Standard Ensign saloon car classic or old banger?

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I spotted this Standard Ensign saloon car on a visit to the dentist yesterday and wondered what the difference is between a classic car and an old banger?

IMG_20190511_003512_675.jpg

Built between 1957 - 1961 it was as the name states...Standard!

IMG_20190511_003615_302.jpg

Consider the cars that were being produced in the same time period? The Rolls Royce Silver Cloud is a good example of a car which was anything but standard. The height of luxury and technology.
IMG_20190511_003656_658.jpg

The dentists receptionist told me that this car was still in daily use!?

This 62 year old, old banger is still running which is pretty impressive.

Rolls Royce Silver Clouds are as rare as hens teeth.

280px-RollsRoyceSilverCloud1_1959.jpg

Source

Both the cars are classic in terms of age but only one has retained it value. Can you guess which one.

I'm writing this post from a beautiful old manor house hotel in surrey after a great night out at a murder mystery.

IMG_20190510_165019.jpg

Goodnight folks and no. The butler didn't do it

Sort:  

It's definitely not as cool as the Rolls Royce, but it's still a neat old car! I would drive it, but I probably wouldn't haul hay in it. Did you really get to spend the night in that huge house? How fun! Was it creepy?

Yep just got back from the manor house. It was a fun murder too. We figured out the murderer which turned out interesting.

This place is in 16 acres of beautiful woodlands and so quiet you could hear a mouse fart in the next field.

Not spooky at all but I can see how it would seem that way. 😱

Posted from my alt account.

Thank you. I will be giggling about mouse farts all day!

Posted using Partiko Android

😂 glad it gave you a laugh
😋

I like old cars.. and that house is huge

It's a right old banger and still used as a daily driver. Not bad for a 60+ year old car.

The manor house was palatial and stunning inside too.

Howdy sir molometere! I haven't heard of a Ensign car before, that was the name of my hometown growing up in Kansas though. That Silver Cloud is a magnificent beauty! wow. But both are "classics." lol.
Hey, what did you mean by " great night out at a murder mystery." ?

I'd never seen one either. Ensign were built for a few years here. How weird that it was the name of your hometown?

The murder mystery was a present for my wife's birthday. I'm doing a post on it today.

Oh great, about the murder mystery, because it's a mystery to me at this point!
Yes, the car name if very interesting indeed! Now I'd like to have one and drive it around Ensign!

That would be fun and this old jalopy would turn a few heads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59