Life - Death - Meditation -One of the most important Questions you need to ask yourself- And what Steve Jobs was incompetent at

in #buddhism6 years ago

I'm going to keep this brief and I'm going to ask you a question: "What if you die today?"
Did I ask a good question? Is it valuable? Is it something that you should be thinking about? Is there a better question to ask?

"What if you die right now?"


Have you ever thought about this? Have you ever asked this question in a positive light? I'm sure there are millions who have asked the above question from themselves. But how many were positive about it?

Why is death considered a negative thing?


In a previous post I talked about my worst Fear. It wasn't death or some thought that I'd cease to exist. I've been death-curious as a kid. Death was just a concept at the time. At the times I was afraid of death, what I really feared was the things/people I'd loose or just the painful process of dying. Those things aren't death. Death is a certain instant. It's an instant like the end of a test at school. The bell rings and you can write no more. Death is like an ICO coming to an end. No more tokens for you. Let's not talk about the life after death. Let's keep the life before death at sidelines. Let's just talk what would it be like to suddenly stop everything you are doing in your life.

In some Asian countries the accepted max age is 120 years. It's extremely rare for anyone to pass year 120. What if each birthday was celebrated as maximum 90 more years till death..... maximum 70 more years till death.... maximum 25 more years till death....etc. How would it feel like to live? Our life itself is on a long deadline and one thing about deadlines is that they make people more productive. But we are reminded less and less that we are about to die. You and I could very well live long enough to see those 120 years. We may have developed tech to live 240 years in the future. But as I mentioned, let's talk about death. Not the life before it and certainly not the afterlife.

Are you satisfied with your life?


_I mean you could be on a "path to satisfaction" but what if you got mugged and killed or mugged-raped-killed or the same 3 things in a different order. Murphy's law says "Anything that can go wrong will go wrong" and though not all bad things would befall your life, bad things can make you change the way you look at the world. But here is the thing. What if............

Now let's look at a movie based on a real story that was called "so factually accurate it is as close to a documentary as you can get and still be a drama" by the person who lived through the entire experience.

These things can change a person's life.But here is the thing. What if............you never face anything terrible in life. Why should a person face suffering to become enlightened? Why should a person try and fail to learn and gain experience? Isn't there a short track? Isn't there a trick transform lives without having to go through life altering situation?

What if you contemplate Death; Just because?


I love mental simulations. They are a great way to test the mind. They are a great way to test death. I used to be clever enough to walk 10 feet and figure out 3 horrible ways to die. I'm still that clever. One thing that this had done to me over time is that I don't worry much about by own death. I could imagine so many horrible ways to die at practically every single place and became desensitized to my own possibility of death. I didn't became depressed or paranoid. I realized there is no point in worrying about death. Each hour we pass a hundred ways we could die. Hell, one could gain a pill of immortality and choke on the damn thing.

What if told you Steve Jobs was according to some standards........ doing it all terribly. What if told you Steve Jobs was according to some standards........ should not be taken as an inspiration. What if told you Steve Jobs was according to some standards........ has to fix his incompetent ways and half assed attitudes regarding death......

Is there such a standard?


Yes. It's the standard set up by Buddha. In Buddhist meditation there is a practice of meditation called Marananussathi. Instead of technical descriptions I'll tell you a story. I'm reciting from my memory and I don't remember the sources. If anybody know the specific sutra, please leave a comment.

A group of monks practicing Marananussathi meets Buddha and the subject is brought to discussion. One monk tells that he contemplates that each day he wake up could be his last day. There are many different ways he could face death during the day. He claims to live with that realization.(This is sort of what Steve Jobs claimed to have practiced)

Now a second monk clams that he thinks not in days but in morning, afternoon and evening. Death could come in any of these moments. People die all over the globe and at all sort of times. So this monk lives a day fraction by fraction.

More monks start revealing details of their practice and realizations of the impermanent fleeting nature of life. Some says they contemplate that by the time they eat their meal.... they could be dead. Now how many times have you taken a plate of food and thought "I could be dead by the time I finish this. A bomb could go off or a meteor could crash."??? This is the level of practice and focus and standard Marananussathi had. That's a lot to live up to. Right...... Nope. I'm just screwing with your head. Some monks contemplate that they could be dead by the time they finish half the plate and the list goes on.

One monk goes on to say that he contemplates that the time he take a mouthful of food could be the time his lifetime countdown hit zero. Then another says that he lives with the realization that the length of his life could be the breath he take and he lives his life not day followed by another day but a breath followed by another breath.

At the end of it all, Buddha states that out of everyone who confessed their practices only the last two monks practiced Marananussathi in a proper way. The rest weren't doing it right. Steve Jobs was one with the worst performing group. He was at 0.005787037037037% of the standard. The calculation comes from the observation that a calm everyday breathing happens each 5 second and 17280 a day. Instead of thinking each of those fleeting moments as a life that could end anytime, Jobs and many other inspiring revolutionaries try to live day by day.

