You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fifty-word short story challenge - "chocolate"

in #challenge6 years ago

I do not see a broken marriage as a total failure but a chance to learn from its experiences

As an idea it certainly helps to get over the "grief" of the shattered relationship and look further into your future with eyes more optimistic.


I liked the contrast of the new start of the newly wedded couple with the next level of an older marriage who is about to be tested if not ended.

Sort:  

My ears do ring. I hear a "but" in your reply. You like to explain more?

Thank you, @ruth-girl for visiting me. I am glad you liked the contrast. As I am taking part in this little writing workshops, your feedback is of value to me.

This one piece of yours where the woman falls into the hole and crawls her way back up in this exhausting manner really got me.

I got a little lost with all my comments, but I am trying to catch up, so here I am!

The underlying "but" was an astute observation! The idea of considering each end as a chance for a new beginning certainly fills you with optimism and hope for a better future. But the negative feelings you experience when you can see the end coming and soon after things are over don't let you see that far in the future. The anxiety and pain and disappointment are scary, sometimes too overwhelming and even though you know things will be better later, it's the painful "now" you can't stand.


Thank you for the feedback! I believe some would find it "tiring" to read through the end of it, but people who have had similar experiences could relate at least a bit...

Yes, it's true that separation does hurt. Imagine, it would not hurt and people would part just so. ... Would be strange, wouldn't it? Like saying: "Alright. We had our time and now we go into different directions. Bye, bye, I wish you the very best."
Sounds quite un-human.

I also want to add that after all, most modern people are quite experienced in separations. I count several serious relationships into my biography. Having experienced separations and the attached feelings I can say that each and every ending gave me the certainty that I will survive it and that I actually can take influence on how I am going to deal with it. (How much repetition one needs in order to arrive at a certain insight, differs from person to person, I'd say).

What I observed is that not only finishing off a relationship with all related emotions is something which will for sure pass but also every other disappointment I am meeting in my life will pass, too.

Now I am even telling myself "this shall pass, too" when I am in a bad mood. The more often I do that and the more I believe in it and stay confident the better it works for me. It calms me down and takes away a good portion of my suffering. Because, after all, it's true:)


Yes, the story of yours was indeed tiring and you forced the reader to take on this exhausting effort to do all the single steps. My own experience with crisis showed me that towards the end of my journey the steps became easier

... best I can describe it in this way: I did not know first that I entered the narrow passage towards the dark. When I finally realized and found myself deep down I was surprised and shocked by this fact! Which made me fall even deeper. Then the long and hard climbing upwards began (in the same way you described it). After having made it towards the exit the effort started to decrease and the climbing became a walking as the passage changed from vertikal to more horizontal.

The first time is always more difficult, the next ones you know and you're almost prepared. I follow the same method with you for many things, I tell myself "this will pass". And it helps. Not that it makes the negative feelings go away at once, but it sure helps the "transition". Life goes on after all...


In your case the effort was less and less by the end because you knew what to do to help yourself. And it gave you an invaluable confidence. In my case, at least, when I was going through a rough phase because of various reasons amd step by step I managed to find myself again, or better shape it stronger and change my point of view on some matters, I got to have more confidence in myself and my strength. Isee it s an accomplishment and I am proud of me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92