It's actually not a brain orgasm.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge307 years ago (edited)

 When I was in 6th grade, I remember the teacher giving us an assignment to draw something as part of our seatwork.  I had decent skills in art - for a 6th grader - and immediately started to sketch.  

About 10 minutes later, a friend of mine scooted her chair up to my desk and started watching me.  The classroom was warm and toasty, and  the sounds of pencil grazing across each paper was so soothing.  It was almost like you could feel the combined concentration of little artists scattered about the room, laying like a soft heavy blanket draped across your shoulders. My friend had finished with her drawing, and decided to quietly watch me finish my drawing - a clown.   She was enthralled.  She loved the colors I chose, she loved how realistic he looked, she loved that my work stood head and shoulders above the talent in the room.  It felt so nice to be praised, but something started to happen as she kept whispering her compliments. 

It almost started like a tiny shiver, like when a frosty raindrop hits the back of your neck and you get an uncontrollable chill.

Or... remember the game "spiders crawling up your back", and the gooseflesh that would make its way up your arms?

It was similar to that, but then it intensified.  As she continue to praise me quietly, (so as not to disturb the rest of the class, and more importantly, to not alert the teacher) my brain started to focus specifically on certain consonants in her whispering: S, T, P, D, K..... all of the soothing clicks and hisses started to put me into a trance-like state.

It felt like her words were playing with my hair, running down my neck and back, radiating heat across my shoulders and descending down my arms.  She was unaware of the effect, but I immediately became so relaxed and soothed, that it was hard for me to hold my pencil to finish drawing.

                 

                                                                                          Photo credit: bogitw, pixabay.com

Unusual experience, but I chalked it up to a singular occurrence.

 "I must have been tired."

"It was the end of a long school day."

"It was really warm in the room."

A few years ago, I was telling my daughter about an artist that I used to watch after school.  I kept telling her how calming he was, how soothing his voice, how lovely his paintings.  Immediately, I recalled that his show had the same effect on my state of relaxation in those 30 minutes each day.  It was a very similar feeling to the one I had in 6th grade.   Not as intense, but definitely similar.  I had to show her - so I immediately looked up "Bob Ross" on YouTube.

Nothing.  Every video that I would try to reach had the message that it had been taken down due to copyright infringement. 

I started to scan the internet for any trace of any of his videos (without having to purchase the $60 video series for a season) -and that's when my world shifted.


Apparently - other people felt the same way about our good friend, Bob.

                                                                  

                                                                                                                  Photo credit: BRI Productions

There was this huge following, almost like an underground society.  Whenever a new Bob Ross video would pop up on YouTube - they would quickly tell as many people as they could - while still trying desperately to keep it hidden enough as to not awaken the "BobRossYouTube" task force that seemed to be intent on ridding the world of our much-needed "fix".

It was really humorous, because they were all really protective of these videos.  When one person would alert others too loudly - and the video was taken down - you should have seen the comments.  I too felt disappointment - because he seemed to be the only source of this "gift" - the only one who could reproduce these sensations at will in an entire group of people.  But I wasn't as angry as some.   The wrath that would fall when another of Bob's videos were taken down.... ha!!!  God help you if you were the one to squeal.

I was loving the fact that there was this community - this group of "oddities" like me - who could have this physical response to auditory stimuli.  I had tried a few times to tell people about it before - but after they looked at me sideways (it does seem a very odd thing)  I started to feel a little bit ashamed of it.  Everyone seemed to think it was so taboo - and borderline sexual. And it really truly wasn't... and isn't.  But I couldn't explain it well enough until I started to connect with other people who experienced the same thing.

We were able to finish each other's sentences, and connect the dots, and finally "belong" - but there still wasn't a name for it.  No title could identify or easily convey to another person that "THAT" is what we experienced......until Jennifer Allen came along on February 25, 2010.

She definitely did not discover this phenomenon, but she most certainly united a group with the words: 

Autonomous sensory meridian response  (ASMR)

You can read as much detailed information as you'd like here: ASMR

My post is specifically about my own experience.

Once I had a label, it was like finding a map to the treasure.  Now, instead of people searching "what's that weird feeling that I get when people kinda talk quietly - it's kinda like shivers - or like a warm feeling - or maybe a trance"  (NOW if you type those exact words in - first thing it pulls up is ASMR hahaha - but good luck with that search back in 2008, Google)

After Jennifer labeled us -  we could put "ASMR" into the search box and we were instantly rewarded with articles and videos and groups and and and...

It was amazing.  To this day, I think the person whose name is associated most with ASMR is still Bob Ross. ha!  
He was the founder - without even knowing it.  He was the one who thought he was painting beautiful paintings in 30 minutes - but he was really putting an entire society of people into a hypnotic state every day, afterschool, 4:00 pm.  (well... AND creating beautiful paintings, too)

Interestingly enough, his videos are now allowed on YouTube.  The BRYT task force must have finally figured out there was money to be made.

Bob was the original, but I've since upgraded.  

Every night, I put on the same YouTube channel as I'm about to go to sleep.  All my life, I've suffered with horrible insomnia.  I used to stare at the ceiling as a child until 1 am in the morning. 

Awful.

When I put my earbuds in at night now - I cannot keep my eyes open longer than 7 seconds.  I am not exaggerating.  If a new video is posted on this channel, and I choose to fall asleep to it, you could offer me 1 million dollars to tell you ANYTHING about the video the next day.  I can't.  I can't tell you anymore than the first six or seven words and then I am instantly asleep.  The deepest, most peaceful, most hypnotic sleep imaginable.

I've tried to explain the feeling again, show some videos to people - I wait for the tell-tale signs that they too are getting that soothing sensation, those warm rays of sunshine that are tickling down your spine...  