Death isn't something that happen while you get on bed and get out of breath. Death is everywhere all the time.
Understanding this is a powerful liberation. Trust me when I say that understanding death gives you a sense of freedom. I quit high school without a second thought and I haven't taken many decisions that I would come to regret. I live like a person who's going to die. It doesn't make you sad, depressed or weak minded. There have been times I've been a harsh prick without even trying. I've ended up acting bold to a fault. Those are results of death meditation. When you know and accept and make peace with the fact of getting something, you stop thinking about that thing. You mind become free from that thing. That's what happens with Marananussathi. You'll end up living your life to the fullest....... with each passing breath.


Sort:  

I've been somewhat close to dying, and very close to been caught by the intelligence agency of my country which is worse

At that moment my entire life was on hold, my dark and terrible future was drawn in my eyes like in a movie, I was poorly hiding and I was so close to them that I could see their guns above my head and hear their voices around me. All was quiet like when a grenade explodes close to the main actor in a movie and all my past and my future was presented in my eyes like in a photography set. It's crazy but it really happens

Gladly I manage to escape but know I see life from another perspective

Are you satisfied with your life?

I'm not. Right now I feel like just a little of security and peace will be enough, but I know that if I gain peace and security I will start to look for more, to learn more and to gain more. There's too much hunger in my soul

Once I was almost drowned. To me it was just mind focusing on just one thing. It was a natural lake or something and I just let go of everything and yearned for my life. Few seconds later I had already gotten out of water. I don't know if it was my body acting on its own in some biofeedback sort of a way or some supernatural force. I was drowning for few seconds until I wasn't. I had no water in my lungs either.

I know that if I gain peace and security I will start to look for more, to learn more and to gain more. There's too much hunger in my soul

Amen! We had to use electricity to build computers and we had to build the internet to build the blockchain. People with creative drive always build on top of other people's inventions. The rest of the Zuckers are either just grateful (which is ok) or just plain entitled.

Wish you the very best in your life my friend!

I've never heard of this type of meditation practice before, but it sounds very interesting! I don't usually think about dying but your post has made me stop and give it some thought. I think dying isn't that bad for the person who dies, it's a lot worse for his loved ones who stay behind and miss him. I wouldn't want to die because of the people around me who love me. That's what I came up with :)

If everybody can grow to accept each other's deaths, then the lives of everyone will be peaceful no matter who leaves the world. Enjoy the party but don't cry when you leave at the end. Leave with a smile :-)

I'm not afraid to die. I just don't want to be there when it happens.

Woody Allen

The Buddha also said "No birth, no death." If you identify with your body you will surely die. Jesus also promised "everlasting life." I interpret these ideas as identifying with the level of consciousness above the ego, above the mundane material world. Contemplating your death with each breath might inspire you to live each moment, but it seems a rather dour way to do it.

I prefer the story of the Taoist monk who, while out on a walk, was chased by a tiger. He ran as fast as he could, but ended up running off a cliff. Fortunately, he managed to catch a root before he fell to the jagged rocks below. Hanging with a single hand from the root, the monk then looked up. The tiger was awaiting him at the top of the cliff. The monk looked down. Another tiger was below, waiting for him to fall. The monk then looked to the side and saw a lovely flower blooming. He leaned over and smelled it.

Death is inevitable. It happens to us all. It isn't really an end any more than birth is a beginning. I might not want to take another breath. I'm going to, though. I have very little control over it. Same with dying. It's a given. Why even concern ourselves with it?

Why even concern ourselves with it?

This is the single most important point of it all. Death meditation accomplishes 2 things. It gets you to focus and use your time effectively and productively. The other is that Death becomes one of those things to you like buying a new laptop/smartphone every now and then. It's just something that happens.

Ānāpānasati is actually the highest form of meditation in Buddhism. It's stated that each person who achieves Buddhahood reach their with Ānāpānasati meditation. But there are many methods to get to places. You could use a private jet or a bicycle. It's hard to learn to fly a jet. But it's easy to ride a bicycle. Buddha wanted to give something for everyone.

At the end of it all, it's all about elevating your consciousness.

It gets you to focus and use your time effectively and productively.

Interesting how our views differ so much even though we agree that accepting the inevitability of death is one of the most important things to deal with in our lives.

For me, I don't see it as becoming more productive and using our time more efficiently it's about not taking life too seriously. I had to face the fact of death at 9 years old. Realizing that I would eventually die made me not want to go to school, to learn math or even learn to read. Why go to all that trouble if I was eventually going to die? I had lots of counseling but that attitude has followed me my entire life. What attracted me to Buddhism was the promise of ending the birth/death cycle, to not come back to have to do it all over again, to "die before you die" and identify with the deathlessness of consciousness at large. Life isn't as much a path as it is a guantlet, a beating down that only ends when you cease to identify with that which is alive. If you don't clear the gauntlet before you die, it's "game over" and you start again. I try to accept the beatings and the beatifications with equanimity and not attach to them. At this stage in my journey that's about all I can do.

I don't see it as becoming more productive and using our time more efficiently it's about not taking life too seriously.

