You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An update to my pug who got necrotizing meningoencephalitis

in #blog6 years ago

I'm sorry for your loss. I'm glad you were able to do right by him, an aunt of mine had a dog that suffered a severe stroke, poor thing suffered for 3 months before she came to terms with reality and let him go.

Regardless, your dog was lucky to have you.

Sort:  

Thanks. It can often be really difficult to make the decision to euthanize a dog, and I don't think it's uncommon for people to postpone it until a point where the veterinarians think it's way too late. I'm sure your aunt did what she believed was best, even though everyone else probably saw that it would be better off to be put down.

True, I'd say it serves as a pretty good reminder of the importance of medical objectivity, particularly in regards to end of life options. Often times we can love something/someone so much we end up causing them harm due to a refusal to let go.

Yeah, absolutely. I feel like some vets are a bit "afraid" to tell owners that it's time to put the pet down, but this might just be a regional thing. Because a professional medical opinion should be worth taking into account when making such a choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70