Nope.  Nothing. They just say I'm weird. (true.  but I DO also have ASMR)

Apparently I'm one of the few that can experience it.

Most people need a drug to fall into that sweet spot of relaxed euphoria.

I just need Bob Ross and a blanket. 



Day #5 for the 30 day Challenge by @dragosroua   :)

Steem on! 

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks, @screenname... Good call! ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

I used to call him Bob the Perv Painter!!!!! lol.....he is creepy. I'll have to read up on this ASMR....very interesting. Almost serpentine like in the way your described your Grace 6 experience.

hahahahahahaha nooooooooooo!!!! he's not a perv! he was the best!!!!
(i'm cracking up right now)

My mom saw an ASMR video and she shook her head and said "weird. sounds like phone sex or something."

I was like WHAT?!?!?!?! THE LADY IS SHOWING YOU HOW TO FOLD ORIGAMI!!!

hahahaha - but it's just too odd to explain to people who don't get the sensation LOL

see why I was ashamed to even say anything to people as a kid??? People immediately go - "oh. like an orgasm."

and you're like. "Ummmmmm. no. but thanks for making me feel like a sicko."

hahahahahahahahahaha

No Bob's a perv.....ask your mom...she'll tell you!!!! lol....I watched at ASMR video.....ummmmm.....no.....that girl buuuggggged me.
And this is what helps you sleep? I'd rather listen to rain or a thunder storm....so funny.

LOLOLOL bob only wants happy little trees?!!!
And I only listen to ONE asmr girl. The rest are a little Pervy hahaha.
But the one I like talks about purses and journaling and how to wear scarves.... lol

You don't really listen to the words... it's the sounds that put me to sleep.

The monotonous repetitive white noise calms my brain lol

But I do love thunder and rain.... I have those CDs too :)
But they don't trigger asmr

I hope for your sake she doesn't have a whistle in her nose or with her "s" s.....lol....torture! Subliminally though, don't be surprised if you find yourself an expert with scarves and journalling.

oh my gosh - i'm dying.... i sure did try out a new way to tie my scarf!!!!! LOL

seriously - i have to send you a video - she's not one of the crazy ones. I do think that there are a lot of people who started making ASMR videos because they think they know what people want... and they saw a really great money making opportunity.
cuz overnight - ASMR videos went through the roof. I'm glad i found this lady before it went "viral" cuz she has ASMR herself... and there really is a difference LOL

the people who "think" they know what people want.... they just come across as really predatory, in my opinion.

but... anyway. LOL i will totally send you a video and you HAVE to watch her! hahahahahahahaha

@countrygirl....I was looking for this post from last year and saw your comment!!!!!!haahahahahabob the perv painter!!!!! Nooooo bob was the best!!!lolololol

is too....is too....!!! pervy painter....yup yup!!! I watched him though, seriously. Not bc he was pervy but I liked how he taught how to make trees, but then his voice got to me. Everyone loved him.

hahahahahaha nooooooooooooo there was nothing pervy about dear old Bob!!!! he would never harm a flea. as a matter of fact - he would rescue squirrels! hahahaha he brought them on his show LOL
he was awesome!!! hahahaha and his voice- just thinking about it puts me to sleep ;)

Great article! I've never heard of this before but I am totally going to look into it. You should also look at Thync and transcranial stimulation which sound very similar in effect.

Ok I'll check it out!
And I guess I should point you in a general direction if you want to see an asmr video.... lol cuz there are DEFINITELY some weird ones out there lol
I'll find a mild one for you :)

I feel that when I manage to get into a writing groove. I can't stop, it is an amazing time of clarity, like I can see into another world and I'm a conduit for their story to get into our world. I can hear conversations, feel points of view, and get into the heads of real people of my imagination.

Lately, my life has gotten in the way of writing new content, more than a few paragraphs, and I miss being able to sit down for 8 hour stretches and get the stories out of my head.

Well, some day my kids will grow up, and I'll have time again for world building!

I can't agree more! There was a time when I annoyed my mother to no end because she would only see me with my laptop open and fingers flying!!!
I couldn't go anywhere without it because the ideas were flowing and my characters were speaking nonstop to me to have their story told!

The problem now is.... I had an idea for a story... and I wrote down the first chapter before really knowing which path to take. And now... the thought of delivering that second chapter is a little bit pre-mature, until I'm sure of exactly where I want to go! :)
And for years, I was a stay at home mom that could take a few hours away from teaching and write at just about any time in the day.

And now, for the first time in a long time, I'm constrained by a job that requires my mind and my attention for an 8 hour (or more) block and it's a serious crimp in my flow for writing ;)

But on one of my blogs I state "Read a book, change your world. Write a book, create a world!" So like you.... I can't wait to get back to world building ;)

Right now I am creating an even more important world than what I could possibly write... I am creating the future of the actual world we live in as I raise my kids. How I treat them and take care of them will literally change the world for good or bad. This is an amazing and exhausting experience, but I intend to see happy, well-adjusted adults in about 15-20 years. That takes a lot of energy, and takes time away from writing. But it's worth it. My characters will keep for a little longer, my kids won't.

Could not agree more :)
We made some very strong decisions early on that go against what society says is the "norm".
But it was all about what was best for our treasures :)
They are still our treasures... but definitely in the more independent -but not adult stage.... so this year we were able to make some huge changes and I returned to work.
(After mannnnnny years) lol
But I've been absolutely blessed to get hired on a peach of a job that allows me to work from home. And still be near our kids :) ( the work can be extremely stressful but figuring g out that balance... )
Big plans for the future of our family... excited to watch it unfold one step at a time. But constantly aware of the influence everything has on our home.

Loving our mini chats in comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57