Freewrite Day 408 Carnival

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite Carnival fitinfun.jpg

When I was 30, my life was falling apart and in chaos. I was getting divorced from my happy marriage, and traveling all the time for my job.

I acted like a normal accountant for work and helped bookkeepers all over the state do their jobs right. I made my own schedule based on which bookkeeper was the most screwed up.

When I got home for the weekends a few times a month, I had a houseful of partying roommates who were “watching” my house for me while I was gone. Nothing was as it should have been, and I was just hanging on.

One Friday night I got home and the main roommate-in-charge met me at the door with his notepad of things to tell me.

“We’ve got a pregnant girl here. We found her at the Carnival. She can go home to her dad and needs a bus ticket.”

I could just see her miserable self sitting inside on my living room floor. She did not know I was there. Yes, she was pregnant and yes, she looked very young.

“How much is the ticket?”

I just had enough, and gave him almost all the cash I had. This was the end of the paycheck I just got, but the company paid for my food, gas, laundry, and hotels. They told me when I was hired:

“Don’t travel cheap. We know we are killing you Regional people with this job.”

The mortgage and utilities were paid for the month. I would just stay out working until I got the next check.

All I know is that he got her on the bus. I didn’t talk to her. She had enough going on without having to deal with me.

All week the roommates had been telling her that when I got home, I would help her get home too. She did not believe them, but now she did.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wow, that was wonderful of you. I hope things got better for you. You deserved it.

Thank you for the compliment. It was a wild ride, but I would not change the next years after this for anything :)

I totally get that. Sometimes the wild rides are worth it.

How sweet, it's great helping people, even though it puts us in a struggling position. 👍

She looked so sad! I had no choice, and I hope going back to her dad was the best thing for her.

That was so sweet of you!! To help her.

I guess you didn't have Caleb then...

He was not even glimmer in my eye, but appeared three years later :)

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Howdy there fitinfun! Wow, you did a tremendously good deed there! Hey if this is too painful then just forget the question but if your marriage was a happy one what happened?

I think we just came to an end with differing goals and lives. In one year, we both graduated college, his son left for college, we both changed to travelling jobs, and could not keep it together. It was a really hard year for both of us. Then it all crashed down and I moved to a new state and got a whole new life. There was no hope by that point.

Howdy today fitinfun...well I'm sorry to hear that. Did you have your son with him? If not then you've probably not had any contact.

No, my son came three years later with a boyfriend who thought he wanted kids until I got pregnant. I left when I was 6 weeks along and only saw him twice after that. My son went to Denver when he was 18 to try to connect, but that did not happen.

oh ok, I'm sorry to hear that fitinfun and I'm sorry if I brought up bad memories! yikes that's bad and irresponsible and selfish of that guy.

I don't think he was ready for the responsibility or understood what it meant. I know my son and I had a more stable like without him, but I sure wish I could have found Caleb a good male role model or mentor. We had a lot of fails in that regard.

oh I understand fitinfun, it seems like that is the biggest fail in American marriages..well, one of them anyway, because the men take off.

In this case, I took off. We were living together and he started going out every night and coming home drunk after the bars closed late.

I was working really hard with long hours and just needed some sleep! My first couple months of pregnancy where very tiring anyway.

I moved out to a hotel and thought we might get back together. But we never did after that.

That was very nice of you to do that for her.

Thank you :)

That's great to help people, especially when they need our help. You are kind woman. I hope everything was OK in the life of this young girl.

Thank you for the compliment. People have helped me many times, so this was an easy one. I did not really meet her, but she stays in my thoughts.

It is so kind of you. I didn't gave my paycheck, at least I have given enough for a day meal to orphanage today before this read.

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received a 16% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99