Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 05/07/18 > I think it is all behind us now… for a while anyway.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Great news folks this should be the last daily dose for the foreseeable future that will have anything to do with the sultnpapper offspring, I know that it can get pretty old pretty quick having an old guy like me keep posting stories about his kids. But think of it like this, when I am posting about the kids I’m not usually ranting about how screwed up things are in the rest of the places I visit like law, government, and the education system.

So the truth is, the kids do kind of keep it “fair and balanced”, where have you heard that before?

Sunday, the confirmation ceremony at the church went off without a hitch as far as I am aware of. This class of 2018 confirmation members was the 144th class to be confirmed into the church, which is a whole bunch of classes since 1872. Also I know there a couple people who just love to try and catch me in a screw up, especially on my math, so if you are going to do math on this one let me help you.

2018 – 144 = 1874 , “OH MY LORD”, he did screw up. He said the church was founded in 1872 not 1874.” the critics are shouting. Yes, I did say 1872 and the math shows 1874 but here is what you don’t know.

In order to be confirmed into the Lutheran Church a person must take two years of confirmation classes. So when the church first founded in 1872 the first confirmation classes did start. Two years later those folks were confirmed into the church in 1874 and because new classes are formed each year there has been a confirmation class every year since then.
So for my critics out there who are looking to bust me, today is not the day.

One thing though that I will point out is that for any group to last 146 years is pretty remarkable. There are not many businesses that a person could point to that have lasted 146 years in the same location doing basically the exact same thing for that amount of time. Also before you go and tell me that a church is not a “business” and that is an unfair comparison I would beg to differ on that.

Normally we don’t think of churches as businesses but they are in fact a business. Most operate as a non-profit business but they are business none the less, and that business is spreading the word of God. I will also tell you that I really don’t believe that most churches are “non-profit” , just take a look around on the television any Sunday morning and see the mega churches on there and how much cash those folks are raking in on a weekly basis.

We have one of those mega churches right here in the Houston area with Lakewood Church and pastor Joel Oesteen. I think I saw recently that his home is worth a measly $10 million and takes up damn near an entire city block. His church is also located on some prime real estate on Hwy 59 right in one of the most expensive commercial areas, the building is the former home of the Houston Rockets basketball team and was known back then as the “Compaq Center” named for Compaq Computers who paid a pretty healthy chunk of change for the naming rights to that building.

I never have really looked into what constitutes a “non-profit” but something seems out of whack when these churches can pass around the collection plate and then turn around and use those moneys to enhance the life styles of the church hierarchy to levels even modest millionaires can’t achieve. Lakewood Church is a non denominational church so everyone is welcome, why limit whom you will take money from, right Joel?

Also by being non- denominational he doesn’t have to pay any “franchise fees” to a main religious organization like the Catholics, Southern Baptists, Greek Orthodox or even the Lutheran church. The collection plate money at Lakewood Church is theirs to do as they see fit with, no main church coming by on Monday with their hands out looking for their piece of the till.

As some of you know, and others might have detected, I have gotten off track again. I have been doing good of late staying on point but this one has slipped off the rails, but I am the engineer of the ride so we are pressing on. I’ll get back to the main point in a moment.

I think I might make a good preacher, I can do fire and brimstone if need be, and I may have uncovered an opportunity as I have been writing this daily dose. I am going to look into starting my own non-denominational denominational church right here on the steemit.com platform, The Church of Sult N Papper , the denomination will be Steem, of course you can also deposit SBD in the collection plate, which is also known as my wallet.

In return I will do my best to save your soul or spirit or whatever else you have that needs saving. Who knows I may have to save the world some day so it would be best if I got a pretty big wad of crypto to work with, so just in case, I also have a bitshares wallet if there is some other denomination you would like to tithe with.

I promise as the pastor of The Church of Sult N Papper I will keep expenses to a minimum and I won’t be buying any huge arenas to hold services, buildings don’t save souls; @sultnpapper does. I also know how to flavor bland foods so I can make your tithing experience a flavorful one. So look for my formal announcement coming soon as I look forward to starting The Church of Sult N Papper, we won’t judge you by how you dress so you can come as you are every Sunday morning, even if you are naked it’s no problem because your wallet and mine are only a couple clicks away.

