My first video: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru. 20 planted to date

in #charity6 years ago

This is my first ever Steemit video. I feel a little awkward about watching myself but I must get with the times. 

I have recently taken to writing posts that will enable reforestation in Northern Peru. Upvoted posts plant trees! Today we planted 2 Algarrobo native tree saplings and all thanks to Steemit!  



If you like what you see. Please upvote, comment and resteem. 

I donate 100% of the SBD earned on the reforestation posts    (like this one) to a local ngo called Ecoswell. This ngo has a   reforestation program in which they have small garden nurseries in the    village. I donate to them and I get lots of tree saplings to plant  myself. This on behalf of all you upvoters. Please see the donation  receipts below for this week:

 (150 Peruvian Soles/46USD) 

 (280 Peruvian Soles/ 86USD) 

My most recent posts that  includes a written description, photos and personal  comment feedback:

5th post:  Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit: 12 planted to date. (5th post, 23rd Feb.2018)

4th post: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru: 10 planted to date

3rd post: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it. [18th Feb. 2018: 3rd Post] 10 trees planted to date. 

My first post about this: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Hey mate,
Nice video, especially for your first!! One tip for planting I would give you is to fill your holes with water and a seaweed solution and let them drain before planting. This will give the roots a reason to explore deeper into the soil profile and in turn you will end up with stronger and healthier plants. Much respect as you are doing a great thing over there! Its unfortunate the locals arent replacing the trees they cut down but at least you are there to do it. :-)

mate :) thank you for that tip. I will do that from now on, but I can't get seaweed solution here. Could I use anything else? I can get guano, worm castings instead. I was also thinking about building basic frames and making wind blockers. I don't want to tempt wind burn, but it means the trunk will be vertical and not tilted.

Video of me was weird but I just had @world-travel-pro (he does a sweet travel blog here) come visit me, the town and see this project first hand. I had just finished planting the trees you see at the end of this video and he comes out filming. I couldn't just like say "no chance", I understand the value of video on Steemit, just being shy and awkward about it. But I know in a few more videos, it gets easier and more defined.

The aim is basically getting this 'vote a tree' post going and expanding the reforestation initiative. Would be cool to plant hundreds of thousands of trees. Plenty open land to do so here and replace depleted resources. All with an upvote, brilliant isn't it and got to love the opportunities/positives coming from Steem.

I would suggest just mixing some worm castings and guano into the planting mix to boost your plants.
Just use water in the holes, it may take up to 24hrs+ to drain if the drainage is poor but you will see the results! (your soil looks to have adequate drainage so shouldnt take too long.)
I think one stake either side of the plants with a tie around the outside is best for support as it still allows the plants to move in the wind creating a stronger plant in the end.
Happy planting mate and hope to see more going in the ground soon :-)

ok I will get some worm castings and guano this week. I will make sure each new tree from now on has this. But tell me how much I should use per litre of fresh water. thank you boss.

Hard to give exact measurements without testing the organic matter but a good rule of thumb is to make it look like a weak tea.

Upvoted! How much STEEM do you need for one tree?

thank you ever so much for your upvote @hickorymack , without you none of this is possible.

There is no fixed steem cost per tree. I convert any funds raised (upvotes and direct donations) to local Peru soles and I donate to a local not for profit. I honestly did not expect this to grow so quickly and I am in discussions to up scale the tree planting. I am talks with several people on steemit about this. I think I am rapidly coming to the conclusion, is to set out a defined project. That will be posted here and to include objectives, implementation and financing.

Thank you for your support,

@intrepidsurfer

Hey @intrepidsurfer! Great post. I was referred to you from a follower. My family and I are Rving Mexico. I have a passion for TRASH...I know. I would love to know more info as to how to possibly gain Steemit $ with picking up trash to give back to the poor locals. Do you have any thoughts? I love the idea of what you do. I have been in touch with some large Non-profit companies, but there are other countries who take priority over Mexico with regards to trash. I am posting today another post about my family picking up trash if you would like to take a look. Thanks! And look forward to your reply.

Upvoted and resteemed! Very glad I found your blog to follow and support. More trees please!

I have three more trees at home and I can get about 30-40 more here in the village. This week I will talk to the local not for profit and get them to seed thousands of new trees.

It wouldn't have been possible without you @mininthecity , thank you.

Keep up the planting, our planet needs more trees! Thanks again for your efforts.

My pleasure. I have three or four more I need to plant. I will do in the next couple of days.

Good luck with your ventures, upvoted and resteemed.

thank you so much @dailyfiber . Without your support, it wouldn't be possible.

Hell yeah Bro! Stick with the videos. Our Pizza video came out great I think...great in a fun and unproffesional way. Lucky for us we don't claim to be professional broadcasters!

It was great spending time with you. Sorry I get a little fuzzy and tired at the end of the evening some times. But I'm doing well now, and I made it safely to Piura and off to Lima tomorrow.

You're doing great with the videos and the trees! Keep up the great work!
-Dan

hahahaha, I am still a little apprehensive about the pizza video, but hey! it is what it is! :) yeah video was hard to watch but I know it will get easier over time.

Bru, your advise has been spot on and I am seeing near instant results! Maybe one day we could share the video editor :)

Keep in touch and see you on the other side.

I'm going to go ahead and resteem this out for you. Thanks for the kind words! What a fun time we had. Lima, wow. Just walked all around Mira Flores and Kennedy Park area. It's like I'm in Downtown Ft. Lauderdale Florida. What a difference from Piura, Talara, or probably most anywhere in the country. People are speaking English too. It's like I'm back in the USA. Almost bizarre!

Anyway. Let me get this resteemed and I'll be in touch. You are doing great work!

Upvoted! great stuff! my friend @world-travel-pro told me he spent time with you, decided to check your account! followed, keep up the hard work.
Have a good day

thank you so much for your support @heyitshaas , planting one tree at a time that without you, wouldn't have been possible.

So nice to see your video @intrepidsurfer, very good one at that! So glad your project is growing, certainly looks very dry there and hard digging too!

I think I have mastered the technique of dig holes in this type of "soil" . Thank you for your kind words, I hope the Vlogs will get easier to do over time.

Fuckin Eh Man. FInally watch the whole video. Solid.

Keep doing this man! I'm sending you some Steem.

Oh thank you so much @jaybird , I am so stoked this is happening and growing with every post. I will be looking to upscale the amount of trees I plant.

My Pleasure Man. I have zero qualms supporting you in this :)

Nice post!

I will keep watching your posts from now on.

I`m a new witness looking for voters, so I want to invite you to give me a vote for witness.

As a reward, I will make 10 random picks from my voters adn I willl giveaway 30 SBD to each.

Vote for me here by entering my username in the search box! / https://steemil.com/witness/@therealwolf/making-steem-greater-therealwolf-is-now-a-witness

Like this I can help you with more that one upvote, and you can help me ti obtain more blocks!

Thank you!

Vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43