You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Read the Three Body Problem

in #books6 years ago

I like to talk about it as a book constructed so that the conceit of Sid Meier's Civilization actually makes sense - they can proceed in building their society with an advance knowledge of the tech tree.

That's maybe not so useful, though. I didn't like it enough to read the other two.

Sort:  

I wonder if it has to do with a pretty contrived plot device that essentially boils down to being ridiculously overpowered and seems to leave it ripe for inconsistencies?

Posted using Partiko Android

What, are we suddenly talking about Foundation now?

I almost feel like I described something universal haha. Actually, as I've been reading the second book in the series, I think I would retract my comment. The device is still interesting enough.

I've seen it referenced enough that I'll probably end up reading it up. Probably when I get a flash sale for an ebook. @tcpolymath's description intrigued me. I know it's not like this, but I am picturing a bunch of technocrats yelling 'screw pottery, we are rushing to orbital space lasers!'

LOL. I need that book! I think I do know what he is referencing though. More prominent in the second book though.

Paging @blockurator for your next fiction prompt, see above.

I'll have to read the book. Sounds interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87