Three years.

in #busy5 years ago

Gravity hurls the world around the sun one time each year. The start of a "year" is different, and a matter of perspective. Today's the start of my fourth year on the STEEM blockchain, which means that I have been here for three years, and a handful of seconds.

What have I done?

This screenshot from Steemitboard tends to sort that right out.

image.png
(Thanks to the team behind this site, Project Designer: @arcange Web Designer: @techybear Graphic Designer: @captaink)

THE CAR

What else have I done? Well, I did a thing to my car before I figured out what the difference between Steem and Steemit was.

image.png

THE SHITTY RPG

image.png

You can read about why I decided to make a shitty role playing game about Steem here:
https://steemit.com/gaming/@holoz0r/the-isle-of-steem-a-game-development-post-mortem-and-an-essay-in-obsolescence-and-pointlessness

You'll also find that I abandoned development for reasons of it not being financially viable to pursue development for a project with such a limited scope and audience, though; the response to the post-mortem was good.

It was a fun way to try and troll the community in a way that they knew they could never be trolled.

Little did I know, I trolled myself by wasting my time. I learned about game development, github, and other things along the way, though.

THE MEETUPS

This is probably the best part of the last three years that I've spent on the blockchain. @mattclarke's vision for a monthly meet up has exposed me to fantastic, and lovely human, individuals that I would have never ever encountered in my day to day to life.

THE FUTURE

I'm against Hardfork 21. I don't think it does a single thing to help onboard new content creators, and does nothing to assist existing content creators. As seen in the first screenshot of this post - it can't be said that I have contributed "nothing" to the chain.

I have received nearly 7000 Author reward SP, but find myself sitting sitting at 13000 SP - meaning that I have invested a fair bit into the platform beyond my time.

An average 7.2 SP per post isn't bad - and its a lot more than 0, if I were doing this gig on word press or something like that. The bear market, steemit inc's lack of governance, and the lack of vision, alignment, and differences of opinions on chain have led to a point where I simply feel that steem may be on its last legs from a price-stand point.

I want this opinion to be wrong. I really do. I recently sold a bunch of steem to buy a camera lens. That felt good.

I'm not going anywhere, because this is the only place where people tend to pay attention, anyway.

What to expect from me over this next year?

Watch me become a better photographer. :)

Sort:  

NOT..."THE SHITTY RPG"...more like THE SUPER COOL RPG!!!...especially the Jade building Chars hehe

Congrats on your success with Steem - if handled with care it can be a lucrative place, especially a place to meet cool people

Congratulations!

I fully agree with you regarding HF21, it will be a turning point for Steem, but I'm afraid that it is not for the better. Probably I'm a bit too negative these days, but I feel, like this is going to be the final blow for Steem. Only time will tell, but at least for now, I'm not too optimistic.

Happy steemiversary 😆

That game was fun 😆 I was sad when you stopped development but it was understandable.

I’m glad you’re not going anywhere 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you might be the only person who went to the effort to play it :)

Thank you!

I might go away on some journeys and breaks in the next year or two (I've posted almost once a day for almost all those three years!) - and think I should be entitled to some time off ;)

Yep you definitely deserve a break! And journeys and stuff means more photos for when you do want to post, win win 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

When I started on DTube, Steem was at it's highest point vs FIAT. I had no idea about Steem at all. That's when I discovered the meetings.

Since then the prices has dropped steadily and mostly consistently.

Today I checked my wallet to see it has dropped to US $0.19. It's back to US$0.21 but still, in real terms I have lost money.

There was so much talk of financial freedom or Steem going 'moon' etc.
But it really doesn't look like it anytime soon.

So many dApp developers have come and gone too. It's a shame too, because things like share2steem would have been great onboarding tools.

"I get paid to post photos to instagram".
The developer just needed to wait, but they might have had server running costs. Who knows?

Personally I just see it as a second bank account the welfare office doesn't know about. I can invest in myself mainly and join a wider community.

Posted using Partiko Android

The people are a big big boon. Its a huge pity most engagement is shallow. Thanks for taking the risk and coming to a meet, then sticking around.

Steem takes us all places.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think this is the benefit of The Jade, a central location that is easy to find and if people want to leave early they can give their apologies and do so without too much fuss.

It's not perfect, I wish it was better lit inside, and the outside area was warmer, but in the Summer months it's perfect.

Most engagement is shallow indeed, as we are largely held together by the common interest of Steem, it's price in FIAT and the future of the platform. We used to talk about financial freedom and paying off mortgages.

But people have come and gone, and I have most definitely made both friends and enemies on Steem. I won't mention any names here but I might have to bring it up at the next meeting.

I learned the hard way to not use facts, logic or science anywhere other than my own page.
In fact, I sometimes feel more censored here than I would on Facebook, but I mostly just share memes there. If people choose to get offended, that's their issue.

Congrats with your 3rd steemday!
Steem has changed a lot since you came aboard. I am only here for half your time and even I do see that it has changed! The blogging aspect is getting less and less important, the dapss are becoming more and more important!
I have reached my goal and became a dolphin. Just like you I do feel that it is time now to recuperate some of the investments. Only the timing couldn't be worse for me!
Steem keeps on slipping down the ranks! The more faith the steemcommunity has, the less faith the outside world has :(

Cheers,
Peter

Thanks mate.

I'm not sure if the Steem community's faith is misplaced. Feels like a cult some days!

Posted using Partiko Android

It indeed does! The absolute low is coming closer with the day! It looks like we are not connected with BTC anymore but not in the way we did want!
Still wonder how the downfall can be explained the best!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.260 which ranks you at #837 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 843).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95