Inside the head of a migraine patient

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Slowly I wake up to the sound of birds. A sliver of sunlight found its way into my room. The sun comes out of hiding earlier and earlier towards summer time...

photography feather blurry playfulfoodie

I feel a headache on the left side of my head. It's worse than it was yesterday. Is it still on the same side? I'm not sure. It travels around sometimes, my migraine.

I had hoped it would have gone away after some sleep. It does that sometimes. More often than not though, it's worse than the night before.

I get up and make myself a big cup of tea. Sometimes that helps, drinking lots of fluids after waking up. Not this time.

I grab breakfast. Sometimes that helps, eating something. Not this time.

I try to distract myself by watching a show. Sometimes that helps, distractions. Not this time.

The show was a bad idea today. It has only made things worse. I'm nauseous now. It happens. Big headaches with nausea.

Does the sun shine brighter today? I swear the birds are louder today. The cars driving by certainly make more noise today. And my gosh, could someone please turn off that machine that's running somewhere in the distance? How about stopping the airplanes from flying for a little while?

I walk over to the bedroom, crawl into bed and close my eyes. This feels good for a while. Then the nausea gets worse.

I try to resist each time, but whenever it gets this bad, I have no choice.

I walk over to the cabinet and grab a pain killer. A grade heavier than the regular ones, because these are the only ones that have a chance at giving me some relieve.

I take the pain killer with some water. I then take off my regular glasses, grab my boyfriend's big, dark sunglasses, and put them on. This helps a little.

I swear that sun is extra bright today.

I head over to the kitchen and with my head in my hands, I lean against the kitchen island. Ah, sweet darkness.

I just stand here for a while.

Have to stay upright, or the nausea will get worse...
Have to hold on until the pain killer kicks in...


photography flowers close-up nature playfulfoodie

It's a bad one today. I don't often have migraines this bad anymore, but they visit sometimes to remind me I won't be rid of them completely. I had them more often years ago. Especially when I was still working a 9 to 5 job.

Ironically, the headaches never visited me on week days. I was always able to head to work. They would come out of hiding during the weekend. Basically ruining a big portion of my time off. They would subside in time for me to head back to work on monday.

Some time after the burnout happened, while still on sick leave, the migraines came less often. They became less heavy. I still get them sometimes, but they aren't always bad enough to require a pain killer.

I don't like taking pain killers, so I try to suffer through the headaches. When the pain and nausea get too bad though, I usually give in. Especially when the light and sound sensitivity is at its worst. Everything gets so much brighter and louder and I feel like there's no escape.

I don't visit doctors with this. I did a few times in the past. They always say the same: You need to exercise more. I did that. I cycled to work for years. There were periods where it took an hour per ride, and there were periods where it took 15 minutes per ride. But cycling I did. And I always walked half an hour during lunch. Always. Snow or not. Rain? Heck, that's why they invented umbrellas. It didn't work.

I know what will happen if I talk to doctors again. I have to exercise more. Or maybe find triggers and try to avoid them. The only triggers I found so far are things I can't avoid. Mainly big changes in weather. Hot weather mostly. Stress is also bad, obviously.

Maybe they could give me pain killers. You know, the things I try to avoid.

That's what I find online. Trigger avoiding and getting heavier pain killers. Other than that, migraine is pretty hard to actually beat.

So I suffer through it and take a pain killer when absolutely necessary.

The worst thing about this though, is the insecurity. I haven't had a 9 to 5 job in over a year now. No working for an actual boss. No people depending on me to show up at certain times, 5 times a week. No stress related to obligations like that.

Instead, I earn a little crypto on the side by writing pieces like this. Or by sharing other experiences, be it in real live or in game. This allows me to set my own times. Work when I feel I can, but also rest when I feel I need to. All while still feeling I can atleast contribute a little bit, financially speaking.

It's not a lot though. It doesn't equal a 9 to 5 job, 5 days a week.

I think about maybe finding a regular job again someday. But after a while, my head always reminds me it doesn't actually feel ready for it. Either it's too fuzzy (thanks a lot, burnout), or I get a migraine. What am I supposed to do at work when I feel like this half of the time?

I don't want to go back to migraines each weekend. I don't want to sacrifice all of my free time, just to work 9 to 5, 5 days a week. Nor do I want to be dependent on a regular intake of medicine.

So tell me, what's a girl to do in a situation like this?

For now, I think I'll just hope Steemit, combined with the whole crypto currency world, will live a long, happy and profitable life. Because this is the only way I see myself contributing right now.