To me they go hand in hand. A relaxed fist hits harder than a clenched fist. When you really don't mind what happens..... at least in my case I naturally focus on the things that does the most impact. That's how I quit school. I was one of the best students and that was by merely putting 20%(or even lees) of the effort of your average "A" for everything student.

Now I spend most my time reading, researching, watching and playing while earning as much as my average friend's income (without counting those who are still in college) I had to pass through a major fallout from practically everyone I knew. But it was worth it. If I'm going to die anyways, I've got to make my living time count. So there are things I must avoid and there are things I must favor. Read my previous article: https://steemit.com/psychology/@vimukthi/a-gateway-into-my-mind-my-realization-about-my-worst-fear-my-life-and-things-that-scares-me

Having to live a life over and over is less terrifying to me. What's more chilling is the loss of maturity. If death was just changing robes I won't have a huge problem with it. Death acts like a reset button. That's what draw me into the ending of life-death cycle. Death is the biggest obstacle I know for spiritual development.

BTW you might also find this article helpful:https://steemit.com/buddhism/@vimukthi/a-gateway-into-buddhism-not-a-step-by-step-venture-dive-right-in-with-6-powerful-verses-and-3-profound-books-to-read
Happy steeming my friend :-)

Nobody on their death bed wished they spent more time at the office. - Dr. Steven R. Covey.

That's what everybody who wants to skip work says.
The ones who seek enlightenment are more concerned with giving up stuff.

BTW, Thanks for reminding me about CREDITS. Their min. is 0.05 ETH (I think?).

And I did this on them:

https://steemit.com/blockchain/@jaichai/ijch-lookout-ripple-and-stellar-here-comes-credits-faster-more-scalable-entensive-use-cases-and-much-more

Namaste,

JaiChai

hi. i'm korean meditation beginner . following &vote you and hope learn more about meditation from you . this is my meditation post https://steemit.com/kr/@alexshin/kr-meditation

I read your post with https://translate.google.com and gave you a vote and resteem. Keep up the good work :-)

If possible try to collect few posts together and translate into English and publish them.

Thanks sir ~
i will write what i m doing in english soon and let steemian knows korean meditation^^
where do you live? in japan ?

Death is something complicated, our understanding of it varies according to our environment, our experiences, our culture and a lot of other factors, the Vikings, who believed that death was a kind of transition and not an end, were more willing to deliver their lives in a battle of what would be a current person, a fundamentalist Muslim is willing to risk his life in a suicide attack because he believes in something beyond, if you believe that death is the end of everything, then you are more predisposed to value your life and try to enjoy it, if you believe instead that death will only take you to another place, like heaven, then you will be more willing to sacrifice your life or do things you don't like with a greater goal, death It can definitely be a person's biggest motivator, but it all depends on how you interpret the world.

All these are linked to our "idea" about death. It's easy to form a cult around what people don't understand. That's why I specifically avoided talking about life after death and put the life before death on the sidelines. I wanted to focus on the part that's most mysterious. I don't remember dying or being dead. It's an alien experience and the only way we know to conceptualize it is lack of everything there is in our lives.

Thinking and understanding this aspect of life can transform and elevate a person into a higher level. So I like the more practical aspects.

If you ask if I am afraid of dying, nope, I am not.

What I am afraid of actually is suffering, I hate suffering and try to avoid it at all times.

Have you ever read about the simulation hypothesis?

What I am afraid of actually is suffering

I can agree. Death is a nothingness/zero while suffering is a negative sum. A person could suffer to a point where that person yearns for that nothingness. But the problem is is death and end or a reset?

I think I know what you mean by simulation hypothesis. You might find this interesting: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@vimukthi/7-deeply-philosophical-psychological-things-to-ponder-about-the-universe-existence-and-human-mind

I'd rather have a poster saying "Tomorrow is a good day to die"
I can wake up everyday and get ready for tomorrow.

the point is that he is already ready. He prepared yesterday.

I was having fun along the lines of, Everyday He's going to wake up the death is going to be on tomorrow.

It's interesting what the Buddhists were saying about how often you should pray, Mouhammed said you should pray 50 times a day but if you do it 5 times a day then they can count for 10 each.

" Hell, one could gain a pill of immortality and choke on the damn thing."
That's what I call a sick joke

You know what's also helps , denial of your own mortality and shove the thought of your death in some deep dark corner of your mind.It's only a
temporarily solution ,sooner or later you need to face your mortality

denial of your own mortality and shove the thought of your death in some deep dark corner of your mind.

That's like the end of The Dark Knight. It never works. Truth is resilient. Apart from the causality itself, I can't see anything with more resilience than truth. Temporary fixes are emergency methods like drinking your own urine or cutting off a limb like Aron Ralston (127 Hours is based on his story)

Sounds to me to live as if we are already dead and let living be the anomoly...

Well, a dead person cannot be threatened with o held back by anything. Living like a dead person is living without any physical attachments. Such a person has great power. Some people waste their lives in colleges fearing they won't have a job. A person who in his/her mind has killed himself/herself would follow one's passions and would never loose a drop of integrity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49