Adventures in Minimalism - Letting Go Of Books

in #books6 years ago (edited)

There's been a big craze for minimalism over the past few years.

Marie Kondo's Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up was on bestseller lists for months and months. The Minimalists blog turned into a book and then a film on Netflix. And Facebook groups started popping up where people could offer advice on how to de-clutter -- and shame their more possession-heavy peers.

All of these works are preaching the same message: get rid of your crap to make room for what really matters in your life.

I don't think there's any surprise why this should be a popular message right now. We've just been through the most feverishly productive century in human history. Many of the objects that once seemed scarce and precious are now ubiquitous. And folks of middle age and older that have spent their lives accumulating stuff are suddenly faced with the question of what to do with their parents' and grandparents' stuff.

Meanwhile housing costs are rising, so the younger set is learning that finding a place to keep all of your stuff is damned expensive.

50sShelves.jpg

In our particular case, I've spent the last several years dealing with the fallout from my grandparent's hoarding. On the one hand, we've found treasures like the Civil War Letters written by my ancestor. On the other, there was the "wrapping paper room," where my grandmother stored every scrap of wrapping paper from every gift she ever received since 1970, piled into a heap so tall we didn't even realize there was a bed underneath.

It's a wonder the place never burned down.

Combine this with the fact that we've moved every two years, and each move seemed to concentrate more clutter into a smaller space, and one day I just snapped and started throwing away as much as I could.

By weight and volume, books were the easiest place to start.

I'd spent the first half of my life acquiring as many books as I could, so I would have expected the process of getting rid of them to be more painful. But several factors combined to make it feel easy - even liberating.

We don't live in an age of information scarcity any more.

Growing up, books seemed like the most valuable thing there was. So many words - entire worlds - packed into these little volumes. And they were expensive. Sure, you could go to the library, but then you had to read in a hurry - and give them back! If I wanted to add a book to my own shelves, I had to mow a lawn or two, or babysit for the neighbors, and then convince my mother to drive me to the mall.

And bookstores sucked in the 1980s. Sparsely stocked shelves in dingy mall dives. There was no "follow your bliss" for readers in those days. It was "take what's in front of you and maybe you'll like it."

So is it any wonder that I tended to hoard books, buying in volume when we came across a decent used bookstore, or one of those "buck-a-book" places that sold remainders, or a yard sale?

Now I can get almost any book used on Amazon for a penny plus shipping, and have it in a couple of days. If it's available electronically I can have it even faster - and it doesn't take up any room!

The cost of storage is greater than the cost of acquisition.

The rent on our storage unit was just over $60/month. We rented one to store seasonal merchandise from our business. Then, as "life happened" and we hopped from house to house, it became a handy place to leave excess stuff - like books.

Thankfully we've managed to do without one of these depressing grey cubbyholes for several years now. But I thought a lot about that $60 as I was giving away the majority of my library. How many of these books was I ever going to read again? Maybe 20?

Maybe. In 23 years of adult life I've re-read three books. Even if I retired and did nothing but read, there's only a few books I'd want to go back to again - and most of those are classics available for free. (Moby Dick is on my list for this year.) So if we're generous say I tossed 20 books I'd like to read again, the cost of replacing those books with new copies would be under $400. In used or electronic form, I'll spend a quarter of that. That's a couple months' rent on a storage unit.

But what'll we read after the apocalypse... ?

A printed book provides independence. It's information preserved in physical form, and can only be deleted by fire. It's self-contained. All you need to read it is a source of light.

So why give them up? Wouldn't I be sorry if the internet went down, or if a solar flare fried the world's electronics? What if books become rare again, and expensive, and suddenly everybody wants them? At the very least, I'd be hanging on to a commodity.

Let's be honest. If events come to pass that render our modern access to books and information impossible, than reading for pleasure will be pretty far down on our list of daily activities. We'll be more interested in gathering firewood, patching up our chimney, and learning what kinds of rocks are safe to eat.

