Sort:  

Thanks :) Yeah a fan has been on my want list for a long time but there's no budget for it yet. I blow on them and fan them manually often enough that they're not fragile, but a fan would obviously be easier and more effective. Just the money issue.
I've thought of taking off the plastic cover, but I find it diffuses the light in an advantageous way (tends to direct it downward, but scattered). It also prevents any tall shoots from being burned off by the tubes.
One thing though, is I'm going to buy new tubes. These ones are 30 years old (original when the box was made by my dad). They're less efficient than they were when they were new. Besides, I imagine tube technology has improved a little. I saw some $8 tubes at a local hardware store, specially made for plant growth. I'm also looking at some cheap but effective red and blue LED strips to line the box rim.
I was homeless all 2017, with my ballast (inherited from my gardening grandparents) in a storage unit. Now I have a place (a miracle in Vancouver), enough coming in to pay the rent (also a feat), and I'm slooooowly upgrading my little indoor garden. Thanks for your patience, and your help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91