Busy Math (Something's Very Wrong)

in #busy6 years ago


Source

If you've used Busy.org to post, you know that on the right side there's a small box showing the prices of cryptocurrencies mentioned in the article. Sometimes this is helpful. Other times, like when HitBTC was pumping the price of SBD to over $30, the price on Busy was less than helpful. It seems that they use coinmarketcap.com as their source, and CMC is once again excluding the outlier from their numbers.

Something else that isn't too helpful, listing the price percentage change incorrectly. Granted, this shouldn't be your only indicator of when to buy a crypto or stock, and you should do more research, but still, this could be a primary indicator, and if the information is to be valuable, it needs to be correct.

Check out the following picture and see if you can spot the issue before I mention it...

image.png

Did you catch it?

That's right, Busy.org is saying that SBD lost over 1,700% of it's value!

So you're telling me that if I owned SBD yesterday and still hold it today, that instead of holding $1.35 per share, I now OWE over $20.00 for every share I hold?!!

After all, you can't lose more than 100% of the value of your asset without going into debt, so either I'm now in a (small) amount of debt, or the numbers are fishy... sorry, I meant Busy... wait, wrong. They're wrong.

If someone cares to give alternate explanation on this math, I'd love to hear how SBD could lose more than 100% of its value!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Busy made a boo-boo.

It's still young. That happens sometimes. ;)

The percentage is typically over the last day, so if they still had the bugged price 24 hours ago it's going to calculate the change from that.

They're still doing the math backwards, though. A drop from $17 or whatever to $1.31 isn't a 1700% drop, it's a 85% drop. But that's just using the wrong price in the denominator.

I figured it was a 24 hour period they were looking at, but even then, you can't lose more than 100% of the value. It doesn't add up (or down). I thought it was funny, so I figured I'd do a quick post on it.

I don't know what the previous number they were looking at is, but I would guess that assuming the previous number had been correct that the drop would have been around 80-90%. Since we know the previous number was wrong, we can disregard any percentage change for the time being.

Hey, someone, maybe @glenalbrethsen told me (or resteemed) that you're doing a program where you help community-minded individuals work their way to dolphin status. Are you still accepting application for that? I know there are probably lots of strong candidates, but I do what I can to help others, I haven't self-voted in approx 2 months, and I am regularity in the top 10-20 of abh12345's weekly engagement league. I'd like to be considered if you'd be willing.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

I'm sorry to say it wasn't me who resteemed it, and I'm not remembering telling anyone about it, though I know I read a post to that effect a while back. Sorry. Hopefully you can still get in, though. :)

You were the one who first introduced me to @tcpolymath, so I'm still giving you credit. :)

Well, if you say so. That's feeling indirect at best, but hey, I don't need to be shutting down any kind of praise. Keep on heaping it on and I'll fake it until I make it. :) How about we turn up the hype a little more. Like I'm the guy who wrote that post that everyone read about that thing that caused this other thing and then there was, you know, like this chain reaction and all of some, wham, whoa dude. Awesome. :)

No drugs or other outside stimulants were used in the creation of that last sentence.

Scary. I know. :)

Yes, but how do you know Jon Singer?

(A guess, but looking at your posts, maybe a likely one.)

Jon Singer? Hmmmm. Well, let's see. Uh. Nope. I got nothing. :)

I don't know Jon Singer. What's his handle? I looked him up, but couldn't find him.

He's a mad scientist who is a ridiculous social hub in the science fiction/fantasy community. The sort of person that it seems like everyone knows somehow. I thought Glen might know him.

Ha ha, sounds like you're having a good night. :P Whatever praise you need, buddy!

It is kinda scary, but it's probably healthier for you in the long-run.

Oh, I think I'm doing okay. Just waded through the steemitblog HF 20 update on the bandwidth redesign. I think it will be better for newbie experiences, but I don't profess to get it all yet. I am kind of winding down, so it wasn't probably the best time to go wading into some more weedier facts. The comment from smooth made me feel dumb, though, because I had no idea what he was talking about. :)

I read through that and it seems that they have some good ideas for making it easier for newbies to be able to post. I don't think it's going to impact either of us too much, but I'm hopeful that it will help the new user experience.

I got there before smooth, so I didn't see his comment. I just went back and read it and I don't really know what he's talking about either. There are some really smart and really technical people on here and sometimes I'm just not able to roll with them. That's ok, I wasn't trained for it and so much of this stuff is new. Good for him for understanding. It's probably one of the reasons that he's a top person on here. He knew what was happening soon enough to get in early, and now he's reaping the rewards.

You're eligible if you want to apply on the post, which is the third or fourth one back on my account. There are lots of very strong candidates, though.

Sounds great! Hey, it's probably not a slam-dunk, but you can't win if you don't enter, right? Thanks for the opportunity.

busy.org once uses hitbtc api for their price calculation but lately it seems they have changed it to another exchanger api, and maybe forgot to also change the percentage difference but rather still reflect that of hitbtc @themanwithnoname

Yeah, the math still doesn't add up. You can't have a loss greater than 100% in this context. :)

Busy is young, and busy is going to make mistakes, and this one as far as it goes is rather benign, so worth a smile.

