Jag or Moke?

in #busy6 years ago

“Floor it!”

Did you just imagine yourself in a newly glossed old school low rumbling high powered pristine prestigious automobile badged Jaguar?... or did your cortex flash images of a taxi yellow moke, bmx stunting its way down a dirt getaway track after you and your protégés have just nascar style entered the vehicle as a result of a hasty retreat - after one of you is forced to hop out and give it a bit of a push start.

There’s no denying a sweet sweet ride once you’ve had the opportunity to experience one. The ease in which the amount of horse power delivered through what seemingly evolves into a fragile shell supported by a long flat stretch of bitumen can take your senses and your heart rate to another plane of existence. Some, in fact a lot of people make it one of their life goals to own such a machine and are fortunate enough to make it happen. There is a certain adrenaline rush to be had from such prestige and accompanied by the inevitable injection of confidence and power to be had by driving such a beast, I can really appreciate where the desire comes from. I’ve also stamped my admiration ticket for the quality craftsmanship and genius ingenuity that it takes for the design of such a seamless system. I definitely wouldn’t say no if one happened to end up in my driveway, by legitimate means of course. I would have to make sure I’d pay my dues to it every so often and blow the spider webs out the exhaust on one of those long flat roads I mentioned earlier.

On the opposing spectrum the humble moke has its own charm to be admired. A moke is like a staffy, it’s tough, it’s rough and no matter how much you mid air chest pump each other or paint it’s nails, it will keep on keepin on and love you unconditionally for it. Just remember to give it some fuel, maybe, or throw your left over beer in the tank, it’ll probably keep going for you. Your moke can take your brutal honesty and your second class patch-me-up jobs and substitute Macgyver parts on the chin, in fact if you got classy parts for it, it may take offence. Oh no, I just felt a rain drop ricochet off my shoulder, it’s fine, that’s what tarps are for! Tarp on, roll out! No judgement amongst friends and doors on cars just get in the way. Never mind the wild cats that take shelter in there over night, perhaps I’ll leave some milk out for them next time. Charming right?.. maybe not entirely sustainable or safe, let’s just say if it got stolen, and if it were stolen it’d be only for a laugh, it’d be like spotting the elephant in the room. I wouldn’t expect any of this from my Jag.

Let’s just say the difference between the two cars are chalk and cheese on all levels. They both offer extreme differences of comfort, luxury or lack of, safety, aesthetics, accessibility and ease. One requires the utmost attention to detail and precise clockwise then counter clockwise waxing motions and the other is raw fundamental mechanics, no fancy pants required. I like to think I like myself a Jag, but at this point in time I’ma jive with a moke because I know the Jag will end up in the garage making its own prestigious collection of dust particles. To me, the moke is free spirited and I wouldn’t jump off a cliff after it while watching it take my self worth with it. RI-burning-P moke, I’ll just walk to the store today.

** The wheels on the stuff go round and round

Image Source
Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

I have a confession; I'm a terrible passenger. I hate being helpless in the passenger seat.
Everyone but me drives too close to the car in front, takes little notice of their blind spot, doesn't pay enough attention to what's going on ahead... they're all accidents waiting to happen (at least that's how it feels from the passenger seat).
I'm an incredibly cautious driver.
After twenty years without insurance, every drive is an exercise in vigilance and foresight.

So true, some lady nearly hit me today as she ran a red light as I was crossing the road.

What a crazy, let free and wild. I’m glad she didn’t actually get you. It’s dangerous when impatience kicks in and people get a bit pushy, even with pedestrians. Funny you don’t even have to look at the driver to pick up on their mood

It was a real-estate agent car so I think they were in a hurry.

image.png

Oh goood gracious 20 years without insurance will absolutely make you a keen driver, funny you mention it I’ve just been thinking about not having any!

If I offered to pay you for crippling somebody they'd lock me up in the psych ward; but when SGIC does it, suddenly it's not just noble, it's mandatory.

funny how a bit of perspective changes things!

The wheels on the stuff go round and round

This made me laugh properly out loud. Now it'll be stuck in my head all day.

Hahaaa I’m so glad that made you laugh! It’s fun when little things like that catch you off guard.

You got a 40.19% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @stuffing!

A car is a car is a car dear. If it starts and goes from here to there it served its purpose. I think if one needs one to feel better one should probably see a urologist about an enlargement of sorts. Let's face it, if it is increasing in value it's really old and you can never drive it, the rest of the time they just cost money, lots of it so I'd rather just put the money in the bank and be able to take an exotic vacation with it at some point. How you doing?

Oh now you speak-a my language. A car can be expensive and nice but as you say, I'd rather an amazing holiday, discover parts unknown meet new people, challenge view points and just break mentally and physically. I'm good, I feel like quite a few people are going through a bit of an ebb at the moment, so just riding it out ready for the flow! How are you?

Yes yes yes. Must be something in the air with all the tough challenges flying around. Alive and kicking dear, glad you're well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99