WHAT'S NEXT?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181006_001257_edit.png

The next phase?

I am moving towards another phase in my life, the most important phase I might say. Everything I have been doing for the past 24 years of my life has been gearing me up towards this phase--adulthood.

The next phase in my life will come with a lot of responsibilities. In a couple of months I will have to join the countless number of Nigerian youths flooding the labour market in search of their place and future. We've all been told that there is a place for everyone in this life if only one is willing and able to fight for it. However, it is a fierce battle and sometimes unfair battle, one which only a few persons will come out triumphant. With one of the largest unemployment rate in Africa, Nigeria doesn't offer so much for it's youths.

The Nigerian dream

I have always wanted to leave the shores of this country in search of greener pastures elsewhere. Although I have told that the grass isn't as green as I deem it to be on the other side, but many youths like myself are willing to take our chances. This is all in our quest for a better life. I want to be part of a society where things work; where the basic necessities in life aren't so inflated that they become luxury. This is the Nigerian dream.

Everyone wants to leave. Thoes who don't are mostly likely benefiting from the corrupt system. I do want to leave not to run away but to empower myself. I have seen many of my friends and family member who left with nothing and came back better despite the many odd jobs they found themselves doing overseas and I am not talking about drug dealing and human trafficking. This has overshadowed the quest of the many people who travel with good intentions of being law abiding citizens, contributing their own quota to the new community they find themselves. This has led to stiffer immigration laws.

I do not believe one should be restricted to their country of birth, so I'm not particularly in support of immigration laws that prohibit people who actually need help; people who can actually contribute something significant if given the chance, but I understand that many countries do this as a means of self preservation and it is necessary.

What's the next phase for me?

As an insurer to be, chances are I might get a job at an insurance and practise for a short while. Currently my heart is in the crypto world and I believe there are a lot of opportunities here for me. I also want to learn about programming because I believe it this not just the future buy also the present.

After graduating, I was hoping to do a little (video) documentation of different states in Nigeria, explore the different people and their culture. I believe travelling is a form of education as one gets a first-hand experience of things they are not familiar with and debunk false notions of a people or place. So this is what I really want to do in 2019. And if possible, I will also like to visit some other African countries, like my mum's country, Liberia. I haven't met any of my relatives from her side of the family so it would be a great experience.

I do not know how I will accomplish must of these things. I neither have the gadgets or funds to do these things, but I will still give it a try. One year doing the thing I live the most is not such a bad idea. I do not want finance to be a limiting factor, though it can be a major hindrance. I will start some. If not a different states, than maybe different local governments in a start. The most important thing is that I capture and tell other people's stories.


Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Sort:  

Out of curiosity, have you ever been to your mother's birth country? I have heard that Liberia is one of the most dangerous places in the world, but often we hear things through a pretty thick BS filter here in the states.

I have never been to Liberia, but it is not as terrible as it sound. Same with the Ebola outbreak there some years back. The media hyped things up but it wasn't as bad. They are currently workng on their democracy and really things are looking good, though growth is sporadic

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thank you for supporting the #minnowuprising initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our engagement on the platform. Please continue supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

It's a daunting time for many young adults across the world and I wish you all strength in the coming years.
Documenting different peoples and cultures would be a fantastic idea. For me it has been a truly eye opening experience being able to hear first hand from people in their countries the reality of their lives. Usually our only source of information from far flung countries is filtered through media and it's rarely a full and accurate account of what things are like there. For example, if I we're to go on the information I get, Nigerians are all con artists and under educated. So thank you for busting that myth for me!

Posted using Partiko Android

For example, if I we're to go on the information I get, Nigerians are all con artists and under educated. So thank you for busting that myth for me!

it's not a total lie that many Nigerians are into fraud, but at the same time we have many who are willing to put their time and effort into productive things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85