Is Steemit the solution to Facebook Monopoly? (2)

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Facebook is undoubtedly the king of social media and will remain so for a very long time due to its huge user base (1B+) with many dedicated daily users. On the other hand, will this monopoly last forever? Or will another smart player like Steemit, with its reward system take some market share from Facebook-especially good bloggers who see that steemit gives them the opportunity to earning a good revenue from their talents and hard work. Will this result to a duopoly or oligopoly due to other top players?

Here are some few points:

Pic Source

Community of great bloggers: steemit has certainly attracted great bloggers from Facebook to its platform due to the afore-mentioned benefit: financial reward plus the chance to interact with other great writers by joining steemit writing groups, making great friends, competitions and steemit meet ups. All these are not offered on face book hence why steemit will continue to tap into and appeal to top bloggers from Facebook.

Change of interest: For those who are active in Facebook before joining steemit, you will notice that you spend less time on Facebook since joining steemit meaning that steemit platform is more appealing due to the ability to earn a good income here and learn about great things , for instance Cryptocurrencies- which is not the case in Facebook. Imagine millions of Facebook users learning about such opportunity? What will happen to Facebook market share and subsequently the size of steemit users and steem price? The simple answer is that we will see huge increase in user base and steem price .

Censored vs uncensored: Moreover, those who need to control what they post or talk about -will leave Facebook for steemit due to censorship at Facebook. In fact, the platform controls what people say or write and will delete an account (without warning) if someone goes against their interests.

Quality of posts: Facebook is undoubtedly the king of selfie pictures, baby pictures including friends / family members sharing pictures and will remain so because there is no space for such segment in steemit. Steemit, on the other hand, will take over the segment of mature and intelligent bloggers, great community interactions and top video content creators (remember Dtube) . This will undoubtedly, make it possible for steemit to tap into millions of Facebook users , however it will take some solid marketing and community members making positive noise for this great platform.

Now is your turn, do you think that steemit will attract some Facebook members? Send in your comments, upvote in order to send in your support and resteem for others to join.

Click here and read my former post: Steemit and cryptocurrencies:The New digital Santa Claus

Important info:

Elyte End of Year Bounty program (runs till 1st January 2018)- also see crowdsale / whitelist section of https://www.elyte.biz/ for a Christmas present!!!
Please go to the link below and follow the instructions for a chance to win some ELYTE
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfMrrhwDcOgnIDkdcRgfs3rpmzyq8_pN7ukJjotkPcYIKJwcQ/viewform?usp=sf_link
Ethereum lyte (Elyte) is the next best thing. Offering just 1m tokens as total supply with lower circulation supply, top visible team, excellent and innovative product, deflationary nature, early adopters of Elyte are already smiling as they see bright future in their investments as prices has shot up over 600% since inception just 3 weeks ago even as they are yet to be on exchange. Get more info via website or join the active telegram community
Elyte website: https://www.elyte.biz/
Telegram : https://t.co/kAhkvVTPBF
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EthereumLyte
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EthereumLyte
Bitcoin Talk page : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2618851.new#new
Join the Telegram group for now!

Sort:  

I rarely went on FB before steemit. The drama was enough to suffocate a normal person...

Steemit, on the other hand, will take over the segment of mature and intelligent bloggers, great community interactions and top video content creators (remember Dtube) . This will undoubtedly, make it possible for steemit to tap into millions of Facebook users

AND this... is huge for me. I came to steemit in July looking to renew my writing and blogging career and quickly found out I was a perfect fit for steemit.

Good point, you nailed it well...

Not enough money in the world to get me off steemit.. or back to FB.

same here my dear one..steemit till the end of time...

I could never, ever, get into facebook. There was nothing I liked about it.

The only thing I like about it was to see pictures of my grandchildren (as I haven't seen any of the five little ones in person for a couple of years), but I have asked my kids to text me pictures now. I just have no use for the drama there.

hi all, first of all tank you @charles1 for posting, i think that we must be very very thankful to satoshi nakamato, in general this technology of blockchain will do great for humanity and centralization problems

Good point, Bitcoin is and will always remain the father...I am so grateful

Not unless the team starts taking Steemit serious instead of worrying about SMT's.

I agree with you @hilarski , good point

Lets hope it is. One way to plug Steemit is to share your blog posts from here on facebook etc. With a little blurb about Steemit. That gets more people to come take a look. I am new and still learning and I was a little frustrated at first. Now I am starting to enjoy it. I think that is a big obstacle for facebookers is its not quite as user friendly as facebook or what they are used to. I miss and I don't miss all the notifications. Its nice not to be notified every time someone farts in the wind. However if you write what you feel is a good post you want to know how people are responding so when you get a notification you go and check. No big deal though for here you just go to your feed or blog and look at replies. Anyway that's my take from a newbie.

Good point, am sure that you will be a success here. Patience , hardwork and great contents are key to success.. see my older posts for more details

Am new here on steemit since i joined, i hardly visit my facebook page,i don't think facebook can be compared with steemit because intelligent writer are here and we still make money with our writings.keep steeming.

Same here , steemit is the new vibe isnt it? more success

Steemit, on the other hand, will take over the segment of mature and intelligent bloggers, great community interactions and top video content creators (remember Dtube)

I see this to be a very real possibility. And with twitter also.
( I have never returned to twitter after joining here - the depth of conversations just can't be had on that, as a platform)

Leaving the 'selfie heaven' lot on Facebook, and intelligent bloggers and posters on here, seem kinds perfect, tbh !

When newspapers were the medium of the masses, there was a definite split between tabloid readers and the broadsheet readers...

Very good comment, I agree...thanks.

I think it's a use case problem. The current UX of "Steemit" is very similar to Reddit, where the community is formed around topics of interest. On the other hand, FB is meant to be the place to passively see content from friends and family (at least the feed part). I could see Steemit replacing FB Groups, if more functionality were implemented, but not FB proper as most people use it.

Good point, I agree...this will lead to gaining some market share from FB isnt it?

I came here mainly because of frustration with facebook. It became impossible to reach my own followers, even paid ads were not performing and I couldn;t even promote my prints with paid ads because their "system detected too much text" in the images of my prints - the only text was the title of the print,my signature and website along the edges of the print... I hope to learn how to use Steemit, it's quite different, but I think I'm starting to get the hang of it slowly! lol

I had the same issue with FB buddy hence why I was happy that I found steemit and loving it daily..at least I can earn something here daily without throwing money to facebook ads and geting zero ROI...see my older posts for ways to succeed here. Success to you.

Awesome I'll check them out, anything that helps me learn to better navigate this new platform is super appreciated lol

FB is now a lot of grannies, aunts, and family photo share. STEEMIT is def hipper and more alternative. That niche is plenty strong and when you include a whole new global audience of developing countries, the potential for beneficial synergies is off the map ! Peace

Good point, I agree...steem on to more success.

Very practical and true article . I upvote and follow you. I am new in steemit . support me .

you are welcome to steemit...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61