You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Cook Anything With A Cast Iron Pan

in #blog5 years ago

I use mine every day! We got it for a wedding present over four decades ago! They do last well, LOL! I have recovered several older, damaged ones, and got them cleaned up and seasoned.

I have found that an inductive cook top works Very well with cast iron! It heats up much quicker than on a gas stove. Try it, you will like it!

:)>

Sort:  

induction cooks tops are quite impressive but I'll admit I prefer cooking over a flame. We are off grid and someone gifted us an induction cook top. It really is quite impressive - I've never seen water boil so fast. That said, it draws too much electricity and causes us problems so we aren't able to use it.

Yes, they are the perfect heirloom, that will last for generations! SO glad to hear from another cast iron enthusiast! :)

We are moving off grid also. We have already purchased the land, and I am doing repairs on the house that is there. I plan a zero net house. I will be putting in a significant system based on Li-Ion batteries, with solar and wind charging them. I will have a generator as backup.

I will be running 24 volt at 1,000 amps on the battery, to start, and plan to add as the batteries come available. I have 2500 watts of panels, but I plan on doubling that, once on site. The wind generator will be 1700 watts with and average of 600 watts with local average wind velocity. I will double that too, once out there. Dump loads will preheat incoming water for the hot water system.

My inductive cook top allows me to select the wattage used, and I plan to run it at 1200 watts. I will have a propane system with a tankless heater for hot water, and a stove for cooking, but this propane stove will be backup only. I will have a wood stove as emergency heat and cooking, for SHTF situations.

BUT you are so right, I really love cast iron! Makes the BEST cornbread ever! We make eggs, and turkey bacon every morning in the cast iron, ROFLOL! I recently found, and recovered a rusty old skillet, and it is, as expected, perfect!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97