Emotional rollercoaster

in #busy6 years ago

When I got to 14 years of age, my parents decided to buy a house in Belgium.
My dad did well in his business and it was a big house with 6000 square meters of land around it, for Belgium this is ever so much. We made it bigger, we build a 4 car garage in the garden and behind that, we made an indoor swimming pool.


It was a disaster for me in that way that Holland was much faster, going to a Belgium school was a shock. The girls of my age were still dressed as little children. Lipstick or mascara was not done at that age. Out for if that is correct or not, for someone who is used to use it, it feels they are taking away a personal right.
But omg what was it nice to live in that house and to grow up in it. Parties, loads! there was so much space everyone could stay the night, many people enjoyed me after partying with a swim in the very early morning hours. LOVED it!
But my dad died in 1990 and suffered Alzheimer he was 63 when he died. We then noticed he did not take care of the pool anymore like it should, and all the woodwork fall out of the sealing mosaic stones in the pool came to lose etcetera, my mum decided to not repair anymore, because it would cost too much, no one has a program of the concert of life and we never thought dad would die so young. The building itself did not get heated anymore, and it started really going backwards. The only thing we did, was fill it up with things we did not want to get rid of, we wanted to keep for another day just a handy place to stool things. The same we did with the enormous loft, my old room and my brother's old room. The living room of 80 square meters was filled with beautiful furniture out of date, on a carpet that was far off its best time.image.png
(http://www.equidomo.nl/nl/sint-jobsesteenweg-30-brasschaat)
You can also admire my home in this videoclip I never heard of Valentina, but I like the song and for sure love the clip :-) she sits in my bath!

My mum left this earth 4 years ago, and my brother wanted to keep the house, he paid me out on the lowest estimation, which I did not mind because he was going to live in it, and I wanted to make this possible for him. It also was easy to be able to leave all those things that were stored in the house. But now after he had it for 3 years, he noticed it was for him no option to keep it, and his wife absolutely did not want to live there, so they sold it. Now I thought I could get in and go with my brother through each drawer and cupboard, but he could not get himself to it, that is how come that I was only one day in my old house to run through the leftovers already been sorted by his wife and him. Although I did notice my brother left things, where I thought about; how in the heck can you leave that behind? I really think it hurts him so much to leave the house that he can not think straight anymore. That is how I now am in the position of his first edition Robbedoes (strip) his electric guitar, what I never was allowed to touch, his polar skates where he was so proud on and which were so good, his hammock that my mum bought in Suriname so it is a real authentic one, and even his old electro box, which must be from 1960. Anyway, I will keep it separate for him and give it back with Sinterklaas with a nice poem.
All my stuff in that I kept in the swimming pool was nearly disintegrated! disgusting... so we threw most of that straight in the container.

But in the loft I found my treasure :-) koffer 1.jpg
koffer_2
My dad's old suitcase from before or in wartime, and it was filled with letters and old stamps, cards from cities he visited and even contracted with his dad. But most in the suitcase was eaten by a black kind of moult, I saved what I still could read a bit and with a heavy heart thrown the rest, for I will never know what is written on those papers.
Also his little agenda from 1940, he was 13 then! where he writes, German now came in there and this happened in this country, and on the 10th of May, Germany falls in Holland. image.png

TREASURE
The last days I have been cleaning papers and the case itself. and now it stands ever so proud in the corner of my room, with all in it what I found of the history of my mum and dad. image.png

Memories,
7 so beautiful fur coats, long and short, premium quality where you can not do freakin anything with anymore this time, cause no one wants to wear them. Understandable, but them times people were not that conscious and I now have a capital of fur, worth next to nothing I think. And a load of cigars, which have belonged to my grandad who died in 1987 so I can not smoke them :-)
My house is filled with junk from top to bottom and slowly I work my way out of it. I took the old salon table and remembered how proud my mum was when they bought it, it is nutrootimage.png
or something special like that, I thought now would have been the right time to show my wood knots image.png
to @kus-knee but that contest is done a long time ago.
So many memories so many emotions, so hard and so beautiful.

Sort:  

This was a pleasure to read @janine-ariane

Not as much for the treasures, and beautiful imagery, but for the power of what these material items can do to ignite the feelings of nostalgia, and fond memories, even pain from the loss of loved one's, all coupled in a jumble of emotions.

I feel as though I can feel your emotions in this post. I think your father had a deep and respectable mind. (I've long since correlated this to past images you've presented us with) and I think you were fortunate to have such lovely parents.

I'm impressed with this blog Janine. You are getting really good at producing some quality stuff here! I commend you for your labors, and dedication to the platform. It's because of member like you, that Steemit will thrive.

I decided to resteem this. I really enjoyed every aspect of this, including the nice music. Thank you for giving us a glimpse into your past, and present life! @janine-ariane

I used upvote bots, to see what they do :-) now that steem is ow I quess the best thing to do is invest in your self, so once a week I use this :-) Thank you for all the compliments!

You're welcome! @janine-ariane

I agree with this notion. There are some reasonable arguments about bid bots, and I agree that they are not great for the economy of Steemit, but if the whales with the power used their votes they way they were intended, hard working Steemian's would not need to resort to paying themselves. I too use bid bots. No way I would be bringing in rewards even close to what I am getting now unless I did.

Thank you for taking part in my upvote contest. You've got my thumbs up ;-)

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from thanks to: @janine-ariane.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Wow, you received a lot of upvotes already, and what a story. I can imagine the emotional rollercoaster feeling.

Although I never lived in a house like that, nor had to clean out that much stuff, I can related to a few things you went through, on a smaller scale.

To me it sounds like you did the right thing, you tried to preserve the things that were valuable to you, have some kind of meaning.

I hope over time the good memories will remain, and the thoughts of the trouble of sorting out stuff before letting go of the house will vanish eventually.

bots for the upvotes in hope it reaches also more people :-) Once a week a little up push. :-) But the story is right out of my heart. Today I went to the buyers of the house to resque a kitbag also of my dad , but they did not find it anymore, not that they did not try ! they opened all cases that my brother left again to rumble to it. Took 2 tortus shields with me, which i do not like but throwing is ridicullous. And a old film 8mm projector I think 1960, and my brothers skies. The new owner are very friendly she said you can come back as much as you want also just for coffee. I love the fact that the house gets some loving again.

Yes that is the good part. This house deserves to be appreciated and looked after again. It is big though, lot of work. But there is also a lot to enjoy.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21