How To Cook Anything With A Cast Iron Pan

in #blog5 years ago


A good old-fashioned cast iron pan is one of the most useful items a cook can own. Not only are cast iron pans cheap and versatile, but they will last for generations. Cooking with cast iron is easy, although there are a few secrets that will make your life easier.


Did you know ...

studies have shown that most foods increased in iron content by being cooked in cast iron cookware, some significantly so. If you are looking to increase the amount of iron in your diet, cooking with cast iron could help.

Start with a properly seasoned pan

Firstly, make sure you’ve got a good cooking surface, on whatever cast iron pan you happen to be using. With new pans this is really easy because you can purchase them pre-seasoned.

If the pan is rusty, or the seasoning has come off, you’re obviously going to have poor results. If your pan is in need of maintenance, or re-seasoning, do it!

Re-reasoning is as simple as cleaning off the pan with some steel wool, coating it thinly with oil, and baking it at 350 for about an hour. Vegetable oil is a common choice, although others may be used. Whatever you use, be sure the oil has a high smoke point. Olive oil is not a good choice, for this reason.

The Three Factors: The Pan, Heat, Oil

Three factors combine to make cast iron so great to cook off of: the cooking surface of the pan, the cooking oil (or butter) you add, and the temperature. If you combine these three elements in the right combination, you’re sure to enjoy a highly slick cooking surface, one that will make you wonder why you ever used anything else.

  1. Start with a well seasoned pan.
  2. Add heat: bring it up to temperature!
  3. Add oil: bring on the slickness.

You should be able to cook perfect eggs (of any kind) in a cast iron pan, and eggs are a great way to ensure you’ve got the technique down properly. There should be no sticking whatsoever. Heat the pan, heat the oil and add the food. If the pan is hot enough and sufficient oil is used, you’ll be rewarded with a completely non-stick cooking surface.

If you are having problems with your cast iron pan, for example, things are sticking on you, you’ve messed up on one of the factors. Either your pan is not seasoned well, your temperature is not high enough, or you do not have enough oil in the pan. Proper cast iron, used properly, does not stick at all. If you’re having nightmares with it, you’re doing something wrong.


Know your Cast Iron Myths

There are all sorts of ideas out there about cast iron: some of it accurate, some of it not. For example, people are told to avoid soapy water, lest it damage the finish. Is this true? Yes and no. A little soap is not the end of the world but leaving your pan to sit in soapy water will turn into a problem.

Is it bad to leave cast iron wet?

Absolutely. When you’re done, clean it, dry it and coat it with a thin layer of oil. This will keep it rust free until you next use it. Whatever you do, never wash a cast iron pan in a dishwasher. If you do, you'll end up having to re-season it.

Can acidic foods hurt cast iron?

Yes, acidic foods can eat away at your seasoning, and can acquire a bit of a metallic taste.This is often because the pan is new, and has not developed a nice think seasoning yet. As the pan gets older it is better able to handle acidity however a good alternative if you cook a lot of tomato based or acidic foods is using a enamelled cast iron pan instead.

Is old cast iron better than new cast iron?

Heck yes it is. Back in the day, a nicer finishing process was used and pans tended to be even more non-stick than today, and often lighter. It doesn’t make a huge difference, and I absolutely love my modern Lodge pans, but if you have the option of old vs. new, get old!

Can I get the pan too hot?

Yes it absolutely can, and if you leave it too hot for too long your seasoning will be ruined. Be particularly careful if you’re cooking over a camp fire, or with a very high power stove. It’s pretty hard to ruin a cast iron pan. You would need to have the pan very hot, for an extended period of time but it can be done, especially over a campfire when your attention may be elsewhere!

Cast Iron Cookware: The Only Cookware You'll EVER Need!

Use if for Everything!

You can saute, simmer, bake, broil, sear: you name it, your cast iron can handle it. Learn what your pan can do, and put it to work as much as possible. The more you use your cast, the better your seasoning becomes.

There are dishes that absolutely must be cooked in cast iron: anything less will provide inferior results. Always use cast iron for corn bread, burgers, blackened fish, steaks, scallops and charred vegetables. Oh, and Pomme Anna!

Don’t be afraid of the Smoke

When you sear meats at high temperature, you are going to generate a lot of smoke. This is unavoidable, and with the high heat you can attain with a cast iron pan, you may experience levels of smoke that you have never seen before. Don’t worry: smoke is a good sign!

One of the big benefits of cast iron is the ability to get it really hot for exactly such purposes. So, go ahead and fill that kitchen with smoke: make your extractor work for a living.

---

Cast iron is wonderful, all around. It’s really hard to go wrong with, especially once you know a few of the secrets. And now you know a bunch of them! So get out there, and get cooking with cast iron.

