Gaming on the blockchain.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Everybody loves gaming, don't they?

What's more fun than gaming on an immutable blockchain that allows transparency and also keeps track of all the various activities that you do in the game like a permanent record?


Giphy

There are few different games on various blockchains like EOS and Tron. The ones that come to mind are EOS knights and Tronbet.

Neither of those were my cup of tea.

There was another game in which you collected small creatures and upgraded them and then battled them but I can't remember the name of it now, neither can I find it anywhere on Google.

A couple of days ago a new game came out for Steem though. We've got Steem Monsters and now we've also got Drug Wars.

I play a lot of Steem Monsters. I'm currently ranked 117th I think. That's pretty good considering that I'm pretty close to the top 100. I'm still only ranked Diamond two though which means that I should get 50 reward cards this season.

Yes, you get rewarded for playing Steem Monsters. The cards aren't necessarily worth much, but there's always a chance that you will get lucky. It's a lot of fun to get rewarded like that.

Is the game play to win? That's a big question when it comes to blockchain gaming. With Steem Monsters you don't have to buy more than your starter deck if you just want tool around at the bottom, but if you want to actually get anywhere with the game then you do need to buy new cards.

It takes a lot of money to upgrade the cards.

However, that's how card games like this work. I will say that my deck is worth more than I paid for it.

That's the cool thing about Steem Monsters. You can find a good deal on cards, and when you buy them you're actually making an investment. One that you can play with and get reward cards for.

Pretty cool because there's no telling which way cryptocurrencies are going to go. Do you need to invest a lot in order to have fun with this game?

Well you actually do need to put quite a bit of money and if you want to compete with the big dogs.

However, once you put that money it's not completely lost in the game. You can sell your cards, you can buy different cards, you can get reward cards, and most of all you've got an investment that seems like it's going to go up.

I like the idea of that.

Now there's another game on the Steem blockchain called Drug Wars.

I never played the original Drug Wars game that this one is based on, and I didn't know anything about it..... but I can tell you that Drug Wars is mostly about waiting.

If you don't want to wait for something to get built then you can pay real money in order to bypass that. They take Steem.

At first it doesn't seem like much. You can pay $0.05 to upgrade this building or $0.10 to upgrade another one.

The game actually pays you real Steem every day for the amount of drug production that you have. The higher the amount of drug production, the more Steem you get paid everyday. If you invest drugs in the heist you can also get paid everyday from that.

The problem is that you eventually run into a system that requires you to put more Steem in for you to get away from the waiting screens. I can't do anything with my game right now unless I get more resources.

I've already put something like 66 Steem into this game.

I got paid 5 Steem today and looks like I'm going to get paid 4.6 Steem tomorrow. Maybe it's diminishing returns. At first I was thinking you might be able to get a nice ROI but now I'm not so sure.

I like the concept of a strategy game on the Steem blockchain and I like the way this game looks, but I don't like the fact that every single aspect of it can be bypassed by paying real money.

I'm probably not going to put any more money into this game for a while. I'd like to see if you actually do get a return on your investment. I don't know if it's an investment, or if you're just throwing money to get your buildings built.

I know a few more games are coming to the Steem blockchain and I really look forward to them. I'd like to see a pure strategy game that doesn't involve waiting, and doesn't involve putting Steem in to bypass that waiting.

Still, I think it was okay to put the 66 Steem in either way just because it supports the developer.

If you want to check out Steem monsters, I think you'll have a good time. If you want to upgrade your cards and put some money into the game, I don't see any reason to feel bad about that. I think it's a great investment actually.... and I've certainly done so.

If you want to put money into Drug Wars that might be a good idea too, but I would definitely watch the amount you put in. There's no guarantee that you're going to get a return on your investment with that one. However, I think it's a fun game.

I just wouldn't want to spend my entire bankroll on it.

Gaming on the blockchain has a lot of new exciting features coming up, so be careful what you spend your money on.... but be sure to have a good time.

Sort:  

Hey I like the breakdown of your experience. I've played Drug Wars when it was out in its 1st installment. I think im going to do some reminiscing tonight!!! Enjoyed the post.

I agree with what you say about drug wars. It seems like a lot of waiting for your assets to upgrade. There are battles in there if you buy units but I haven't done that yet. I just put about 4 and 1/2 Steem into it and got back almost two and a half Steem so far.

So I'm just getting into it and it's okay so far. It might become more fun later when I acquired some assets and some fighting units. It was similar with steam monsters for me. I bought some cards but I didn't really know what to do with them is there really was no way to play them at the very beginning. once the battling started, then I really started to enjoy the game and I still play it everyday.

Let's see what new games come out next!

Posted using Partiko Android

gotta agree.. seems like it's one of those things you know you will do better at if you invest..

I have also try out the game and all i can say is that it is a great game but what is giving me comcern is how the steem pool is increasing day by day

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Paying 1 steem to upgrade a building that gives you 2 steem a day.

Patience young frankenstien!

Grind it out and don't pay for instant satisfaction.....
Although, that Cusina is lit!
Serious drugs in there^^^

Try 66 for 5 Steem a day. If you managed to get 2 Steem for one a day than you lucked out.

the building that will give me an extra steam per day cost something like 20 steam to upgrade right now.

That's awesome that the cards are a game and also an investment. Hopefully they continue to rise in price. Just know when to sell. Prices in these types of investments tend to peak and then dwindle to nothing as people lose interest and move on to other things (Its the same with hockey cards, pokemon cards...etc). Sometimes rare cards stay valueable but not always. If you get stuck with the cards though sometimes you can wait 20 years and then sell them to people seeking nostalgia for a game they played when they were young. Things often make comebacks in a sort of second wave.
Sounds like you're doing quite well in the game and having fun which is the most important thing. 117 is quite good :)
Hopefully more of these types of game continue to be developed. I think they are great for the platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love crypto games, those you have listed are great!..haha Don't forget IBT Survival Island though - Oh that's right I haven't finished building yet. It's a struggle for us game makers I've been running comps/games for long before these ones that pay players, but hardly get a notice or an upvote..Why? I suspect people want to pay to play (as it means some hope of a big prize) Still I do it for the love of Steem and for the players first, me second :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95