That's why I did save some practical books, like this set of Do It Yourself Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia.jpg

Written in the mid 1950s, they give lots of practical advice on how to do things by hand. The pages are dense with text, and the illustrations are absolutely charming. It's like a 12 volume comic book about keeping your house from falling down.

AirFilters.jpg

And yeah, we saved a lot of old hard-covers too. Moby Dick, of course, and the works of Shakespeare, and a bunch of obscure old stuff we'd never find again. Then there's my precious Pipe Smokers' Ephemeris. Copies are worth more than $400 on eBay - not that I'd ever sell.

I also kept a couple dozen novels I haven't gotten around to yet, which I'll read once and give away.


In Time Enough For Love, Robert Heinlein chronicles a time when his hero, Lazarus Long, is colonizing some distant planet and raising twin daughters on a farm. All they've got to read is The Complete Works of Shakespeare, books on caring for livestock, and a heavy medical reference book. So the girls grow up obsessed with breeding and birthing animals, and are absolutely fascinated by the natural world around them. They get so familiar with Shakespeare that he has to discourage them from speaking in Elizabethan pentameter all day long.

They make the most of the limited information available to them, and actually grow up better rounded, in many ways, because of it.

For myself, I'll always choose living in a time of abundance over scarcity. But to live well, we've got to take steps to make sure that the abundance doesn't overwhelm us. Getting rid of 90% of my library turned out to be one of the easiest steps I could take.


Thanks to @phoenixwren for sharing his book de-cluttering story today, and giving me the inspiration for this post!


How about you?

If you're on Steemit, you're probably a reader. Do you love books? Do you hoard books?

What about other collections?

And does the idea of minimalist living appeal to you?


Thanks for reading! If you'd like to support me with an up-vote, that'd be kind. And if your're so inclined, you can check out my hoard of previous posts over here.
Sort:  

Very interesting. I love reading about minimalism and practice this lifestyle every day. But when it comes to books, it is very difficult for me, to let them go and give them away. I was a big book hoarder and I am still in someone else's point of view. But now I'm so far, that I only keep those books, which I liked very much and there is a chance that I will read it again. Or those ones which where ok but serve very well as an interior objekt.
The status quo is, that I have about 350 books right now. A few years ago the number was about 500.
But I will continue to buy books, because this and reading them is my biggest obsession ;)

Nothing wrong with surrounding yourself with the things you love.

It's only when they become a burden rather than a joy that you have to reconsider.

Books are hard for us to minimalize. We adore both the story and the presentation of the novels.

We have a decent number of 'classics' that Doug bought mail-order. He kept that subscription for a couple years. We kept the mail-order scifi 'new classics' book subscription for several more years. They were written by popular (and up and coming) authors at about the time they were published.

There are at least 2 bookshelves, maybe more (they're kind of spread out) full of these leather-bound novels. Between us there are only a few that we haven't read and we've found some authors there that we might have not easily have found otherwise.

We generally don't buy books anymore unless they are good enough to read again (and then we try to get good quality hardbacks when available) but we won't be giving up these ones which we both like the story but love the book. As they're good quality maybe we'll call them our 'old age fund'. They're worth a good price if you try to buy them online. 😉

There was a time when I could have taken up minimalism but living where we do we have too much impetus and room to store stuff.

That is a really handsome collection. I don't think I would let that one go, either.

Really interesting, and nicely written. I'm conflicted about this-- my parents owned a bookstore and I was (and am) an avid and voracious reader. Growing up, perhaps surprisingly, the one thing we didn't horde was books. I think it's because we had an unlimited supply at our fingertips, so they pretty much left the house as quickly as they came in. Donated to used bookstores and libraries. Now that I actually pay for my own books, I do have a tendency to pick up appealing titles whenever I see them for cheap, "just in case". I don't have a lot of space where I live at the moment, though...so it gets out of hand quickly! In general, I think the beauty of having books is being able to give them to people. If I've already read it, I only really keep the rare book which touches me so deeply I'll re-read it (like you, that isn't many) or if I can think of someone who might enjoy it....otherwise, it's off to the charity shop or the library! Speaking of which, libraries are another great reason not to own too many books. If you live somewhere where they're decently stocked, and if you don't it's a damn shame!

