Good Reads: 12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson.

in #books6 years ago (edited)

jp.jpg
12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos is Dr. Jordan Peterson’s most accessible published book. True to title, Peterson lays out 12 instructions for living well. Gleaned from ancient traditional stories and writers like Fyodor Dostoyevsky and C.G. Jung. The striking quality about these rules is their apparent universal applicability. Modern Western culture shares many values with ancient Egyptian, even if a majority of any particular community is unconscious of the effects these invisible forces on social connections and the fabric of civilization itself.

To oversimplify 12 Rules, much of Being is experienced between the duality of chaos and order. And the same for other meta-dualities like good and evil. “The line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being.” - Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn The Gulag Archipelago. Humanity has capacity for great good, but also the capacity for evil. Peterson articulates each and every Rule in a satisfying scientific style. His attitude toward seeking the truth is genuine in the most rewarding way for a reader.

Sort:  

"if you speak falsely, you speak hell into being and that’s the truth!" This is the quote by Dr Peterson which I like the most.

Yes Brother it is a great quote i think which was told by Dr Peterson. I also like this quote. I like Dr peterson for that book also.

For past one year I have had so many people recommend this book. From what I hear this have had a major following and young men are at the fore front.

I am a fan of the professor and for past one year have listened to many of his lecture videos and countless other assorted videos of his. It is a treat to follow his mind and logic as he paves the way for it.

That being said, this is the first time I have seen somebody recommending it on Steemit. That combined with the fact that I have been following you for past few weeks and have seen nothing but quality content from you. I have decided to give this book try.

(Apart from my academic work and scientific content I rarely read non-fiction)

I also have listened to Peterson for about one year. If you have listened many of his materials then you will be familiar with much of these principles. Still it was worthwhile to consider his thoughts clarified with intention into a book targeted towards the general reader (especially given the significance of the message).

And thanks for the compliment - I always look forward to your thoughtful comments @hashcash.

If it retains my interest I would have no problem with repeated ideas. In fact I have a tendency of re-reading multiple times, the books that I like :-)

......Thanks man!

I agree. I haven't read it yet, but this mention on Steemit puts it higher on my "books to be read" list.

Same here. That and the fact that professor knows his stuff

Definitely a good move in my opinion. The most rewarding thing about Peterson is how he leads to a larger network of great writers like Nietzche, Freud, and Jung. If this sounds interesting to you then I would love to hear what other books you are reading.

Not so long ago it was my ambition to create a "recommended book list" of my top picks here on Steemit and for use elsewhere. I've "shelved" that project for now, but it is still holds interest for me.

The subjects of my reading vary. Though I most often read non-fiction. A good amount of personal development and business books. I'm reading "The Lord Of The Rings" by Tolkien to my children aloud. The last book I finished was "The Richest Man In Babylon", I haven't yet written here on Steemit about my takeaway from that book. I currently have "The Bulletproof Diet" in progress, but I'm not as aggressive about finishing it (more reading a chapter here or there when I want to take a break from other things).

Hope that gives you a little insight, though it's not a big picture overview of my reading preferences.

A Steemit Bookshelf sounds like a great idea. A book club where people can be incentivized to contribute value.

What are the rules of principle?

Principle a fundamental truth or proposition that serves as the foundation for a system of belief or behavior or for a chain of reasoning.

The rule of law is the principle that law should govern a nation, as opposed to being governed by decisions of individual government officials.

The rule of law is the "authority and influence of law in society, especially when viewed as a constraint on individual and institutional behavior, the principle whereby all members of a society (including those in government) are considered equally subject to publicly disclosed legal codes and processes"

Rule of law implies that every person is subject to the law, including people who are lawmakers, law enforcement officials, and judges.

A principle is a concept or value that is a guide for behavior or evaluation. In law, it is a rule that has to be, or usually is to be followed, or can be desirably followed, or is an inevitable consequence of something, such as the laws observed in nature or the way that a system is constructed. The principles of such a system are understood by its users as the essential characteristics of the system, or reflecting system's designed purpose, and the effective operation or use of which would be impossible if any one of the principles was to be ignored.

Rule of law implies that every person is subject to the law, including people who are lawmakers, law enforcement officials, and judges. In this sense, it stands in contrast to an autocracy, dictatorship, or oligarchy where the rulers are held above the law. Lack of the rule of law can be found in both democracies and dictatorships, for example because of neglect or ignorance of the law, and the rule of law is more apt to decay if a government has insufficient corrective mechanisms for restoring it. Government based upon the rule of law is called nomocracy.

Today Chaos

Bitshares_nu-Corporate_Finances-Open-Asset.jpg

Go Bitshares

Bitshares_nu-coincountry -Open-Asset.jpg

The rule of law is a real-world phenomenon. We interact through decentralized protocols governed by code. Interestingly, this difference means the space occupied by a subjective rule of law is collapsed into objective instructions that all can observe and be confident of their operation.

Long Live Rule of Code. Long Live Bitshares.

I don't know Dr Peterson's work, but as I trust you, I will give it a try. As I trust @hashcash, I will give it a double try. Thank you both for the exchange of interesting commentaries.

@ronaldovelino That is great. Are there any books in particular that you enjoy?

I love fantasy books. I started with Tolkien many years ago and I had never stopped reading science-fiction and fantasy. Between real books and kindle, I have more than 2,000 volumes of fantasy and science-fiction, almost all already read and some re-reads. I like books about Evolution Theory too.

The Lord of The Rings - thank you for reminding me I should read those again soon. It has been years. Have you read Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy?

Do you read non-fiction as well?

Yes,I read it. The Hitchhiker's is a classic one. About non-fiction I like to read the books by Stephen J. Gould and Richard Dawkings about evolutionary biology and books (not very deep) about Quantum Mechanics/Astrophysics. And you?

I like Richard Dawkins book - The Selfish Gene. First time I heard reference to "Meme" which has opened many doors of interesting inquiry.

I also love fantasy book and also like Richard Dawkins book. and the Hitchhiker is best classic one. Both of you are right.

Do you think that book is the another best one @john-robert???

I know some information related to Dr. Jordan Patterson's most accessible book. The 12 rules that he said really will benefit many people.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

He is a shyster going after men who have gotten themselves barred from standard society either financially or mentally who want some straightforward yet insightful sounding answers.

@ripon063. Jordan Peterson's number one principle is truth. He releases hundreds of hours of his lectures for free online. Does not sound too deceptive to me.

I hope you know the meaning of the word 'shyster'.

I am not trying to patronize but if you mean what you wrote then why would you resteem this post?

Who would you recommend this book to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55