All right I’m back now. So everything went well at the service, Blondie is an official member of the church. We had a great dinner at the local Italian restaurant to celebrate; complete with some good Vino and garlic knots, love those little garlic knots. Everyone had plenty to eat of their choice and our two waiters got a nice tip at the end, so I think everyone ended up happy and full.

I ended up on the couch an hour later and got a much needed nap, in fact I missed the Sunday poker game as I slept right past the start time. This should be the last time you hear about confirmation for 2018 unless the minister doesn’t return Blondie’s paper she wrote, then both you and he will hear about it. He has already heard today, and he promised that the office staff would copy it for the church archives and return the original so we shall see. I hope for his sake he wasn’t lying to me.

One thing that was different with this 144th confirmation service was that no member read their paper at our service, not sure about the nine o clock service, but I was surprised about that. His sermon did reference a couple things that Blondie had in her paper and Blondie said that when he touched on those he looked her directly in the eyes. My wife said she recognized those words too, I got that as well when she jabbed me in the ribs, I didn’t know at the time for sure but I knew I hadn’t done anything that I needed to be jabbed for; as I was paying attention. So I kind of figured that was what it was.

You all have a blessed week, go in peace and see you back here soon. Amen.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

All photos are property of : @sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

I am all in favour of saving souls. Sole, on the other hand, goes off if you save it. It should be cooked and eaten within 2 days of catching. Try not to mix them up; your parishioners might not like it if you poach their souls.

I'm not all that keen on the fire and brimstone preaching. It has its place, I am not saying it doesn't, but don't overdo it. I am for "peace, love and all that hippie shit," to steal a phrase from @moderndayhippie.

Here are some suggested sermon titles:
Make love, not war.
Love thy neighbour.
All you need is love.
Flush twice, it's a long way to Washington.

My official name with titles is Reverend Doctor Catweasel. Please note that I earned those titles, I did not buy them, unlike some of your so-called Christian millionaires. So, if you have need of a genuine Reverend Doctor with fur, I am your feline mustelid.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I'll keep all that in mind but I may not be going the church route after all, I didn't realize that steemit already has steemchurch and I'd hate to take anything away from those folks because I met one of them and he seems like a real good fellow who is in it for the right reasons, in fact I need to go back by his post and invite him over to @thesteemengine we might could use a little gospel every now and then over there.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.36$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations to Blondie on her milestone! 😊 I will be happy to help if The Church of Sult N Papper should need a logo or other graphic needs! 😉

I appreciate the offer and the congratulations for Blondie, I pass that on to her. Well see about the church, still wrestling with that one.

LOL!! don't get me started on nonprofit churches... cough....Billy Graham....sputter....LOL! Sounds like your Lady keeps you on your toes...good for her!! Have a great one!

Thanks. I think that Deacon Bigtom and I will change peoples minds on preaching, and tithing as we launch the new non-denominational The Church of Sult N Papper , so stay tuned for updates.

Bill Graham, on the other hand, founded two very fine churches which support their communities. The Filmore and the Filmore East, to be precise. Possible more as well, I understand there are other Filmore music venues. Blatantly for profit, and yet nobody wound up with $10 million mansions. Funny, that.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I sure hope Blondie gets her original paper back. I don't see why the church needs to keep her work anyway. It is odd that the church has held onto it this long. Why couldn't he have copied it earlier? I am sure they have a photocopier and someone knows how to run it...

Your guess is as good as mine on why it is taking this long. We'll see...

So. I have a question. As with all my questions, this one is serious.

If I sign up early enough for your church can I get in on the receiving part with out so much on the giving part? I'd be pretty interested.

I have some qualifications. I spent much of my life working for non-profits, though that isn't exactly how I'd hoped they might turn out. It's been a while, but I suspect I could whip up on the fire and brimstone if needed. And my father named me with the idea that I might be a preacher cause his best friend in HS was the son of a preacher who was killed in WWII. Turns out the name wasn't anywhere near enough to overcome the inertia of my life...

I'm glad Blondie got confirmed in good order, and that there was relative peace and harmony on the way there.

