You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's actually not a brain orgasm.

in #challenge307 years ago

I feel that when I manage to get into a writing groove. I can't stop, it is an amazing time of clarity, like I can see into another world and I'm a conduit for their story to get into our world. I can hear conversations, feel points of view, and get into the heads of real people of my imagination.

Lately, my life has gotten in the way of writing new content, more than a few paragraphs, and I miss being able to sit down for 8 hour stretches and get the stories out of my head.

Well, some day my kids will grow up, and I'll have time again for world building!

Sort:  

I can't agree more! There was a time when I annoyed my mother to no end because she would only see me with my laptop open and fingers flying!!!
I couldn't go anywhere without it because the ideas were flowing and my characters were speaking nonstop to me to have their story told!

The problem now is.... I had an idea for a story... and I wrote down the first chapter before really knowing which path to take. And now... the thought of delivering that second chapter is a little bit pre-mature, until I'm sure of exactly where I want to go! :)
And for years, I was a stay at home mom that could take a few hours away from teaching and write at just about any time in the day.

And now, for the first time in a long time, I'm constrained by a job that requires my mind and my attention for an 8 hour (or more) block and it's a serious crimp in my flow for writing ;)

But on one of my blogs I state "Read a book, change your world. Write a book, create a world!" So like you.... I can't wait to get back to world building ;)

Right now I am creating an even more important world than what I could possibly write... I am creating the future of the actual world we live in as I raise my kids. How I treat them and take care of them will literally change the world for good or bad. This is an amazing and exhausting experience, but I intend to see happy, well-adjusted adults in about 15-20 years. That takes a lot of energy, and takes time away from writing. But it's worth it. My characters will keep for a little longer, my kids won't.

Could not agree more :)
We made some very strong decisions early on that go against what society says is the "norm".
But it was all about what was best for our treasures :)
They are still our treasures... but definitely in the more independent -but not adult stage.... so this year we were able to make some huge changes and I returned to work.
(After mannnnnny years) lol
But I've been absolutely blessed to get hired on a peach of a job that allows me to work from home. And still be near our kids :) ( the work can be extremely stressful but figuring g out that balance... )
Big plans for the future of our family... excited to watch it unfold one step at a time. But constantly aware of the influence everything has on our home.

Loving our mini chats in comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75