If you'd like to learn more about cooking with cast iron you might also like:

Save

Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/how-to-cook-anything-with-a-cast-iron-pan/
Sort:  

I hope all the useful hints you wrote of encourage more people to find and use cast iron ware!

That egg dish, oh it looks so good! It's making me hungry and I've got 2 hours before I can make noise...

That photo isn't mine, it came from upsplash - I credited it on my website but using steempress I am not quite getting everything perfect. I'll have to fix that. I does look delicious! I've already got it in my head that I am going to bake it today so I can do my own original photo (and mostly so I can eat it).

Gosh you are up early. I would be making noise - I can't help it. Our house is like a big play house with no walls or doors in our bedroom, more of a loft and creeky floors. When we have guests there is a lot of giggling because of snoring (not me) and such.

The first 8 years in this house we had no interior doors, not even on the bathroom. :))

I am usually up early like that. It's when I can write posts, do paperwork, and other quiet things that require a brain.

Haha I snore if I have too much wine...

oh my gosh, you'd be out in the shed with everyone else then! (haha - kidding). I've discovered that everyone snores (even if they say their don't) four legged fur babies included. Sometimes it is a symphony around here when we have a full house.

I wish I'd had this much information when I got my first iron pan. I ended up learning most of it by trial and error. I've only every had new, so they got better with use.

Do you need to treat the bottom of the pan? I've noticed mine has started looking a bit rust coloured underneath.

oh gosh I know what you mean. My son bought me my first cast iron pan, he was just a little boy and his dad took him Christmas shopping to an old general store. I abused that pan something terrible because I had no idea what I was doing, and I hated using it -- until I had that magical aha moment and then everything changed. That little pan is still busy working for me despite the early abuse.

Great question! Its something I hadn't really considered. I usually oil the whole pan, including bottom when I store them and when I season them so I do rub oil on the whole pan quite often. If you use it fairly often, I think if you gave it a gentle scrubbing, oiled it and then baked with it, over time the bottom would build up a good finish again without you having to re-season it.

I'll do that. It isn't badly rusted, so a quick scrub should suffice. I avoided doing it because I was worried about it smoking.

if you keep the oil nice and light and rub it in well with a cloth, it should be fine.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This material is awesome!!!
I have something of similar at my grandmother's house and of I remember I will write a post about it or about a recipe.
I love food, but I really like knowing about food culture.
It is great and Steem Blockchain is a beautiful place to do that!
STEEM ON!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

OH please do! The more people sharing about cast iron, the better! Food culture is so fascinating, I really enjoy immersing myself in that as well.

Thanks for the encouragement - much appreciated!

It depends on finding that!
I have not any idea on where it can be🤔
I have to ask to my mum!
I will tag you if I will find something and I will write a post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

OOOOH, what's in the pot?

Your right the older pans are much lighter and thinner, and even more importantly they a smother and very non stick when they are cared for properly. I like using lard on cast iron. I have an old old Wangner and love it it is about 70 to 90 years old.

I use mine every day! We got it for a wedding present over four decades ago! They do last well, LOL! I have recovered several older, damaged ones, and got them cleaned up and seasoned.

I have found that an inductive cook top works Very well with cast iron! It heats up much quicker than on a gas stove. Try it, you will like it!

:)>

induction cooks tops are quite impressive but I'll admit I prefer cooking over a flame. We are off grid and someone gifted us an induction cook top. It really is quite impressive - I've never seen water boil so fast. That said, it draws too much electricity and causes us problems so we aren't able to use it.

Yes, they are the perfect heirloom, that will last for generations! SO glad to hear from another cast iron enthusiast! :)

We are moving off grid also. We have already purchased the land, and I am doing repairs on the house that is there. I plan a zero net house. I will be putting in a significant system based on Li-Ion batteries, with solar and wind charging them. I will have a generator as backup.

I will be running 24 volt at 1,000 amps on the battery, to start, and plan to add as the batteries come available. I have 2500 watts of panels, but I plan on doubling that, once on site. The wind generator will be 1700 watts with and average of 600 watts with local average wind velocity. I will double that too, once out there. Dump loads will preheat incoming water for the hot water system.

My inductive cook top allows me to select the wattage used, and I plan to run it at 1200 watts. I will have a propane system with a tankless heater for hot water, and a stove for cooking, but this propane stove will be backup only. I will have a wood stove as emergency heat and cooking, for SHTF situations.

BUT you are so right, I really love cast iron! Makes the BEST cornbread ever! We make eggs, and turkey bacon every morning in the cast iron, ROFLOL! I recently found, and recovered a rusty old skillet, and it is, as expected, perfect!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94