You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Reads: 12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson.

in #books6 years ago

For past one year I have had so many people recommend this book. From what I hear this have had a major following and young men are at the fore front.

I am a fan of the professor and for past one year have listened to many of his lecture videos and countless other assorted videos of his. It is a treat to follow his mind and logic as he paves the way for it.

That being said, this is the first time I have seen somebody recommending it on Steemit. That combined with the fact that I have been following you for past few weeks and have seen nothing but quality content from you. I have decided to give this book try.

(Apart from my academic work and scientific content I rarely read non-fiction)

Sort:  

I also have listened to Peterson for about one year. If you have listened many of his materials then you will be familiar with much of these principles. Still it was worthwhile to consider his thoughts clarified with intention into a book targeted towards the general reader (especially given the significance of the message).

And thanks for the compliment - I always look forward to your thoughtful comments @hashcash.

If it retains my interest I would have no problem with repeated ideas. In fact I have a tendency of re-reading multiple times, the books that I like :-)

......Thanks man!

I agree. I haven't read it yet, but this mention on Steemit puts it higher on my "books to be read" list.

Same here. That and the fact that professor knows his stuff

Definitely a good move in my opinion. The most rewarding thing about Peterson is how he leads to a larger network of great writers like Nietzche, Freud, and Jung. If this sounds interesting to you then I would love to hear what other books you are reading.

Not so long ago it was my ambition to create a "recommended book list" of my top picks here on Steemit and for use elsewhere. I've "shelved" that project for now, but it is still holds interest for me.

The subjects of my reading vary. Though I most often read non-fiction. A good amount of personal development and business books. I'm reading "The Lord Of The Rings" by Tolkien to my children aloud. The last book I finished was "The Richest Man In Babylon", I haven't yet written here on Steemit about my takeaway from that book. I currently have "The Bulletproof Diet" in progress, but I'm not as aggressive about finishing it (more reading a chapter here or there when I want to take a break from other things).

Hope that gives you a little insight, though it's not a big picture overview of my reading preferences.

A Steemit Bookshelf sounds like a great idea. A book club where people can be incentivized to contribute value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69