Calligraphy: The designing process of the signaturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #calligraphy5 years ago

DSC_0239.JPG
A few papers was used during it.

In the beginning I didn't really have any specific design in my mind for the signature that I'd use at the end of my posts, thus, I just started scraping something.

DSC_0242.JPG

DSC_0243.JPG

DSC_0244.JPG

Until I picked up the idea for the C with a fancy curl.

DSC_0245.JPG

And then I got the idea I could just make the bottom of the C long to underscore the rest of the letters. From hereon the overall design started to get refined.

DSC_0246.JPG

Now it was just a matter of "getting it right".

DSC_0247.JPG

DSC_0251.JPG

This turned out pretty good, although still not perfect: the bottom curve of C turned out not perfectly smooth. Letters (e and l) are also slightly inconsistent, but imperfection is beautiful, or so I've heard being said so, whatever. Makes it look authentic handwriting at least. Anyway, the underscore on the other hand turned out perfect with this one so I just decided to roll with it.

Since I don't have a scanner (and was too lazy to go ask in the library if they had one), I just took the photo (the one above) of it with my camera and did some shenanigans to it with Gimp and got it like this:

celestal fullsize.png

I made it so that the background is transparent so it isn't surrounded by a white box which would be especially visible in dark more, and I didn't make the text pitch black because I still wanted to remain some of the dynamic visible.

Then of course I just scaled it down to a neat size which is bit more aesthetic than a full-size signature from side-to-side. All in all, I'm pretty happy how it turned out.

celestal final brighter.png

Sort:  

Practice paid off, it looks pristine and familiarly-ancient somehow <3

Thanks, what a specific description! I'm glad you like it :D

NICE! I have been wanting to make something like this too, awesome to see your process. By the way: I don't have a scanner either but as a freelancer I regularly need to save receipts and stuff, and on my iPhone I have 'Tiny Scanner' - basically take a picture and they make it into a perfect scan/pdf/jpg. No need anymore for a real scanner, results are pretty much the same!

Cheers, love the end result :-)

By the way: I don't have a scanner either but as a freelancer I regularly need to save receipts and stuff, and on my iPhone I have 'Tiny Scanner' - basically take a picture and they make it into a perfect scan/pdf/jpg. No need anymore for a real scanner, results are pretty much the same!

Oh, that's convenient. There's probably a similar app for Android too.

Cheers, love the end result :-)

Thanks! :)

Really nice going there :) Your new signature looks classy!

Thanks, Honey :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Long way to go to the end bro

Posted using Partiko iOS

To the end of the post? To the end of our lives?

It wasn’t absolute..depend by your perseption or everyone else

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.195 which ranks you at #2982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #73.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 19.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98