Cost of Living: Do I Live in the Same Place?

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2019-08-13 at 5.43.49 PM.png

Source

I continue to watch the financial markets in general as I am trying to balance out my approach of saving and investing for the future with regulating my expenses to enable the first more purposefully. The markets continue to be volatile and I do not think it will end anytime soon which is why I am still staying away despite the urge to participate to capture some opportunities to get my capital working once again. However, the inconsistencies with metrics and what I experience on a daily basis while living continues to concern me as something does not feel right.

There was a bit of a buzz this morning as the Consumer Price Index (CPI) which is a key measure of inflation ticked higher as Energy and Housing costs continue to increase. These inflationary pressures concern many market participants but given the long time it has been relevantly tamed, most have become complacent with these indications as many believe these are short term fluctuations. However, I cannot seem to tie this with my experiences I live on a daily basis with my family.

Screen Shot 2019-08-13 at 6.20.24 PM.png

Source

I understand that fuel changes price everyday but aside from this cost, doesn’t it feel that maintaining a vehicle or even driving one is more expensive than it once was? The cost of repairs, parts, and use of my vehicle has grown quite a bit as I remember it. I recall going to a Quick Lube place and paying $20 to get my car up to date and ready to go. Now, that seems to be like $50 and always with the need to change something different which adds to the cost. Even driving is expensive as tolls and parking have become ridiculous. I remember when going to a hospital did not have a component of paying for parking but that has all changed! It is incredible that using a car sharing service seems cheaper than actually owning a car these days.

I won’t even get into Housing costs but I have genuinely begun to reconsider home ownership given maintenance, repairs, insurance, and taxes! Not only does it cost more these days but the effort and stress it causes must be an added cost I have yet to consider. The fact is that living is becoming more costly. I have been trying to become more conscientious of my expenses and while I see where there are many opportunities, it seems that the cost of living in many aspects has become a luxury. I am embarrassed to really go into details as I may sound ungrateful or spoiled but the reality is that this must be unsustainable as I humble myself to seeing the basics we truly need.

The thought crosses my mind that there are so many factors in our economy given the way debt and derivatives have impacted the capital markets without really being transparent about its implications. I see and read these indicators but feel (and pay) others. I had a boss years ago that was old fashioned and always would tell me “the way to know how you are doing financially is to touch and hear the money in your pocket.” Despite being well off, I don’t feel it at all which makes me think that there is more to consider for which we do not know. Just more reasons to remain cautious as the ups and down of the markets continue around us.

Screen Shot 2019-08-13 at 6.21.42 PM.png

Source

It also continues to bring me back to adding to assets that store value over time like precious metals and cryptocurrencies (some). Taking more control of our assets is only the beginning as we need to ensure that the consumerism addiction does not eat into our savings as some may be needed if things take a turn for the worst. I may have started too late to be fully prepared but every little bit could help in case of extreme “black swan” events that could occur. However, just like driving a car, it doesn’t matter how careful you are as the recklessness of others could impact your safety no matter the precautions you take. Buckle up, it could be a bumpy ride!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Introducing DCLICK: An Incentivized Ad platform by Proof of Click. - Steem based AdSense.

Hello, Steemians. Let us introduce you a new Steem B...

Sort:  

The government sure likes to flog that 2% inflation figure for years when it feels more like 8% inflation on goods and services we actually use.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are only allowed to buy things on the CPI, otherwise you are screwed.

The ministry of finance is notorious for leaving out energy, food, and taxes out of the CPI calculations.

Posted using Partiko Android

Because you know, those don't count for living expenses.

Just more examples of how they exclude a large sector of the population and those that really are in the middle of it all. The pinch is tough for many and any hiccup causes plenty of pain because of it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Everything is definitly getting more expensive. I notice the price increase in groceries, especially fresh produce. A few months back I was literally like "damn, does celery cost 5 bucks now!?!?! That can't be right." Hahaha
Investing in assets like precious metals and such is probably a smart move if we are heading into uncertain times.

I remember the time when my trip to the supermarket were $20-30! Now, they are never below $100 for a couple of bags of groceries. Not only that but also the size of the packages get smaller so we are paying more for less!

Posted using Partiko iOS

In Finland, the change in prices has been rapid with some things going up 50% in the space of a year or two. CPIs are no longer well suited to a culture that uses a lot of additional goods and services that they do not track.

It seems they include items for convenience as I know that health and education are incredibly inflationary here. I would estimate 20% inflation easily on those two alone!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Do they factor in the price of subscriptions? Netflix added 25% recently at least in Europe.

Probably not! They still don’t know the internet exists sometimes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The world is slowly going to shit and many people don't even see it, we now have negative interest in many countries, most assets are in huge bubbles, I'm trying to store my value in assets but it's hard knowing where to put my money, gold and BTC seem like the obvious places, but what else?

Owning a house and renting it sounds good, I mean we all need to live somewhere, and the land and house will always be yours, so I guess that's a bonus... but is the housing market in a bubble too?? Should I wait? This whole thing is really hard to know what to do...

My approach is to do it all and scale into the positions as we never know the timing of the ups and downs that occur. I am overweight in real estate but it hasn’t really played out for me but maybr it will in the long run.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.787 which ranks you at #1481 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 149 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99