Thanks again for the think, great post.

We do have some decent libraries around - and I appreciate them much more than I did as a kid. My dump swap-shop has actually provided me with a ton of material as well.

And you hit on the one thing that bugs me about digital books - the inability to share them or give them away when finished. Sadly, though, I don't think this really matters either. When I finish a book that I'm excited enough about to share with someone, I can never find a recipient who'll actually read it.

It must have been fun to grow up around your own bookstore. I hope it was a success. Do you have pictures?

Thanks for the compliments and the share - it means a lot!

The dump swap-shop! Here on the Isle of Man we call the dump "the tip", and I get lots of books there. You can always tell when someone with good taste has had a clear-out...

That's true, I also struggle finding people who actually read. Helps that I've worked in a few bookshops since leaving home, and my family are all good readers who share my taste. All in all it's a small group though.

It was fun! A wonderful childhood and it definitely shaped who I am now. I must have pictures somewhere...you've given me an idea for a post! Maybe I'll write one up this week. Happily, it was successful. Even through the rise of the big chains, then the fall of the big chains and the rise of amazon...my parents sold it to retire not long ago, and it's thriving under new ownership. A medium-sized place in a suburb of the city where I grew up.

Mostly, I think reading (at length, on paper, to the end of a book, regularly) is a life skill, and one which too few people have. I love the internet (I'm here on Steemit, right?) but I learn as much from books as I do from the endless web!

Thanks for the great writing! Love your pipe-smoking posts as well. You've got yourself a fan.

How wonderful that it was a success and that they were able to sell it on to folks who kept doing well. That's rare as gold.

I did my time in one of the big chain bookstores and as much as I loved the people I worked with, it was so hard to watch the company shooting themselves in the foot by "diversifying" into toys and electronics - all they did was alienate their best customers.

On the other hand, it really did give the independents a chance to shine - a trend which is happily continuing.

Living on the Isle of Man sounds fascinating. Plays a big part in the Arthurian legends, right?

I used to be a book person, but never read the entire book. Mind you most books I have ever purchased were for self improvement or to learn about a subject. Books just have way to much filler to justify it being a book. Most should be cut down to a pamphlet and they would be so much better.

Personally haven't purchased a book in at least 8 years. Anything I want to learn about is at my fingertips and in a much more condensed version.

One the topic of minimizing my kids and I spent a day dealing with some of the "junk drawers" they had. Just all the stupid cheap toys from happy meals or party favors. They got rid of a ton of stuff and at the end they both said about the same thing, that it feels good to get rid of that stuff.

So nice to have a shelf back and a couple drawers that are now 60% empty vs having to fight to get them closed.

Isn't that the worst - how every storage space ends up packed with something and you end up having to fight just to access it? Why does it always end this way!

Glad to hear you got the kids on board with a purge. I imagine children make it a lot more challenging.

Oh they do!!!! Girls are really bad about it, they want to keep everything. Stuff equals memories for them. My oldest can remember who bought her each of her stuffed animals and when they gave it to her. She is 12 and can honestly remember things from when she was 2, it's mind blowing to me. So she is the worst offender.

The younger one is now 8 and just getting to that age where her "baby toys" as she just started calling them aren't cool and is willing to part with most of them. She still remember getting some of them as gifts and wanted to hold onto some that she hasn't played with in well over a year.

My goal was to purge what they were willing and not have any battles over it. They actually weeded out way more then expected so for now I'm happy.