Thanks for stopping by. If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |Patreon |

As always, these pictures are made and owned by me and are not to be used without my permission. If you would like to use them in any way, please contact me or visit my Deviantart or Photography shop for a purchase.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear you're suffering right now @playfulfoodie.

So tell me, what's a girl to do in a situation like this?

I would say - take care of yourself today. Thinking about the future will only add to the stress. Do what you need to do to feel as good as you can right now and don't worry about tomorrow.

Hope you feel better soon! 💙

Thank you very much for the kind words, @gillianpearce :-)

I've never seen a migraine explained quite like this. Great read and I'm so sorry you go through that.

Have you considered working part-time? Like, eventually, when you're up for it? There are reintegration projects centered around that, I think? Sorry if the thought of that freaks you out.

Yeah, I am definitely considering part-time. It means I'll have to find something outside of the line of work I used to do though, because something like ehm... functional/application manager positions usually aren't available part-time. Anything challenging really isn't :-(

Yeah I guess I didn't consider your line of work when I asked that :P But if you're recovering from a burnout, would you even want to seek out a challenge?

But if you're recovering from a burnout, would you even want to seek out a challenge?

Yeah that's a tough one. From experience though, I know I need a challenging job to keep me interested and give me energy. Boring jobs in which you just go through the motions won't give me any energy to keep going. Challenging jobs do require a lot of concentration though, which is still a little hard for me right now.

It's frustrating when your head doesn't want to co-operate anymore ;-)

I'm okay with earning a little on Steemit, but now and then, I can't help but check the job market. LinkedIn sends me interesting jobs from time to time, but they are all full-time, yuck!

Hope you get well soon and I think you still need to see the doctor even though they might tell you same thing just try and see one, always good to get professional advice on such cases.

Get well soon best wishes and speed recovery

Herkenbaar, zelf ook last van.....sterkte

Wat vervelend dat jij er ook last van hebt. Ik hoop niet te vaak!

Very nice post about migraine.
Ah- I never knew u know about cryptos!
And maybe should call u playfulcryptofoodie :D

There are so many online options and even a few work from home type things you can do. There is even opportunity creating websites or selling old crypto addresses on freelancer as example: https://www.xbtfreelancer.com/prj/8323/buying-old-empty-btc-ltc-doge-adresses

Taking a full time position may not help you or the employer.

Ooh, I didn't know about that site yet, thanks. It looks kind of like Upwork, but completely crypto related :-)

Yeah, for now I'm focussing on Steemit, which gives me a little bit. I'm also selling pictures and designs, though I'm not paying for advertisement yet, so I don't sell much.

Poor you:( My hubby has migraines too, and I see how horrible it is. He can't see anything when it attacks, and he's sick all the time... And yes, doctors can't say anything worthy too, just like in your case. They said nothing about exercises, but more about just having some pills. We still have no idea what exactly provokes them:(

He can't see anything when it attacks

Oh that sounds horrible! I'm lucky I don't have any side effect like that. Just the usual nausea and extra sensitivity to light, sound and smell. I hope he'll eventually find a way to avoid them!

What I hate about migraines is that sometimes it's a pure migraine, sometimes it's an indicator to stress or menstrual cycle, and sometimes it's my neuralgia acting up again and it's just the nerves that are bunched up. So the solutiong to help ease each of these is different, I sometimes just look at the calendar to rule the PMS one out, and then I combine the two others' solutions to help ease it lol

Hope you feel better btw.

What I hate about migraines is that sometimes it's a pure migraine, sometimes it's an indicator to stress or menstrual cycle

Yes, that's exactly it! For me this time was a combination I guess. Stress and menstrual cycle. There's still a couple of days for the menstrual cycle to give me another migraine, but I'm hoping I got the worst of it yesterday.

Thank you, I feel better today, just tired now :-)

Oh, well that's good to know. And hopefully it passes.

verry cool story thank....

This is a very beautiful photography, Marian. In my opinion, this is even a great art! Do you still have works in this style? I think it's worth continuing.

picture_60_by_mysty_spirit-d30c2qb.jpg

Aww thank you so much for that compliment! I have one or two other pictures in this style, but I haven't done a lot with my photography lately. I do hope I get new inspiration to pick it back up once we move to our new house soon. I hope I get more rest there and with the beautiful area, I should get some inspiration to take pictures again!

Your comment reminded me to upload this picture to my shop, because I hadn't done so yet! Thanks for that :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94