You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Busy Math (Something's Very Wrong)

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

The percentage is typically over the last day, so if they still had the bugged price 24 hours ago it's going to calculate the change from that.

They're still doing the math backwards, though. A drop from $17 or whatever to $1.31 isn't a 1700% drop, it's a 85% drop. But that's just using the wrong price in the denominator.

Sort:  

I figured it was a 24 hour period they were looking at, but even then, you can't lose more than 100% of the value. It doesn't add up (or down). I thought it was funny, so I figured I'd do a quick post on it.

I don't know what the previous number they were looking at is, but I would guess that assuming the previous number had been correct that the drop would have been around 80-90%. Since we know the previous number was wrong, we can disregard any percentage change for the time being.

Hey, someone, maybe @glenalbrethsen told me (or resteemed) that you're doing a program where you help community-minded individuals work their way to dolphin status. Are you still accepting application for that? I know there are probably lots of strong candidates, but I do what I can to help others, I haven't self-voted in approx 2 months, and I am regularity in the top 10-20 of abh12345's weekly engagement league. I'd like to be considered if you'd be willing.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

I'm sorry to say it wasn't me who resteemed it, and I'm not remembering telling anyone about it, though I know I read a post to that effect a while back. Sorry. Hopefully you can still get in, though. :)

You were the one who first introduced me to @tcpolymath, so I'm still giving you credit. :)

Well, if you say so. That's feeling indirect at best, but hey, I don't need to be shutting down any kind of praise. Keep on heaping it on and I'll fake it until I make it. :) How about we turn up the hype a little more. Like I'm the guy who wrote that post that everyone read about that thing that caused this other thing and then there was, you know, like this chain reaction and all of some, wham, whoa dude. Awesome. :)

No drugs or other outside stimulants were used in the creation of that last sentence.

Scary. I know. :)

Yes, but how do you know Jon Singer?

(A guess, but looking at your posts, maybe a likely one.)

Jon Singer? Hmmmm. Well, let's see. Uh. Nope. I got nothing. :)

I don't know Jon Singer. What's his handle? I looked him up, but couldn't find him.

He's a mad scientist who is a ridiculous social hub in the science fiction/fantasy community. The sort of person that it seems like everyone knows somehow. I thought Glen might know him.

Okay. So you were were referring to some of my more 'creative' posts. :)

Yeah, sorry. Sounds like someone I probably should know, but I don't. Not in person, or by his works. Should I look him up? You've described him as a mad scientist, which may or may not be good, depending on how you feel about mad scientists.

I haven't heard of him. I might have to look him up. Thanks for the link to his Patreon. That makes finding him much easier. :D

Ha ha, sounds like you're having a good night. :P Whatever praise you need, buddy!

It is kinda scary, but it's probably healthier for you in the long-run.

Oh, I think I'm doing okay. Just waded through the steemitblog HF 20 update on the bandwidth redesign. I think it will be better for newbie experiences, but I don't profess to get it all yet. I am kind of winding down, so it wasn't probably the best time to go wading into some more weedier facts. The comment from smooth made me feel dumb, though, because I had no idea what he was talking about. :)

I read through that and it seems that they have some good ideas for making it easier for newbies to be able to post. I don't think it's going to impact either of us too much, but I'm hopeful that it will help the new user experience.

I got there before smooth, so I didn't see his comment. I just went back and read it and I don't really know what he's talking about either. There are some really smart and really technical people on here and sometimes I'm just not able to roll with them. That's ok, I wasn't trained for it and so much of this stuff is new. Good for him for understanding. It's probably one of the reasons that he's a top person on here. He knew what was happening soon enough to get in early, and now he's reaping the rewards.

You're eligible if you want to apply on the post, which is the third or fourth one back on my account. There are lots of very strong candidates, though.

Sounds great! Hey, it's probably not a slam-dunk, but you can't win if you don't enter, right? Thanks for the opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85