We have files in the computer that are designated by family member then year. They are backed up in the cloud. Have you considered making and storing short videos of the kids talking about their favorite things so that if something does happen to them they will keep the memories? It may mean a lot to them to hear it in their own voice when they're older?

I like that idea a lot! Will have to see if they like the idea. Thanks!

Great post on, you’re right, a hot topic. It’s been decades of “more, more, gimme more!” And now we are realizing the downside of all that stuff. It’s work to manage it all.

You also point out the pros and the cons of holding onto stuff. One hand, because your grandparents keeps EVERYTHING, the treasured find of the letters. Other hand...the wrapping paper room. 😂 that was my favorite part.

The wrapping paper room was kind of endearing.

Also a little ironic. I don't think she wrapped a present after 1990. It was a $10 bill in a card each year, every year!

I have the opposite issue. I toss everything away...BUT books lol. I do have quite a stash...sadly all in boxes in my spare room....but im thinking of making a small library in the far future. (I hope lol)

What are you waiting for? Shelves or space or time to set it up?

Good for you for throwing things away. Working digitally it's so much easier to keep things under control.

I have the space (very very small space) but just enough of a hole for it to work...the shelves are in...id put one chair in...a lamp etc....but i sorta decided to make it cave like...so i started last summer and the point is i want to pave everything in river stones...but its a slow process. :)

That sounds really cool. You'll have to do a post about it!

Glad to have given you post inspiration! It's "his" though. ;)
90% downsize, wow! That's impressive.
And which rocks ARE safe to eat?

Oh my, I'm so sorry - can you ever forgive me?

I'd say you're probably safe with very small rocks, and anything non-magnetic. (If you're going to eat a magnet, eat only one.) If in doubt stick to sand. It's got a lot of fiber.

No worries, I'm used to it. I'm like "It's Pat" on Saturday Night Live in the 90s. ;)

And yes the idea of minimalism appeals to me greatly after just having let go of most everything to move to Puerto Rico. We are being very selective about what we choose to reaquire.

I love books, but generally now prefer electronic so they take up no space and I can access any of my books from where ever I am.

Oh that's right, you guys had a MAJOR move, didn't you. No driving a U-Haul to Puerto Rico.

I hope you're settling in comfortably - enjoy the empty spaces while they last!

Right. It’s expensive to ship things to Puerto Rico so the move supported the letting go. Plus my 2017 intention, without knowing we were going to move when I set it, was to make space for what’s important in my life. Boy did I ever...

Have you read Marie Kondo’s book? It’s fab and I have read my digital version twice. Make you WANT to clean house.

One big advantage of paper books is that you can pass them along. We gave hundreds to our yoga center and started a free library there. Sadly I can’t (or don’t know how) to do that with my digital library.

I've flipped through a bit of Kondo's book when I was working at (of all places!) a bookstore. And the book All That Remains by "The Minimalists" actually came at a great time for me as well. I knew someone who was working for them who gave me a copy by chance.

Giving away books is something the digital copy can't match. But again, for the amount of times it happens that I know someone who'd actually read a book I had - I'll just pay to buy them a copy as a gift!

Of course I'm surrounded by stuff! But I keep very little. Almost nothing. I have a cupboard of novels yet unread, for the solar flare event. But I have to trim it every now and then, before it becomes a room of books! It is a depressing reminder of the lack of time.

Yeah, you're in a unique position - all that second hand stuff, but you get to see it go.

The constraints of time really put reading into perspective. A book a week over 60 years of adult life is 3120 books. With 30 on a shelf, you'd need 104 shelves or just 18 of these IKEA Billy Bookcases to hold all the books you could read in a lifetime.

Thing is, when I am on a reading binge, it is more like 3 books a week!

How on earth do you do everything you do and read three books a week?

See above...reading binge!!!

Thank you very much !!! Thank you again and again for sharing this post because you did not just share this post. This post has been written in a beautiful manner by writing everything well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73