Of course you can Tom. I will have to save some souls for free to get started so, just like any business I'll have some "hell of a great" specials when I get started, even a few free. So, then when I do expand and take on associates to help run the church naturally I'll want to have those folks be people I'm familiar with so getting to The Church of Sult N Papper early would be a great advantage with a potential big payoff if things go according to the good Lord's plan. I have a vision that some day I will move from the printed word of God to the spoken word, and when I do I will need an assistant associate pastor to help when we have a Sunday morning Gospel hour over on the Steem Star radio network. Can I get AMEN,? I said, CAN I GET AN AMEN?
AMEN BROTHERS AND SISTERS!!!!
So, the answer to your question is YES, AMEN yes, hallelujah.

You guys are plumb crazy, you know?

You make it sound like that is a bad thing, being "plumb crazy" @enchantedspirit . Of course we know we are crazy, we're not stupid.
We are crazy about helping people connect with Lord and disconnect from that evil substance called money. We are just being transparent with our approach, unlike all those churches and preachers. The blockchain is all about transparency, so we are just getting out front on that so none can accuse us later of trying to hide things. People can tithe with confidence in the Church of Sult N Papper and know with great certainty that their offerings will be appreciated and used wisely, not for lavish mansions, jet planes, expensive automobiles and such.
Speaking of transparency, I forgot to mention why I have chosen southwest Texas for the physical location. I had thought about central Texas, just outside of Waco, but the last preacher who set up his church around there named David Koresh proved that the Baptist's in that area didn't appreciate the competition and we all know how that turned out. So I figure that the foothills of the Davis mountains in the south west part will be a good place, barely anyone lives in that area, plus the land isn't real expensive down there yet.

AMEN! AMEN!

Mark Twain was particularly fond of the 11th hour conversions, but I'm thinking we'd want to get started a little earlier while they still have some earning potential left...

Well , hallelujah, I've gotten my first AMEN! AMEN! as a preacher, I am almost speechless, almost. So while I can still get a few thoughts and words out, I guess I didn't realize just how desperate a situation we have at hand here. With that in mind I am going to ordain you as a Deacon in The Church of Sult N Papper, "You are hereby ordained Bigtom as Deacon of the nondenominational The Church of Sult N Papper , with all the blessing, rights, and privileges as determined by the Pastor Sult N Papper. As I proclaim, so shall it be. Amen.", by @sultnpapper.
Welcome to the fold, Deacon Bigtom.
Our first sermon and service will be conducted this coming Sunday right here on steemit.com.
We need to come up with a church motto, I was thinking maybe something like, "The Church of Sult N Papper , where religion is really as simple as black and white." How does that sound?

Amen. Amen. I am proud and pleased to be the first Deacon.

I have a small problem with the slogan, though. If it's as simple as black and white they might figure out that they don't really need the Pastor and the Deacon. I think it needs to be so complex that it takes experts to translate it.

Is it time to pass he plate yet?

Quite the opposite Deacon , people now don't know black from white, everything now is grey, I've heard there are like 50 Shades of Grey, so we have a lot to do to get people where they can understand simple things again, in easy to understand terms. My intent will be to make the word where even the people who work in Star Bucks can understand it. Plus, I will leave big blank spaces at the ends of the sermons where they can draw pictures like they do on the coffee cups so they won't feel intimidated.
I think we wait on passing the plate quite yet, since we will be continuously circulating it throughout the congregation during church services, my calculations have determined they will have at least three times during each service where they can contribute. But might want to get a BIG PLATTER, not some little collection plate.

Well, now you know. That right there is why you are the Pastor and I am the Deacon. You see, I took your words at face value with out once taking into account the 50 shades of gray between, let alone the anatomy. That ought to be complex enough to guarantee success.

We might want something that looks like a spaghetti pot to send around. It'd be a crying shame if they didn't have room for their donations. Wouldn't want to deprive anybody of their God given right to contribute.

Yes, even what seems like would be cut and dried is no where near that now days. I think that when we start , we just go to page one and start working our way through the book. And as we get it all straighten out , then we will publish a new and improved version of the good book. I checked today, there are only 50 different versions of the bible printed in English, I'm sure there is room for one more. And for an extra donation we can personally autograph them on the inside cover.

Apurba church

Not familiar with "Apurba Church" , can you explain or clue me in on it ?

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95