You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buttercup's Nervous System & Sunday Feels

in #cars6 years ago

So nice, and so simple! I love how you described your day of gardening, making soup while your husband is knee deep in something that requires full focus. Every time I read your posts about the various car and truck projects I get excited and want to start one myself!

When I was 17, I used all my saved up money I made over a few years while working at a local grocery store to buy an old fully wooden sailboat. I spend many many hours during a full summer to strip down and rebuild the boat back into a new state.

The process of first creating a big mess out of something you've just put all your money in and then getting it back into perfect condition was a great life lesson for me.

My dad had helped me along the way, teaching me some woodworking skills while working on the boat. It was a great bonding experience for the both of us as well! The first time my dad and I put her in the water, went out on the open sea, and hoisted her sails for the first time after the renovation was the best feeling!

Man while writing this I realize I should get some of my old pictures out and write a post about it!

I hope Buttercup is doing alright. Not having a nervous system sounds scary :)

Sort:  

That sounds like a lovely memory and you should absolutely write about it. What a nice memory about your dad.

It did take all day for him to do it. He does have a lot of patience. Buttercup is fine she's just going through a bit of a restoration. As he is putting her on a new chassis he thought he may as well do all the other things that would make her run better and generally more reliable when we are in the middle of an adventure. Sadly it means that we can't drive her of course but it be all the more fun when we do. Thanks for your lovely comment. I hope you are well. I heard the weather has been quite hot over there.

Thanks, I guess I have to do some serious digging in the basement to get the pictures of the sailboat out :)

Currently, it's 33 degrees. What you could call hot! Didn't have rain for 1.5 months now. Which is totally insane for the Netherlands :s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85