You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Billy vs Willie got a little bit silly and the ‘fight’ turned into a really limp affair… Saunders son’s forced repent, was never really meant, that’ll teach Monroe for rubbing Stevie’s hair!

in #boxing7 years ago

Yeah, the weigh in was definitely the most interesting and exciting, lol part of this fight. Willie Monroe's lack of work I half contribute to Saunder's movement and manipulation of range and half to just lack of desire.

The main event went very different than I expected also. I thought we'd see a similar style from Canelo like when he fought James Kirkland. Luring in the aggressor and relying on great counter punching and angles. Seeing him get on his horse and do his best Mayweather impression was something I didn't expect at all. Given how much this fight meant, I really thought he'd try to make a decisive impression on his place in boxing as the best pound for pound fighter in the world.

GGG showed up and did what he does. Relentless stalking of his opponent and forcing the action. I had the fight close, but definitely had GGG winning by 2 rounds. All in all, it left a sour taste in my mouth. I guess I'm a bit spoiled by growing up in the Four Kings era, but damn, I expect the best in the world to want to prove they're the best and leave no doubt when they fight the best. GGG did his part last night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72