The "Monica Geller" Side of Me

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

20180516_182248.png
Image Source

Over the weekend I had to go to school to do some tidying up in our resource-slash-storage room. I figured it had to be done, since not everyone was keen to do it.

What happened was that towards the end of school in December last year, we had to move all our resources, toys and equipment from the storage room into the staff room because half of our storage room would be knocked down to be renovated and transformed into a girls' toilet.

Great for the whole school. New facilities but that was bad news for all of us in the Early Learning Centre. It would mean smaller area for our storage or stock room. We have lots of toys and educational materials to sort out.

However, we are already nearing the winter season and our ELC stuff were all scattered in the staff room. I could tell the Principal was not impressed. And I don't blame him. It was a mess. Chaotic. Unorganised.

So, it had to be done. I, myself, couldn't wait any longer to organise our new storage space. First, I thought, I should categorise all of them according to their purpose:

  • Cars and other forms of transportation
  • Cloths, fabric and felt materials
  • Craft materials
  • Dolls, puppets and other stuffed toys
  • Duplos, Lego blocks and other building and construction toys
  • Educational toys
  • Natural resources
  • Painting and art materials
  • Playgroup toys
  • Posters and wall displays
  • Pretend play toys and home corner equipment
  • Puzzles
  • Recycled materials
  • Teacher-made resources and materials and classified into literacy, numeracy, fine motor skills, and STEAM (Science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics/music)

These were just a few of those things that I had to sort out. I had to start somewhere.

Yes, I had to organise those things in my brain alphabetically. I needed a system in order to function. There are still plenty more to alphabetise and categorise. Happy days!

I was there at school by myself on the weekend, when I could just be staying at home and watch Netflix. I still have to finish this series called "The Crown". I am hooked!


Anyway, apart from weekly programming and preparation for the following week's activities, I devoted my time to move all of our stuff back from the staff room into our ELC storage space. I WAS ENTHUSED! I told my Director it was my best day of the week. And I wasn't even sarcastic. I meant what I said. Even when I decided to do that beyond my paid hours.

So those in bullet points above, I managed to find their designated spots in some shelves. It looked very neat and not an eye-sore. I am proud of myself.

Then it was time to arrange all the puzzles. I had to categorise them according to floor puzzles, Aboriginal art, animals (Australian wildlife, farm, jungle, pets, sea, etc.), Bible-related, jigsaw, letters and numbers, maps, people, puzzles based on story books and movies, space, transport. I am pleased with the outcome. They're easier now to find a puzzle that we need than it was before.

20180505_163937.jpg

The puzzles took me about an hour to finish. But it was worth it in the end. And I thought there wouldn't be enough space for everything. But when things are in their proper place, you'll find that there's actually room for so much more.

Everytime I am so excited about cleaning, tidying up and organising, it reminds me of Monica Geller of the 90s sitcom FRIENDS. I love how she's such a neat freak and very obsessive-compulsive. In a way, I could really relate to her in that aspect, although I am not that highly strung like her.

But yes, I have a little tendency to be too organised. I hate clutter. I like to alphabetise and put things in category. My brain works when things are in order. I don't know, but it's just me. Each to their own, I guess. Some people can remember where they put their stuff despite the mess, but when it's so neat, they can't find what they're looking for.

How about you? How do you function? When are you most effective and most productive?

Or maybe you want to share who from FRIENDS you could relate to the most? I would love to know your thoughts and funny anecdotes.

rsz_rsz_divider-36856_960_720.png

Hey, do you want to win some SBI shares or SBD?
Then, create a blog about who you are thankful for on Steemit?
Who do you appreciate?
Let that person know!!!
Join a contest hosted by my sister, @dynamicshine,
and win a prize of your choice.


https://steemit.com/dynamicgratitude/@dynamicshine/show-gratitude-for-someone-and-win-5-sbd-or-5-steem-basic-income-shares-pick-your-prize

rsz_rsz_divider-36856_960_720.png


Click the link to join our Discord and meet our founder and #1 minnows supporter, @dynamicgreentk.
Thank you @thundercurator for your thunder!
Banners credit to @baa.steemit.

I am also a member and an ally of #SteemBulls Discord. We are a community of people who help each other in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated.

So, come and join, and be inspired!!!

Check out posts by:
@dmilliz, @ryl, @dangerousangel, @scarletmedia, @puregrace, @pkalra, @honeychum, @joanna-godfrey, @udywriter, @shanu, @lantracy, @emilyandy, @bunnychum, @godsngh1, @ntowl, @norma-jean

Vote @curie, @scottcbusiness, @yabapmatt, @utopian-io, @hr1, @steemgigs, @qurator, @jerrybanfield, @cloh76.witness, @mahdiyari, and @pharesim as witnesses to let them know you support their work!

Thank you for reading!

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

Wow, almost winter time? That's crazy! Well, yay for new toilets!

Yes, our winter here on the land down under starts in June. 😆 The new toilets are impressive - top class!. 😊

I like book readers, did you read them all ?

I am sorry, but what's your comment got to to do with any of what's in my post? Please enlighten me.

I thought in the picture you have books, those are not books ? I just told you my thoughts, isn't allowed here ?

If you had read my post, you wouldn't think they were books but puzzles. I didn't mention anything about books. But of course, you are allowed to say your thoughts. That's why I asked you politely to enlighten me how in the world you came up with me being a book reader because you got me confused. That was my thought about your first comment and I just thought I'd ask you.

I am sorry that I didn't notice puzzles, you are right, I should read the post and then commet, I also hated when I was writing long informative post and people just comment to comment, I am just not in a good mood today to read, I've found your post in qurator post and I commented and upvoted you just to promote my post there, but I am sure that your post is good quality and it deserve a good rewards, I hope the right people will notice.

I hope the right people will notice all original content creators, but not just those who pay for upvotes and became famous in trending and hot page just because they paid a lot for that, sorry that I am not talking about your post, but sharing my crazy emotions here. I also have a little service for steemians to grow and I am building it for a lot time and today I just lost tow partners with good upvotes, they just went to give their money to an upvote bot, but not to my real project where we give manual upvotes, anyway, thanks for being polite, I am almost one year in steemit and it's hard when I see cents on my posts.

I want to thank you for your honest comment now. I really appreciate it.

I can also empathise with you. It is frustrating that I write posts and not really earning from it. If I don't pay bots to resteem or upvote my post, I won't see the payout exceeding $1 at least.

I have resigned to the fact that I will never earn from Steemit so I make this as my hobby instead. But even when it's just a hobby, I won't post or write just for the sake of submitting a post. I share my thoughts, experiences, inspiration and knowledge to everyone who cares enough to read my blogs or posts. I still work hard and I put my heart and thoughts into writing to come up with a material that even when it is not great or excellent, but at least up to a certain standard. So a thoughtful comment is deeply appreciated.

I'm like you and Monica, and get it, and the OCD side of it is more like a super power as some people are paid money to do it, to be an interior designer, a housekeeper, and it does make things better, makes the world less clutter and more simple and fun and focused.

I agree. Imagine an interior designer or an architect whose brain is a bit scattered. They may have produced probably an abstract work but it would look rather disorganised. Or a housekeeper who hides all the mess under the bed. No, they must have a little bit of OCD in them to produce quality work.

As for me, I can't function in a chaotic environment. At home, I had to clean the house first before I could study or do my work.

Oh, I love Monica. I have watched FRIENDS like a hundred times and I still find it humorous every single time I'd watch them again.

Understood. For sure. Yeah, Monica is very lovely. Yes, still funny every time.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94