I'm going to try to not be too critical of Steemit or Busy, but at some point, it would be nice to just not have glitches. I hope that's not asking a whole lot. It would just make me feel like the sites are secure. That's all.

Oh, I'm not all upset about it. Not that big a deal. I just thought it was funny that they put something so crazy up there. I don't even know what math that used to get there. It doesn't make sense. They probably did $25/ $1.35 (or something close) and then made it negative to show the loss, as in a negative gain from where we are to where we were.

Yes, when I see grammar errors and glitches on websites, it makes me worry that my info isn't safe. If they haven't checked spelling, or checked that their site works correctly, how do I know that they did their due diligence on security?

U donut. Witch iz eggsacly meye 👉. :)

I wasn't thinking you were upset. I was trying not to be. At least not over that. Just the cumulative effect of everything. I don't know. I've only been here a little over five months and I suppose that's not enough time to have very many expectations yet, but man, it would be nice to quit calling all of these places beta sites and just get on with it. :)

I wasn't thinking you were upset. I was trying not to be. At least not over that. Just the cumulative effect of everything. I don't know. I've only been here a little over five months and I suppose that's not enough time to have very many expectations yet, but man, it would be nice to quit calling all of these places beta sites and just get on with it.

I know what you mean. One little thing might not be an issue, but when you add all of them together, it gets discouraging. I don't understand why they don't work a little harder to make the user experience better now so that the early adopters stick around and help make it a great place for the future adopters. Once people get burned, they don't often go back. I don't see the people who have already left coming back when Steemit emails them to say that SMTs are here and that all the problems are fixed. Steemit has sort of a Zuckerberg approach to customers which is "F them, they're stupid." It's a paraphrase. The real version is below. I edited for language.

Source

re: zuckerberg

Okay, so that's not so scary or anything.

re: cumulative effect

I think part of what I'm feeling is a conversation that got started on the introduction of steempeak.com, yet another steemit-like front end. It was in steemhunt format—which I'm kind of getting tired of seeing, too, but that's a different story—and it's supposed to have all of these features coming, but they're already announcing it and wanting people to come over now before it's done, I guess.

Well, instead of me thinking, oh, they want beta testers, or something like that, I go over there with the mindset that it's ready for primetime. Because that's how it was presented.

Well, the thing took longer to load than Steemit on a bad day. So, I went back to the post and saw a comment from a guy who said the site loaded slower than Steemit and I concurred with his assessment.

Then some other guy said that the site was now faster, which was fine, but then proceeded to tell me I should at least consider that the project has only been around for a month. It was a very nice and polite way of telling me that I shouldn't be complaining, or in this case, agreeing with the other guy. I did go and say some other things like if it was slower and more bare in features than Steemit why bother or something like that. It was kind of harsh, probably, but it's like, can't anyone make functioning websites? I mean, this used to make or break websites. Is that no longer the case?

I still haven't replied. I might, if I can come up with something civil to say. I'm the user. I don't think I need to consider anything. I think the people putting things out in a month from concept to delivery should consider that it's not ready for public use, or they should consider they're going to get some feedback that they might not like.

I hadn't heard of that and if I had tried it and found it to be so terrible, I probably would not go back to it. I don't believe in the Microsoft approach which is to crank out the products, and then just patch them later. I think a product should be at least 95% functional before they put it out. And that's still on the low end. Things should just work. If you're going to recruit people to use your product, make it easy for them. It's supposed to solve problems for them, not make more. The whole point is that you're trying to convert them from something else. You can't do that by just saying that you're something different and people should use it even though it's worse than what you're trying to replace. Come on!

I don't understand why people can't just wait another day, or week, or month and take the time to get a working product. Make it nice so that people will actually be able to use it correctly and have it make their lives easier. I wish I couldn't believe (but I really should expect) that people will do stuff like your steempeak example. It's not a great way to do business if you ask me. And even if you don't ask me, I still think it's not a great way to do business. ;)

Yep. Same page, man. I understand beta testing, that's great. and it's probably not the steempeak people's fault that it's being steemhunted, but since most of those are just parroting what the website or the box is saying, I don't know how much blame I should put on him, either. It just wasn't the best of things, and I probably should have waited. I have gone back, though and it is remarkably faster and there are some features which are kind of cool which exist now. But I probably won't go back to it for a couple more weeks until the rest of the features roll out. Like right now, it defaults to the trending page even if you are signed in, and then you have to go looking around for your own feed. I don't know, things like that.

I'm actually waiting to see how sugarsteem turns out. Hopefully it will hit its goal dates and have a working prototype up and running before summer is over.

I hadn't heard of sugarsteem either. There are apparently a lot of projects out there that are making headway toward creating a better user experience.

I tried out Steempeak and wasn't impressed. Maybe it was because you said it was slow, but even after reading their article on Steemit that their site was running faster, it still seemed slow.

I went through and outlined a few things that I think they could do better. We'll see what their response is. I don't really care as Busy seems to be doing the job for me, but if they really want to make a go of it and make it nice, I'd consider using it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93