The Selection - micro-fiction

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

Pumpkin face
Source: Pixabay image by Capri23auto

The Selection


The lumpy, disfigured gourd grimaced in the pumpkin lot.

Sarah grimaced back. “Sorry, you’re too ugly.”

Then she smiled, realizing it reminded her of old Uncle Desmond, with his one big eye, hilarious boil and bad manners. Oh, how he swore like a drunken sailor.

She pointed. “That one, please.”



Thank you for reading my mini story. I love this weekly 50-word writing challenge. I just never know what's going to emerge from it.

This week the prompt word is "pumpkin." When I found this bizarre picture of a pumpkin that looks like an old man, I knew I had discovered my muse for the week.

The story makes a statement, I think, about tolerance and acceptance. Life is too short to spend it finding fault in others or judging people on superficial standards. This is a difficult and divisive time in history, and I for one am looking forward to calmer times, when we come together more than we drift apart, and we love one another for our differences.

Animated signature



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/10/08/the-selection-micro-fiction/
Sort:  

A lovely little micro nugget right here. I love how the little girl rethinks her decision and goes with the disfigured pumpkin that has character. Your afterthoughts are on the money @jayna... it is indeed a very worrying time in our history. We seem to be slaves to our phones/devices and are blindly voting in dangerous people the world over, while we sleepwalk towards climate catastrophe.. Where are the leaders and visionaries who are not driven by greed and materialism? We need them now more than ever. I'd actually be tempted to get into politics myself, as I'm worried about the world my kids are going to inherit.

I agree on every point, @ablaze. One feels torn at times between running out and trying to do everything in one’s power to wake people from thei complacency, and throwing one’s hands up in the air. The thing that comforts me is that trends cycle through. We are not in a good place right now where kindness and harmony and sensibility prevail. But if history is any indication, it is temporary. Now, if we can avoid destroying all hope of healing our stressed environment, I hope a better mindset and a concerned populace will have their day again soon.

Great story @jayna. It's only proper that on the eve of Halloween issues of beauty and acceptance be discussed. Like Carnival, the suspension of all standard and accepted looks provides an opportunity to reflect about what is it that attracts/scares us about other human beings and why.
The story made me remember the movie Wonder. We need more of that kind of counter discourse to make people, especially kids, reconceived what matters in human relationships.

Lovely comment, @hlezama. I haven't yet seen the movie, Wonder, but I read the book and loved it. Good analogy!

Nicely penned.

When I was still able to decorate my front yard for Autumn, I enjoyed shopping for gourds and pumpkins at the local roadside stands as part of my displays. The ones in regular groceries all looked the same. The roadside stands or farmer’s corner lots are always the places to find the really out there shapes and looks in gourds – and, the more unique the gourds look and shape, the better!

Thank you, @momzillanc. Great to hear from you. How have you been?

I’m much improved since May when I was hospitalized. I still have a long way to go, but my husband and son are no longer concerned for me to be at home without help all day.

They’ve both been so wonderful. My husband has been doing all the household errands and most of the housekeeping while I’ve been so ill. My son’s been very helpful to me personally, helping me get around while I still needed it, and helping out with his dad. I feel very loved.

Oh my! I am sorry, I haven’t followed your journey. But I am very glad you are feeling better and that you have two caring gentlemen to care for you!

Funny story, @jayna. Picking the right pumpkin for Halloween is a serious matter and it should be treated accordingly. At least, this is my son's opinion. 🙂

Ha ha, yes it certainly is! I have to agree with him. 😊

I love this because of the imagery the pumpkin conveys.
Great take @jayna

Ah, a memory triggered and a mind changed...

Nice!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95