems? Back from the Outernet.

in #blog5 years ago

Also, the internet connection is in our bedroom; the room that gets lowest priority on the cleaning schedule. When I realized that the technician would have to go in there to figure out why it wasn't working, I was horrified

Lol, this part got me. That moment when a total stranger is about to discover one of your dirtiest secrets.

So the Thunderstorm and lack of internet did have its positives.

And as regards the issues you raised in your first two paragraphs, I will say technology has a way of isolating us but at the same thing it gives us this false sense that we are connected. There are friends I have not seen in years although we live in the same town. Because we can chat and text we fail to meet up the old traditional way and it's sad to think that losing their contact or internet can separate you from these persons easily. Friendships don't last long this way. It's only a matter of time before you both drift apart

Sort:  

Haha! The dust under the bed was thick enough to hide some things!

I will say technology has a way of isolating us but at the same thing it gives us this false sense that we are connected.

Well put. It reminds me of a futuristic story I read on here, where everyone had chips implanted and saw everything through those chips. Those that didn't have them were seen as ghosts in the periphery. Just there enough to avoid bumping into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84