My new favourite tool that has greatly increased my wellbeing and overall life!

in #blog6 years ago

Good morning Steemit! I wasn't planning on writing an article this morning but well, let's just say I couldn't restrain myself, this will be a quicky. 😅

Yesterday a good friend of mind introduced me to a tool - in particular a Google Chrome extension tool - that have gave me such an amazing life boost that it deserves its own article right now (if you're not using Chrome, perhaps there are similar extensions for other browsers).

The tool is named...

drum rolls..

Death Clock

...and what does it do?

Every time you open a new tab in your web browser you will be presented by not only a magnificent photograph, but also the count of your expected days left to live based on your birthdate.

Contemplating death in itself - and how powerful that practice is - deserves an article of its own, but in essence, the second you start to think about your own mortality, it affects and changes the way that you live.

So every time I open up a new tab, I feel a sense of meaning and importance - I feel grateful - it gets me questioning everything from what I am doing at that particular day to my direction in life. Ironically it even gets me questioning the reason why I'm opening a new tab at all.

Am I living my life to the fullest at this particular moment?

A perfect example happened just yesterday. I was studying macroeconomics when I received a message whether I wanted to grab a cup of coffee at a place nearby me, a friend was in town. Maybe some of you might be surprised that my usual response is no, to these kind of requests.

I am good at saying no and I usually guard my 'hustle time' with my life - which needless to say has its upsides but also many downsides.

So at that time I opened a new tab and saw my death clock. Looking at the seconds ticking down I just thought 'fuck it', I put on my jacket and headed down for a short 45 min coffee before heading home again to finish my studies.

And I'm so grateful I was nudged into making that decision.

Anyways, that was just a short anecdote, but the essence of this article is:

Life is short. Make the most of it. Make every second count.

Previous Popular Articles

Freewrite : The Power of Momentum
Better You #8 : Ancient Truths that will Revolutionize Your Modern Life
Better You #7 : Increase Your Social Intelligence - How to Deal with People.
Better You #6 : How to Deal with Failure
Better You #5 : How to Become a Professional and Conquer Resistance.

Sort:  

Dyin's easy ... it's living that's the challenge. Dyin is like pullin' away from one port hole peep show crossing the street behind you that you were unaware of and moving on to somethin' new. State of mind is key. But what the hell do I know? JMO Kool app.

Haha love it, living is a real challenge indeed 🙌🏼

Wonderful post.
I appreciate your blog.
Thanks for sharing this post.....Resteemit...

Thank you my friend 🙏🏼

Most welcome !!!

Outstanding blog..
Your post gift us genarel knowledge incrase. Your New thinking give us new blog wrighting inspire.

Thank you brother, happy to have you onboard🙏🏼

We try to avoid thinking about death. But thinking about it would change mentalities. Not just for the good.

Thank you for your comment and input @stadex, I am a firm believer although that facing death and embracing its presence comes with way more perks than defects both for an individual and society as whole 🙏🏼

thats a unique way to open new tab on chrome...

Oh yes 🙏🏼

not sure if I want to be reminded all the time but it is a good way.

What I did like to do was to have a bell on my phone which went off every hour to remind me to reflect and being a bit greatful for a couple of seconds.
I think that would work for me here, too.

As sometimes we just need an outside factor to remind us of certain things in life.

Don't worry brother, we'll make a custom plugin for you where you'll be faced with a gratitude reminder and once a week you'll get the death reminder 😉

Agreed 100%, at least for me personally it works like a charm, I often use my phone background as well if I want to be reminded of a message 🤟🏼

I don't know if I should add this or not.. The good side is you will make the most of your days and not be fearful of the small things. Death is a good reminder to live our lives!!!

I challenge you to try it out 😉
What downsides to you see? 😊

None just upsides!! I often talk about the benefits of death.. Thanks @williamwest!

That is an awesome extension! A big part of the reason I followed my passion for art is because I know I'll die. At 31 years old, I lost a job I'd had for 10 years when the company closed, and I decided that was it - time to go after my dreams. Now I work full time as an artist :)

^This, love it brother!

Often in the face of such an event or adversity the most powerful transformations occur, thumbs up for being an inspiration to many!

It's not always easy but it's always more rewarding than working a 9-5 for a shitty corporation that doesn't care about me

Yep, sucks to be a cog in a wheel 🙏🏼

damnn that's a great add-on for your browser. If you don't have the motivation that day this will help out for sure!

Do u got a link for me to download this or do i just have to google for "death clock" And u got another follower mate.

Yeah it's the bomb 💣

Google "chrome death clock" and you have it as top option!

Thank you brother, glad to have you onboard!

Very interesting concept.

Death is such an important topic...

Often it is so removed from our consciousness that it doesn't even make the list of topics to avoid in conversation.

I personally don't wish to use a death clock, but I do think folks need to think about death more, talk about it more.

Thanks for doing just that.

Great comment, I agree 100%, great to see you around here on the blog my friend 🙏🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60998.57
ETH 2912.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65