You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Herland - a Female Utopia Audiobook Review

in #book5 years ago

Come on, there must be also good books on the topic...Even that early.

Of course, I shall assume it might be better than what I think of the plot right now. Also, not easy pioneering and then living up to standards 100 years from your time.

Did you find it a good read/listen?

Sort:  

There are quite a bit of feminist novels from that period. I am not sure if they are science fiction or not.
I found it was a good book because it made me think a lot. However some of the debate was beyond me because they were debated on dated principles of 100 years ago. For example practicing eugenics and refusing to let people who aren't perfectly fit have reproductive rights is now frowned upon. Also, the concept that men are responsible for all social ills has been debunked. Back then the all controlling patriarchy may have been a good theory, but now the idea just comes off as sexist.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I'm a spoiled reader, for sure. Still, I can appreciate ideas and original thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77