Two of my Favorite Things on Steem

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

It was a pretty eventful weekend for me, @mrsbozz is still feeling under the weather, so I spent a lot of my time taking care of her and the things around the house that we usually do together.

That kept me pretty distracted this weekend and though I don't tend to "Steem" on the weekends, I at least try to keep up to speed about what is happening.

Imagine my surprise late last night when saw my first story about Magic Dice and their apparent exit scheme. It makes me feel like a bit of a schmuck because I know a short time ago I was sharing my referral code with all of you.

Luckily, I didn't have a ton invested into the dapp like some people did and that brings me to the first one my favorite things on Steem:

Delegations


I had been earning MAGIC tokens on Magic Dice mainly because I had been delegating to them. As part of that agreement I got a specific amount of MAGIC tokens each day. The cool thing about delegations is you can always remove them or pull them back. It takes a little bit of time for the SP to show back up in your account, but it is always yours even if you have it delegated away.

After I read the first post about Magic Dice last night, I quickly went in and I removed my delegation from them. This is the second time something like this has happened to me and although it is annoying, it doesn't really bug me too much because I know I have literally lost nothing. Sure my delegated SP might have helped them pad their pockets before the exited, but for me, I am still whole. I have all of my SP back where it belongs and a bunch of worthless MAGIC tokens that I can't even access.

In the grand scheme of things, not totally horrible...

If you are being introduced to a new project or dapp on STEEM and you want to contribute somehow, please take a long hard look at delegating before you consider simply sending them STEEM or SBD. If they don't offer delegation as an option, you might want to simply pass.

Steem Basic Income


The second item on my favorite things list is @steembasicincome. This is a fantastic project that I think a lot of people either take for granted or pass by without giving it a second look. That is really a shame.

Steem Basic Income (SBI) allows you to be guaranteed upvotes on your posts for your entire lifetime on Steem. The more you donate and earn, the bigger upvote you get. My current goal is to get myself to 1000 SBI Shares.

The SBI program is actually mutually beneficial because for each share you donate on someone else's behalf, you get a share yourself. For example if I transfer 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome and I put @daan in the memo line, not only does he get one SBI share, but I do as well. Additionally, I can delegate to @steembasicincome (which I do) and earn even more shares.

With my current # of SBI Shares, I basically get a $.45 upvote on each of my posts when I post five times a week. Unless something catastrophic happens, that will never go away. If I leave for two months and don't post a thing and then come back with a quick Appics post, I will still get an upvote from SBI.

Personally, I think you are nuts if you are not taking advantage of every contest/challenge you see that offers SBI shares as prizes. Either that or you have a Orca/Whale in your back pocket.

Edit

I forgot to mention, that upvote I am guaranteed to goes up as the price of STEEM goes up. I got a $.66 upvote on this post from them with STEEM at ~$.39, Imagine what that would be if STEEM reaches $1!

Speaking of challenges:


I posted this last week and I have yet to receive a single official entry. Who doesn't love to talk about their favorite meal? It's basically like leaving money on the table people. Right now with the number of entries being zero, earning an SBI share is a given.


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

I played with magic dice a little but didnt invest into it , and i was unaware of an exit strategy now I will have to go and look into it

SBI is brilliant isnt, as you know i give away shares on my weekly challenge post and its a win win I give to others but also to myself ;)

There have been a number of posts in the past 24 hours about Magic Dice. I am glad I didn't invest as much time or money into it as some people did.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am looking for it now I don’t think I invested much at all so its no big deal to me but I am curious

From what I've read -- which I admit isn't much -- the very use of the term "exit strategy" is sarcastic. (Right?) There's not much strategy to the decision to "take the money and run."

(Privately wondering if zombee is zeartul back for another infusion of his bank account. After all, it worked out great for him the first time around. This time ... maybe better!)

It's all pretty lame. I am just glad I didn't invest a lot of time and funds into it. I think there is a lot of speculation about the whole thing out there right now.

I see the sbi's as the winner and something that we should all be accumulating. In the future it could be your biggest vote on your post every day.

For sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Never got involved in games or gaming since it holds no appeal, however you mentioned you delegated to them, good forward thinking on your part.

SBI are great, good reminder to check in on contests being run, missed your one completely @bozz. Daily I cook food and eat it, never think to take photographs with the hungry mob waiting in the wings to eat.

I hear you, I forget to take photos all the time too. The contest is still going if you are interested. Two more days until I decide on the winners. Thinking back I should have just allowed submissions via comment. Since I haven't gotten any actual submissions I will probably just send an SBI share to the few people that actually commented.

I see this runs for another day still, will try to do a post for you @bozz

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Across The East River Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.92% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Ohh and I forgot Thanks for being an Active Member of SteemUSA !tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01